Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-20-05, 04:34 AM   #1
BLOODUK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 168
Default Stuttering problem DESPERATE!

Ok heres what ive done so far...

Pci latency changed
ide drivers changed
agp volts raised to 1.6
memory test
5 seperate drivers... 66.93 / 78.03 / 81.82 / 81.84 / 81.85 + tweaks r us
Write combining off / on
vysnc off / on
mboard drivers upgraded
Defragged... set amount / system amount / no swapfile
agp x 4 / agp x 8
fastwrites off / fast writes on
the bliting setting in rivatuner
the force performance setting in rivatuner
Got a new soundcard xfi
Changed memory over
messed with spread spectrum in bios
gave everything its own irq
Not overclocked / underclocked / overclocked
frames ahead 0 - 4
hardware acceleration down one to two notches
sound acceleration down one notch.
And other stuff i cant remember right now.....
Downclocked cpu , put fsb at standard , tested other cpu
temps of cpu 46 - 50c max
Temps of graphics card 41 - 47C


Basically faults including, When walking forward in doom3 i get smooth
jerk.. smooth. jerk... smooth... jerk and it will happen all the way through, ss2 will stutter badly in cutscenes, and f.e.a.r will be fine for awhile but stutter once every 5mins. Age of empires 3 , would be jerk on screen movement scrolling... battlefield 2 stutters when walking side to side or forward. Now camera movement ie looking up and down left and right in ALL games experience no stuttering whatso ever.

System specs

AMD 3200XP BARTON CPU @ 2.4ghz being cooled by a volcano 11+
2GHZ Corsair xms3200 @ 400mhz 11,4,4,2.0
450Watt Psu with dual rail Updated psu for latest pci express cards
Abit nf7-s
XFX 6800GT AGP
Xfi creative labs soundcard
1x Samsung 7200rpm 8mb 120gb hard drive
1x dvdrw liteonit


The only thing that happened yesterday was i moved the case over
and put the monitor cable ontop of the desk and all the stuttering was
gone , everything was silky smooth... i updated to the latest drivers
and horrible stuttering came back, i wanted to hit myself for updating
why update when it works. Now i cant stop the stuttering after i thought
i solved it.

Now please please help im considering paying a fiver in paypal if
they solve this problem for me!!!!

plzzzzzzzz
BLOODUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-05, 12:43 PM   #2
Fx-Rat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 46
Default Re: Stuttering problem DESPERATE!

Try this in Doom 3 pull down console (Ctrl+ALT=~)at same time to get into console while playing and type com_fixedtic 1 and hit enter this will take care of the locked frams in the game and will take out the jerk you get this also happens in the new Quake 4 with my 7800GTX,works very well. Let me know if this works.Cant tell you about the other games.
__________________
Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD FX-53 939 pin
Corsair 3200XLPT 2-2-2-5
2X/ eVGA 7800 GTX-SLI
Philips PSC805 5.1 USB soundcard
2-WD-36 gig 10,000rpm in raid O
Silverstone ST60F-600 watt
Klipsch 5.1 Ultra's
Viewsonic 19'' LCD VX924
Fx-Rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-05, 02:58 PM   #3
BLOODUK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 168
Default Re: Stuttering problem DESPERATE!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fx-Rat
Try this in Doom 3 pull down console (Ctrl+ALT=~)at same time to get into console while playing and type com_fixedtic 1 and hit enter this will take care of the locked frams in the game and will take out the jerk you get this also happens in the new Quake 4 with my 7800GTX,works very well. Let me know if this works.Cant tell you about the other games.

IT WORKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! IT WORKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Where do you want the fiver buddy?
BLOODUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-05, 04:20 PM   #4
subbo
Registered User
 
subbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 452
Default Re: Stuttering problem DESPERATE!

Yeah that fixedtic thing is a doom3 problem since day 0.. it basically eliminates smoothness even with vsync.
__________________
A64 3200+, MSI NX6800GT, Asus K8V SE D, *NEW* 2GB DDR400 (BF2 likey), 200GB WD Caviar, Nexus 4090 400W silent, ATC220B, Zalman Reserator 1, Innovatek CoolMatic NV40, NEC 3500AG, CM AerogateII black, Smart Drive 2002C | 20,1" 15ms TFT 1600x1200 Formac Gallery 2010 | Temps: idle CPU 45c GPU 55c, 1h+ gaming CPU 55c GPU 67c
subbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-05, 05:01 PM   #5
BLOODUK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 168
Default Re: Stuttering problem DESPERATE!

It would be nice to fix it with battlefield 2 aswell.... is there a command for that?
it seems to be a problem around the world, some get it some dont just check
out doom 3 frame skip.

What the hell is causing skipping
BLOODUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-05, 06:12 PM   #6
Fx-Rat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 46
Default Re: Stuttering problem DESPERATE!

Quote:
Originally Posted by BLOODUK
IT WORKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! IT WORKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Where do you want the fiver buddy?


Your welcome. I had this problem a long time ago with Doom 3 people kept saysing it was my ATI x800 XT PE, then I went to PCI and bought a X850 XT still had this problem some people notice this stuttering problem some people it doesn't bother them so so I did a lot of research and found this solution,when I upgrated to SLI and two 7800 GTX and it did it again in Quake 4 I tryed the console command, and it is so smooth.I had stuttering in Battlefield 2 and I put in another GIG of ram and it fixed my stuttering or pausing complety .A lot of people had suggestions, I had the stuttering with my ATI X850 XT. but with two GIG of RAM no more......You already have two GIG so I dont know.I had crazy rebooths with my PCI and the X850 XT and Even Powercolor tech support told me my card was bad but I kept trying different things and found out it was my Audigy2 ZS sound card, Audigy 1 and 2 didn't like sharing with my videocard on the Nvidia chip motherboard.No conflicts, I took out the soundcard and used a USB external Phiplips sound and never had a problem again.You can always take out the soundcard and uninstall the drivers and try that, their is a lot of suggestions on your Battlefied 2 game, something will work, good luck.
__________________
Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD FX-53 939 pin
Corsair 3200XLPT 2-2-2-5
2X/ eVGA 7800 GTX-SLI
Philips PSC805 5.1 USB soundcard
2-WD-36 gig 10,000rpm in raid O
Silverstone ST60F-600 watt
Klipsch 5.1 Ultra's
Viewsonic 19'' LCD VX924
Fx-Rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-05, 06:23 PM   #7
BLOODUK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 168
Default Re: Stuttering problem DESPERATE!

Quote:
Originally Posted by fears,Oct 20 2005, 09:49 PM
I've had the same problem. Get the program "Refresh force" and force your monitor to the maximum allowed refresh rate (100 hopefully). Windows in games defaults everything to 60 hz, I run doom3 smooth as glass. If that doesnt work, sorry I tried. =( I also saw your problem was fixed but in any event this should work as well.
[snapback]21547[/snapback]

Thats fixed it!!!! and without the command i can run vsync on or off
what i did was refresh force, go into reg settings.. export registry
load refresh force then unapply settings then load registry file again.
This means the monitor isnt forced by an app, the games thinks thats all
my monitor can support, quake 4 is totaly smooth now...

Thankyou Both for all your help, id like to know WHY this fixed it though
but again thanks!
BLOODUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-05, 02:59 AM   #8
DavoNogo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5
Default Re: Stuttering problem DESPERATE!

It may sound like a dumb fix, but as long as it works

For me, my problem was that it was maxing out at around 45fps and the average frame rate was only 28fps...

As soon as I forced the refresh to my monitor's highest setting (120Hz) the max frame rate jumped up to 120fps whilst the average frame rate went up to 48fps.

With 4xAA, it only goes down to 45fps, so I'm happy
DavoNogo is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-22-05, 11:59 AM   #9
BLOODUK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 168
Default Re: Stuttering problem DESPERATE!

This is so stressful

AOE 3 stutters...... my intros stutter...... Battlefield 2 stutters
I should never have bought this 6800GT been nothing but trouble
ever since i got it.

im so upset
BLOODUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-05, 02:02 PM   #10
Eliminator
The Man With Brisk
 
Eliminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Stuttering problem DESPERATE!

increase your agp aperture to 256mb
Eliminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-05, 07:06 PM   #11
BLOODUK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 168
Default Re: Stuttering problem DESPERATE!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eliminator
increase your agp aperture to 256mb
done already

im still waiting for, wow didnt try that one wolla works.. i can only hope

Though ive just flashed my card the bios was really old and the ram was
running well low
BLOODUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-05, 04:54 AM   #12
holdenb
Registered User
 
holdenb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 62
Default Re: Stuttering problem DESPERATE!

Quote:
Originally Posted by BLOODUK
done already

im still waiting for, wow didnt try that one wolla works.. i can only hope

Though ive just flashed my card the bios was really old and the ram was
running well low

Is your stuttering assocoiated with a kind of "static" sounding effect?? And worse in intros??

My Rig has also started playing up..........don't know what's going on so it's full reformat time to clear out all the crap......
__________________
C2D Extreme Q6600 G0 @ 3.6ghz/EVGA 680i SLI MOBO/2 x nVidia 8800GTX SLI/H20 Compact/2GB OCZ FlexXlc/Enermax Galaxy 1KW/TT Armor......Lots of flashing lights!!

Win XP
holdenb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Post working out problem with 40.xx trying to work problem out, ONLY system specs b5fan NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 11 10-19-02 09:17 AM
nv30 problem rumor bob747b Rumor Mill 37 10-10-02 03:14 PM
Desperate for help with Display problems!!!!! Petz NVIDIA Linux 12 09-18-02 07:26 PM
RH7.2 (2.4.9-34) install + src.rpm problem FlyingDutchMan NVIDIA Linux 3 08-08-02 09:04 AM
Nvidia Go on laptop, black border within XFree86 problem raxip NVIDIA Linux 3 07-31-02 10:58 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.