Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-25-05, 04:36 PM   #1
BLOODUK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 168
Default What amps are needed for a 6800GT

400 Watt Psu


+12V


0.2A


17.0A


+5% ~ -5%


120mV

Currently running at 12.10V

Would this be the cause of my horrible stuttering issue?
BLOODUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-05, 04:56 PM   #2
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: What amps are needed for a 6800GT

I wouldn't think so. Is this in an SLi setup? If so then possibly. Do you have a power connector connected to your 6800GT? What are the rest of your system specs?
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-05, 05:17 PM   #3
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: What amps are needed for a 6800GT

More specs please, like he said. What driver are you using? My 12v rail, according to my BIOS, is only running at 11.87 and I have no problems in my game. I have a 550w psu.
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-05, 05:18 PM   #4
Ryker
Registered User
 
Ryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 28
Default Re: What amps are needed for a 6800GT

20 amps minimum on 12 volt rail for 6800 series,For 7800 series its like 25 to 30 amps on 12v rail, There Power Hungry .
Look on sticker on side of PSU and read what the amps on on the 12v rail. and 17 amps are not enough .
__________________
Asus L1N64 SLI WS,AMD Athlon Quad Series FX-74,3.0 Gig,Dual Processor,8 Gigs OCZ Platinum DDR2,2-8800 GTX Ultras in SLI.E-Power 1200 watt Psu,120 amps,Ageia Physx PPU,2 x W/D 150 gig in raid 0,
4 x W/D 500 gig in raid 0,2 x Phillips DVD combo Optical drives,IMON VFD Media lab,Windows Vista Ultimate 64 bit OS,Thermaltake Mozart TX Home Entertainment Case, Microsoft Media Pro Keyboard,
Logitech G5 Lazer Mouse,Dell 30 in Widescreen, Creative 5.1 surround sound, 4 120mm fans Intake,5 120mm fans Exhaust,Dual Loop water cooling system,
Loop 1-Dual processors,Loop 2 Viedo cards,All Danger Den Products.
Ryker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-05, 07:52 PM   #5
BLOODUK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 168
Default Re: What amps are needed for a 6800GT

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryker
20 amps minimum on 12 volt rail for 6800 series,For 7800 series its like 25 to 30 amps on 12v rail, There Power Hungry .
Look on sticker on side of PSU and read what the amps on on the 12v rail. and 17 amps are not enough .

Ooops shouldve said the psu is dual rail something like 12v1 15a , 12v2 16a
with overvoltage protection.. current volts are 12.06
BLOODUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-05, 08:26 PM   #6
Ryker
Registered User
 
Ryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 28
Default Re: What amps are needed for a 6800GT

whats stuttering ? Games ? Post your sig,(your computer specs)
__________________
Asus L1N64 SLI WS,AMD Athlon Quad Series FX-74,3.0 Gig,Dual Processor,8 Gigs OCZ Platinum DDR2,2-8800 GTX Ultras in SLI.E-Power 1200 watt Psu,120 amps,Ageia Physx PPU,2 x W/D 150 gig in raid 0,
4 x W/D 500 gig in raid 0,2 x Phillips DVD combo Optical drives,IMON VFD Media lab,Windows Vista Ultimate 64 bit OS,Thermaltake Mozart TX Home Entertainment Case, Microsoft Media Pro Keyboard,
Logitech G5 Lazer Mouse,Dell 30 in Widescreen, Creative 5.1 surround sound, 4 120mm fans Intake,5 120mm fans Exhaust,Dual Loop water cooling system,
Loop 1-Dual processors,Loop 2 Viedo cards,All Danger Den Products.
Ryker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-05, 09:42 PM   #7
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: What amps are needed for a 6800GT

A nice Onkyo amplifier should do it.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-05, 04:29 PM   #8
BLOODUK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 168
Default Re: What amps are needed for a 6800GT

amd 2400xp @ 2.2 being cooled by a volcano 11+
2GB Corsair xms3200 @ 400mhz 11,4,4,2.0
450Watt Psu with dual rail Updated psu for latest pci express cards
Abit nf7-s 1.0
XFX 6800GT AGP
Xfi creative labs soundcard
1x Samsung 7200rpm 8mb 120gb hard drive
1x dvdrw liteonit

Stuttering games http://www.tweaksrus.com/forums/inde...showtopic=2443

Reason i didnt post the specs is cause i gave up posting them
nobody was able to solve my problem , thus any day now
im getting a barton and abit nf7-s 2.0 for free
BLOODUK is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-26-05, 05:31 PM   #9
rohit
Awaiting WGF 2.0
 
rohit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,174
Default Re: What amps are needed for a 6800GT

i doubt its becoz of the PSU.
What games are you getting stuttering in?
__________________
|C.P.U : s939 AMD Athlon64 3200+ (newcastle) |
|MoBo : ASUS A8V Deluxe ||RAM: [512 x 2]MB Transcend DDR400 (pc3200) |
|V.G.A : LeadTek a400GT TDH (350/1000) [GeForce 6800GT] |
|Sound: RealTek Integrated. |
|P.S.U : PowerSafe 450w |
|MISC.: Logitech Cordless DUO(MX700 + Wireless Keyboard)||Lite-On DVD CD-RW Combo 52x16x52
|3dMark'05: 4893 [@ 350/1000]
rohit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-05, 06:59 AM   #10
BLOODUK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 168
Default Re: What amps are needed for a 6800GT

Quote:
Originally Posted by rohit
i doubt its becoz of the PSU.
What games are you getting stuttering in?
Civ 4
Serious sam 2 cutscenes
Quake 4
Age of empires 3(?)
Battlefield 2 awful stuttering and frame rate dives..

The stuttering DOES NOT happen when panning camera angles ie looking
around, but movement causes problems!

I have no artifacts and temps of the 6800GT never go over 52C when
gaming
BLOODUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-05, 05:23 PM   #11
rohit
Awaiting WGF 2.0
 
rohit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,174
Default Re: What amps are needed for a 6800GT

the least you can try is change your PSU and check. i see you have a nf3 mobo. SO i think you should try these.
AGP rate set to 4x. check your games.
Try overcloking your card by 20 mhz on core and 40 on memory.
if doesnt solve, then try underclocking in the same proportion.
FastWrites off. Sideband adressing oFF. again try.
Use Driver version 66.93whql (most stable driver ever).
none work RMA your card. still doesnt work, Get a mobo with VIA chipset.

If you feel trying these things is stupid, have a look at the thread on nf3+6800GT stuttering solutions. this is just a collection of those suggestions.

EDIT: if you can borrow a Better PSU from someone you knw to test, it would save your cash.
Same abt the mobo, try your card on a friends mobo n check.
__________________
|C.P.U : s939 AMD Athlon64 3200+ (newcastle) |
|MoBo : ASUS A8V Deluxe ||RAM: [512 x 2]MB Transcend DDR400 (pc3200) |
|V.G.A : LeadTek a400GT TDH (350/1000) [GeForce 6800GT] |
|Sound: RealTek Integrated. |
|P.S.U : PowerSafe 450w |
|MISC.: Logitech Cordless DUO(MX700 + Wireless Keyboard)||Lite-On DVD CD-RW Combo 52x16x52
|3dMark'05: 4893 [@ 350/1000]
rohit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-05, 06:12 PM   #12
BLOODUK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 168
Default Re: What amps are needed for a 6800GT

It does seem to be the mobo, i tried the radeon on it.. and it does exactly the same thing...... its an nforce 2 mobo aswell, im getting a free barton and
abit nf7-s 2.0 tomorrow.
BLOODUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
6800GT Pci-e Proff NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 6 07-01-12 06:43 PM
Flame's crypto attack may have needed $200,000 worth of compute power News Archived News Items 0 06-11-12 10:40 PM
9700 Pro OC app. needed PaiN Other Desktop Graphics Cards 5 10-11-02 01:46 PM
Help needed - two GeForce4 Ti's dead in a weekend! woz_mann NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 19 09-19-02 06:34 PM
Help needed with MoBo Apoc CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 3 09-10-02 10:42 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.