Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-30-06, 04:07 AM   #193
tertsi
www.fornvidiots.net
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 340
Default Re: Quak4 - Quake 4 tuning tool for NVIDIA G70/NV40/NV30 Series GPU's

Soon!

How about tuning tool for The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion... anyone anyone?
tertsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-06, 04:19 AM   #194
Superfly
Retired
 
Superfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: gone
Posts: 3,907
Default Re: Quak4 - Quake 4 tuning tool for NVIDIA G70/NV40/NV30 Series GPU's

Quote:
Originally Posted by tertsi
Soon!

How about tuning tool for The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion... anyone anyone?
good idea!!!!
__________________
It is not how bad the problem is, but how badly it's hurting the person who has it......
Superfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-06, 07:32 AM   #195
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Quak4 - Quake 4 tuning tool for NVIDIA G70/NV40/NV30 Series GPU's

Quote:
Originally Posted by tertsi
Soon!

How about tuning tool for The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion... anyone anyone?
Yeah, that would be really nice!
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-06, 02:51 PM   #196
Telomerase
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 138
Default Re: Quak4 - Quake 4 tuning tool for NVIDIA G70/NV40/NV30 Series GPU's

@tertsi

i've discovered that your new interface and detection system interferes with my ability to generate a config file. i'm using WIneHQ to emulate this program in Linux and it was a very wine-friendly application til now. your new system of detecting the graphics card seems to be incompatible now.


i'm using a GeForce Go 6800 Ultra 256MB
__________________
Telomerase

Telomerase is an enzyme that adds telomere repeat sequences to the 3' end of DNA strands. By lengthening this strand DNA polymerase is able to complete the synthesis of the "incomplete ends" of the opposite strand.
Telomerase:

* is a ribonucleoprotein;
* Its single RNA molecule provides an AAUCCC (in mammals) template to guide the insertion of TTAGGG.
* Its protein component called TERT ("TElomere Reverse Transcriptase") provides the catalytic action.
* Thus telomerase is a reverse transcriptase; synthesizing DNA from an RNA template.
Telomerase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-06, 03:13 PM   #197
FraGTastiK
'
 
FraGTastiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 612
Default Re: Quak4 - Quake 4 tuning tool for NVIDIA G70/NV40/NV30 Series GPU's

I cannot figure out I why like this word: "resize".

Quote:
Originally Posted by tertsi
Soon!

How about tuning tool for The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion... anyone anyone?
Please do.That game has "tweak me" written all over it!
__________________
Dual33ty

AMD X2 4400+@2750 MHz 24/7 ][ ASUS A8N32-SLI DELUXE 0903 ][ 2x1GB PC4000 CRUCIAL BALLISTIX 1T-1:1 ][ 2 XFX 7900GTX 512MB SLI 690/1750
PIONEERDVD-RW DVR-108 ][ MSI CD-RW CR52P AUDIGY2ZS ][ CREATIVE INSPIRE T7700
2xMAXTOR SATA160GB (RAID 0) ][ 2x MAXTOR IDE80GB ][ AOPENH700C
FraGTastiK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-06, 01:50 PM   #198
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Quak4 - Quake 4 tuning tool for NVIDIA G70/NV40/NV30 Series GPU's

Here's a quick comparison of the offset mapping.

1. Normal Bump Mapping
2. Offset Mapping
3. Offset Mapping Wtih Z Reconstruct
4. Offset Mapping with Z Sampling Functions

D3@1920x1200

1..............................2.................. .........3...............................4
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-06, 02:11 PM   #199
[BANDIT]
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 152
Default Re: Quak4 - Quake 4 tuning tool for NVIDIA G70/NV40/NV30 Series GPU's

And... the best one is...? :/
[BANDIT] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-06, 04:38 PM   #200
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Quak4 - Quake 4 tuning tool for NVIDIA G70/NV40/NV30 Series GPU's

More, comparing the offset mapping.

1. Normal Bump Mapping
2. Offset Mapping
3. Offset Mapping Wtih Z Reconstruct
4. Offset Mapping with Z Sampling Functions

D3@1920x1200

1..............................2.................. .........3...............................4


1. Normal Bump Mapping
2. Offset Mapping
3. Offset Mapping Wtih Z Reconstruct
4. Offset Mapping with Z Sampling Functions

D3@1920x1200

1..............................2.................. .........3...............................4

Last edited by OWA; 04-02-06 at 08:26 PM.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-03-06, 04:48 AM   #201
Mr. Nice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 43
Default Re: Quak4 - Quake 4 tuning tool for NVIDIA G70/NV40/NV30 Series GPU's

Quote:
Originally Posted by [BANDIT]
And... the best one is...? :/
Heh. Nominally, increasing quality of offset mapping from left to right. The leftmost "Normal Bump Mapping" is the Doom 3 default, ie no offset mapping at all. IMO, if you are going to use one of the offset mapping options, then only
the "with z-sampling" is worth it. Unfortunatly the performance impact is quite substantial. With the two lower options, the distortion on "corners" is more noticable (and quite distracting) then the offset mapping proper, so prefer no offset mappping at all.

Anyhow, Tertis, one bug and two comments for you:
  • Bug: With "z-sampling" offset on and fp16 precision off, it doesn't compile properly. Basically, the half precision command "SGHC" becomes "SG C" when fp16 is turned of, when it should be "SGC" (from memory since not at home, so it might not be "SGHC", but it is the third character going from "H" to " " which is the bug).
  • Oddity: It is not possible for the 3mood compiled fragment program to do normalisation in the same way as the vanilla Doom 3. vanilla Doom 3 uses dp3/etc. for the specular, but a cube map for the diffuse. With no options ticked, 3mood uses dp3 for both, and obviously with any of the normalisation options ticked dp3 is used for neither.
  • Comment: Why is the option to use precision hint fastest there at all? Vanilla Doom 3 uses the same hint (and indeed, turning it of is quite a performance impact, more then any other combination of "performance settings" options combined). By having it as an option it implies that vanilla Doom 3 uses hint nicest, since all the other tick boxes on that sheet essentially mean "do it differently to vanilla". Better to have no option at all and just leave it on without comment. As an option it would more properly belong on the "image quality settings" sheet as an option to turn on hint nicest (although of course, who can actually see the difference to pay the price anyway?), since it is a misnomer as a "performance setting" to turn on a default setting.
Mr. Nice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-06, 09:26 PM   #202
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Quak4 - Quake 4 tuning tool for NVIDIA G70/NV40/NV30 Series GPU's

Quote:
Originally Posted by [BANDIT]
And... the best one is...? :/
I think I've settled on 4. Offset Mapping with Z Sampling Functions. It can be pretty taxing though.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-06, 07:03 AM   #203
tertsi
www.fornvidiots.net
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 340
Default Re: Quak4 - Quake 4 tuning tool for NVIDIA G70/NV40/NV30 Series GPU's

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Nice
Anyhow, Tertis, one bug and two comments for you:
  • Bug: With "z-sampling" offset on and fp16 precision off, it doesn't compile properly. Basically, the half precision command "SGHC" becomes "SG C" when fp16 is turned of, when it should be "SGC" (from memory since not at home, so it might not be "SGHC", but it is the third character going from "H" to " " which is the bug).
Fixed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Nice
[*]Oddity: It is not possible for the 3mood compiled fragment program to do normalisation in the same way as the vanilla Doom 3. vanilla Doom 3 uses dp3/etc. for the specular, but a cube map for the diffuse. With no options ticked, 3mood uses dp3 for both, and obviously with any of the normalisation options ticked dp3 is used for neither.[/list]
yeah, why not... added.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Nice
[*]Comment: Why is the option to use precision hint fastest there at all? Vanilla Doom 3 uses the same hint (and indeed, turning it of is quite a performance impact, more then any other combination of "performance settings" options combined). By having it as an option it implies that vanilla Doom 3 uses hint nicest, since all the other tick boxes on that sheet essentially mean "do it differently to vanilla". Better to have no option at all and just leave it on without comment. As an option it would more properly belong on the "image quality settings" sheet as an option to turn on hint nicest (although of course, who can actually see the difference to pay the price anyway?), since it is a misnomer as a "performance setting" to turn on a default setting.[/list]
Well "precision hint fastest" option is there for Unified compiler and instructions without "Fp16 ALU operations". If my hand-tuned instructions with fp16 or fx12 precision doesn't work as they should work, you can at least choose "precision hint fastest" option to get better performance (compiler performs fragment program's precision optimizations).
tertsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-06, 04:42 PM   #204
Apocalipsis
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mexico
Posts: 20
Default Re: Quak4 - Quake 4 tuning tool for NVIDIA G70/NV40/NV30 Series GPU's

Any update???
Apocalipsis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.