Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-27-05, 02:07 PM   #73
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Quak4 - Quake 4 tuning tool for NVIDIA G70/NV40/NV30 Series GPU's

Quote:
Originally Posted by halcy
I've got a 7800GTX and looking for some speedups for multiplayer.. can this utility be used to give more speed instead of IQ? And if so what order of magnitude can be expected?

Thanks
Yeah, he has profiles for high performance type settings as well. With all the settings, you can choose whether to use them or not and for some of the IQ settings you can fine tune them. I haven't actually tried running it just for faster performance so I'm not sure how much it helps. It's really simple to try out the utility. It has a GUI and one of the options is to remove the custom file that gets created (you can also just delete the glprogs directory that gets created if you want to do it manually). Just give it a shot and if you don't like it, remove it. The mod doesn't even require an installer. You just run it from where ever you like and tell it where the game is installed.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-05, 05:26 AM   #74
Quaker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1
Default Re: Quak4 - Quake 4 tuning tool for NVIDIA G70/NV40/NV30 Series GPU's

WOW!!!! I´ve a GF 5900XT and it looks great!!!!!!! Before, it was very terrible!!

THX to all and Mr. tertsi
Quaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-05, 08:49 PM   #76
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Quak4 - Quake 4 tuning tool for NVIDIA G70/NV40/NV30 Series GPU's

Those look really good. Is the uber mode going to be in the Quake 4 tool also?

Is the creature in offset2 in D3 or RoE? I've played both so many times and don't really seeing that particular model. I've been trying to take screenshots of all the different ones so I can try to name them all. So, I'm saving that pic.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-05, 09:02 PM   #77
tertsi
www.fornvidiots.net
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 340
Default Re: Quak4 - Quake 4 tuning tool for NVIDIA G70/NV40/NV30 Series GPU's

yes, both tools (Quak4 and 3mood) will gets some "uber"....

I've been using Doom 3 for testing purposes because faster loading times. I'm also damn impressed how well "uber" works in Doom 3 without any real height map information

The creature in offset2 is in Doom 3... The ArchVile.
tertsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-05, 09:21 PM   #78
Ronin
Hardware is my hobby...
 
Ronin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 186
Default Re: Quak4 - Quake 4 tuning tool for NVIDIA G70/NV40/NV30 Series GPU's

Time frame, man! Some of us are jonesin after the image posts. I want to get some new framerate comparisons on the box in my sig.
__________________
FX60 @ 3.09GHz - XP120 w/Panaflow M1A :: Armor V8000 Black :: K8N Diamond Plus :: 2x1GB G.Skill PC4000 :: eVGA 8800GTX :: 1 80GB Raptor (Boot) :: 2x250GB T7K250/2x160GB WD SE Striped :: 2x160GB Raptors Striped :: 2x750GB Seagates Striped :: Pioneer A09/Pioneer BDR-101AS :: X-Fi Elite Pro :: Gigaworks S750 :: Seasonic S12-600 :: G7/MS Natural KB Elite :: 2405FPW
----------------------
AQ3 - 182496 :: 2k6 - 13723 :: 2k5 - 18857 :: 2k3 - 37045 :: 2k1 - 57357
nVIDIA Global Forum Moderator :: LV2Go Forum Moderator
Ronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-05, 12:38 AM   #79
ynnek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,364
Default Re: Quak4 - Quake 4 tuning tool for NVIDIA G70/NV40/NV30 Series GPU's

yea, no kidding.. I'm kinda taking my time playing Q4 my 2nd time thru.. waiting to try the 1.0.2 release!
ynnek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-05, 01:48 AM   #80
Treason
nVidia GeForce FX 5600 U
 
Treason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 599
Default Re: Quak4 - Quake 4 tuning tool for NVIDIA G70/NV40/NV30 Series GPU's

Thanks for this improvement tool!

I assume I have to delete my autoexec.cfg file from http://ucguides.savagehelp.com/Quake4/Quake4Guide.htm? (Which I did).
Treason is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-31-05, 03:07 AM   #81
DudeŽ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6
Default Re: Quak4 - Quake 4 tuning tool for NVIDIA G70/NV40/NV30 Series GPU's

I tried this tool but I do not understand if works for me, when I start quake4 it looks nothing changed.
I have a 6800GT, I choose from the dropdown menu ultra settings and the I press the "build interaction" button. (I already set my quake4 directory)
Do I have to do something else?
DudeŽ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-05, 12:32 PM   #82
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Quak4 - Quake 4 tuning tool for NVIDIA G70/NV40/NV30 Series GPU's

Dude, check the q4base directory to see if the glprogs directory was created and if so, see if the interaction.vfp file is there. If it's there, it should be working.

D:\Games\Quake 4\q4base\glprogs\interaction.vfp (for my system, if my memory serves me right).
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-05, 05:38 PM   #83
tertsi
www.fornvidiots.net
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 340
Default Re: Quak4 - Quake 4 tuning tool for NVIDIA G70/NV40/NV30 Series GPU's

Quake 4 Image comparisons between "ultra" and "uber" mapping...

http://www.skenegroup.net/tertsi/qua...vs_uber_1.html
http://www.skenegroup.net/tertsi/qua...vs_uber_2.html
http://www.skenegroup.net/tertsi/qua...vs_uber_3.html
http://www.skenegroup.net/tertsi/qua...vs_uber_4.html
http://www.skenegroup.net/tertsi/qua...vs_uber_5.html
tertsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-05, 06:37 PM   #84
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Quak4 - Quake 4 tuning tool for NVIDIA G70/NV40/NV30 Series GPU's

Looks great! Thanks for the Quake 4 preview.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Š1998 - 2014, nV News.