Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-20-05, 08:25 PM   #1
ceviker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 28
Default F.E.A.R V-Sync Question

Hey guys, I have a question about FEAR. If I play without v-sync, when I fire my machine gun or in scenes with flashing lights, I see terrible tearing on the screen (when I turn on v-sync, this is gone). Is there anything I can do besides turning on v-sync to correct this? I've never seen this much tearing in a game without v-sync. Most people say they don't use v-sync in FEAR and I honostly don't see how whay I'm seeing is remotely playable. BTW, i'm running two 7800 gt co's in sli. Also since there is no profile for FEAR, what do you guys have your settings on (what type of sli, gamma anti, trans. anti, etc.).Any help will be appreciated. Thanks!
ceviker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-05, 08:38 PM   #2
zoomy942
 
zoomy942's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bellevue, ID
Posts: 5,338
Send a message via AIM to zoomy942 Send a message via MSN to zoomy942
Default Re: F.E.A.R V-Sync Question

i am a HUGE fan of vsync. i just force it in the nvidia control panel. there is a ton of tearing in lots of games i play. in FEAR, there is a TINY TINY bit of mouse lag.. i mean tiny, i only notice cause i have a symbiotic relationship with me pc so i can tell, but an average user wouldnt notice. i love vsync.
zoomy942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-05, 08:44 PM   #3
ceviker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 28
Default Re: F.E.A.R V-Sync Question

My only problem with v-sync is that it kills performance, so i'm looking a work around it. Anyway to enable v-sync without losing so much performance?
__________________
AMD 4000+, 2 GB OCZ Platinum RAM, 2x ATI x1900 xt Crossfire, Asus A8N-MVP Mobo, Enermax Liberty 620W PSU, Samsung LN-R328W 32in LCD TV, Audigy 2
ceviker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-05, 08:48 PM   #4
zoomy942
 
zoomy942's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bellevue, ID
Posts: 5,338
Send a message via AIM to zoomy942 Send a message via MSN to zoomy942
Default Re: F.E.A.R V-Sync Question

nope. vsync cuts you frames. but i gues you could up your refresh rate to a higher number then you game would sit at that number instead. like 85 htz or something, but 60 (for me) runs fine
zoomy942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-05, 09:04 PM   #5
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: F.E.A.R V-Sync Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by ceviker
Anyway to enable v-sync without losing so much performance?
Only if the game developers put in support for triple buffering. You can force it in the control panel but only for OpenGL games.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-05, 09:16 PM   #6
ceviker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 28
Default Re: F.E.A.R V-Sync Question

The problem is with FEAR running at 1600x1200, I get an avg. of 35 FPS with v-sync on and 65 with it off, and I want it around 45-50, so I don't know what to do. Gd devleoprs making FEAR ridiculosly demanding...
__________________
AMD 4000+, 2 GB OCZ Platinum RAM, 2x ATI x1900 xt Crossfire, Asus A8N-MVP Mobo, Enermax Liberty 620W PSU, Samsung LN-R328W 32in LCD TV, Audigy 2
ceviker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-05, 11:02 PM   #7
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: F.E.A.R V-Sync Question

FEAR is SLI aware and apparently uses SFR no matter what you select. I started out with 1280x960 4xAA/8xAF, HQ, Gamma AA on, TAA:SS but am now running it at 1600x1200 2xAA/8xAF, etc. I briefly tried vsync on but without tripple buffering to offset that, the framerate hit was too large for the settings I'm trying to use.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-05, 02:01 AM   #8
ceviker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 28
Default Re: F.E.A.R V-Sync Question

Yeah, I've played another hour into the game now without v-sync and now, though I still notice it, its not bothering me (the lines, that is). You'd think that two 7800's in sli would equal max everything, but noooo.... <sigh>
__________________
AMD 4000+, 2 GB OCZ Platinum RAM, 2x ATI x1900 xt Crossfire, Asus A8N-MVP Mobo, Enermax Liberty 620W PSU, Samsung LN-R328W 32in LCD TV, Audigy 2
ceviker is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-21-05, 08:07 AM   #9
zoomy942
 
zoomy942's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bellevue, ID
Posts: 5,338
Send a message via AIM to zoomy942 Send a message via MSN to zoomy942
Default Re: F.E.A.R V-Sync Question

okay, so i play it at 1280x1024, and i always use vsync, but i turned off Supersampling AA and wow... it runs sooo much smoother.

and with Quincunx.. it looks great
zoomy942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-05, 05:10 PM   #10
ceviker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 28
Default Re: F.E.A.R V-Sync Question

What is Quincunx? never heard of it before
__________________
AMD 4000+, 2 GB OCZ Platinum RAM, 2x ATI x1900 xt Crossfire, Asus A8N-MVP Mobo, Enermax Liberty 620W PSU, Samsung LN-R328W 32in LCD TV, Audigy 2
ceviker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sync it up: Hands on with the preview of Windows 8's cloud sync service News Archived News Items 0 06-02-12 08:30 PM
Overclocking Question PCarr78 CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 15 09-29-02 02:13 PM
1st post - XP Restore question Needa916 Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 2 09-12-02 05:24 PM
Newby question about nforce.... superconti NVIDIA Linux 2 09-07-02 11:46 PM
Dual boot question.. Tactics General Hardware 15 09-07-02 10:39 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.