Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-29-05, 12:57 AM   #1
JediKnight
Kyle Katarn
 
JediKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 134
Angry What the heck!! No non-HDR HL2:Lost Coast?

I thought valve was going to relase a non-HDR version of Lost Coast. Im a big HL fan and wanted to try out anything new, but I cant becasue I have a Fx5900Ultra, and Im not in the position to spend $300 to upgrade now just for one level. Just sucks!

I guess I will have to wait till I build another top of the line system early next year.
__________________
"Im no Jedi. Im just a guy with a lightsaber and a few questions"

Intel Core i7 - 3770K| ASUS Maximus V Formula ACIII Mobo | 8 Gig Corsair Vengeance 1600 | EVGA 450 GTS | WD 1TB 64MB HDD | Lite On iBS312 BD RW Drive | Samsung VX922 | Windows 7 Home Premium 64 | Cooler Master HAF 922 case | Cooler Master Silent Pro M700 PSU
JediKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-05, 01:00 AM   #2
TierMann
Bite my shiny, metal @ss!
 
TierMann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 1,586
Default Re: What the heck!! No non-HDR HL2:Lost Coast?

So turn off HDR and Bloom? It's an option in the video menu.
__________________
Athlon 64 4400+ X2 (10x250= 2.5ghz) | Foxconn NF4KS8AA-8EKRS (nForce4 SLI) | 2GB OCZ DDR400 @ 416 (3-3-3-8) | eVGA 8800GTS 320mb
Red Diabolic Minotaur Case | PCP&C 610 Silencer | Samsung 19" 997DF + Acer AL1914smd-8 | G15 Keyboard | MX Revolution | 900Gb Storage
Vista Ultimate 32 + Gentoo Linux (Gnome + Beryl)
Athlon XP 3000+ | ECS KM400M2 3.0 | 512mb DDR333 | PNY 5200 Ultra
TV-Tuner | Silver Aspire X-Qpack w/Windows | WinXP MCE 2005 | 200Gb Storage
DVD Collection -- MySpace
TierMann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-05, 01:58 AM   #3
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: What the heck!! No non-HDR HL2:Lost Coast?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TierMann
So turn off HDR and Bloom? It's an option in the video menu.
What he said.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-05, 02:13 AM   #4
JediKnight
Kyle Katarn
 
JediKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 134
Default Re: What the heck!! No non-HDR HL2:Lost Coast?

really? hmm....... gonna try again, cause the first time I tried to load it, it crashed.
thanks.
__________________
"Im no Jedi. Im just a guy with a lightsaber and a few questions"

Intel Core i7 - 3770K| ASUS Maximus V Formula ACIII Mobo | 8 Gig Corsair Vengeance 1600 | EVGA 450 GTS | WD 1TB 64MB HDD | Lite On iBS312 BD RW Drive | Samsung VX922 | Windows 7 Home Premium 64 | Cooler Master HAF 922 case | Cooler Master Silent Pro M700 PSU
JediKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-05, 07:11 AM   #5
TierMann
Bite my shiny, metal @ss!
 
TierMann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 1,586
Default Re: What the heck!! No non-HDR HL2:Lost Coast?

Yup. That option was added to Options->Video->Advanced... in all Source games just before Day of Defeat Source came out. How'd you make out with this?
__________________
Athlon 64 4400+ X2 (10x250= 2.5ghz) | Foxconn NF4KS8AA-8EKRS (nForce4 SLI) | 2GB OCZ DDR400 @ 416 (3-3-3-8) | eVGA 8800GTS 320mb
Red Diabolic Minotaur Case | PCP&C 610 Silencer | Samsung 19" 997DF + Acer AL1914smd-8 | G15 Keyboard | MX Revolution | 900Gb Storage
Vista Ultimate 32 + Gentoo Linux (Gnome + Beryl)
Athlon XP 3000+ | ECS KM400M2 3.0 | 512mb DDR333 | PNY 5200 Ultra
TV-Tuner | Silver Aspire X-Qpack w/Windows | WinXP MCE 2005 | 200Gb Storage
DVD Collection -- MySpace
TierMann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-05, 01:18 AM   #6
JediKnight
Kyle Katarn
 
JediKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 134
Default Re: What the heck!! No non-HDR HL2:Lost Coast?

thanks all. this time it loaded and the HDR option is grayed out since my card doesnt have HDR. cant explain why it crashed the first couple of times I tried to load it though.
__________________
"Im no Jedi. Im just a guy with a lightsaber and a few questions"

Intel Core i7 - 3770K| ASUS Maximus V Formula ACIII Mobo | 8 Gig Corsair Vengeance 1600 | EVGA 450 GTS | WD 1TB 64MB HDD | Lite On iBS312 BD RW Drive | Samsung VX922 | Windows 7 Home Premium 64 | Cooler Master HAF 922 case | Cooler Master Silent Pro M700 PSU
JediKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-05, 02:06 AM   #7
Edge
3d animator for hire!
 
Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,564
Default Re: What the heck!! No non-HDR HL2:Lost Coast?

Actually you could enable HDR by forcing DX9 through the game with that card. But it would probably run pretty slow.
Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-05, 09:22 AM   #8
Rakeesh
 
Rakeesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 6,873
Default Re: What the heck!! No non-HDR HL2:Lost Coast?

Does that make it do HDR in software or something?
__________________
Want to listen to audio without your computer going to sleep? Try this.

Core i7 2600k 4.4Ghz 1.385v | Corsair H60 | 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 8-8-8-24 | MSI P67A-G45 | OCZ Vertex 3 | Sapphire 7850 OC to Max settings

Rakeesh is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-30-05, 09:46 AM   #9
angshuman
Pink GBA
 
angshuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: State College, PA
Posts: 207
Default Re: What the heck!! No non-HDR HL2:Lost Coast?

Nope... NV3x do support DX9, but my understanding is that performance drops horribly. I don't know why, though... in fact, you may be right, they might be emulating it from the drivers
__________________
Rig 1: Athlon64 X2 4800+ Toledo | BFG GeForce 7800GTX 256MB | MSI Neo4 Platinum SLI | 1GB DDR400 Corsair ValueSelect | 80GB Hitachi SATA + 160GB WD IDE | Samsung DVD+/-RW | Sony DVD-ROM | Enermax 535W | Logitech Z-3 | Logitech MX1000 | Dell 1905FP

Rig 2: Athlon64 3300+ Clawhammer | eVGA GeForce 6200A | ECS 760GX-M Micro ATX | 512MB DDR333 pqi | 10GB WD IDE | Liteon DVD-ROM | Athenatech A106 Case with 200W PSU | Logitech Cordless Desktop Express | Logitech X-530
angshuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-05, 11:17 AM   #10
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: What the heck!! No non-HDR HL2:Lost Coast?

I thought the higher up FX series supported DX9.0. That was what the whole stink was about when valve made its games only use DX8.0 on FX cards and the ATi cards at the time used the DX9.0. I swear that was a really big deal when HL2 came out because the FX cards DO support DX9.0 (even if it would be much slower).
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-05, 04:08 PM   #11
Edge
3d animator for hire!
 
Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,564
Default Re: What the heck!! No non-HDR HL2:Lost Coast?

Not just the higher-up ones, ALL FX cards support DX9. However the performance hit on anything less than the FX5900 is absolutely terribly, and even on the FX5900 it's not so great. But, for Lost Coast it should still be playable at 800x600 or so on an FX5900. With full DX9 effects in HL2, the FX5900's performance seems to come in just a bit above a 9600pro.
Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-05, 02:00 AM   #12
BioHazZarD
USCM Marine
 
BioHazZarD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,369
Send a message via MSN to BioHazZarD
Default Re: What the heck!! No non-HDR HL2:Lost Coast?

BUt if your card is not supported then you aint missing much, many people get the idea LC is a whole new episode but its not you only go up the cliffs in the church disable the machine that shoots out and then go down and this is all for the HDR effects nothing else.
__________________
Chieftec Miditower /w 5 case fans | Corsair 620W HX PSU | Asus M4N98TD EVO SLI | AMD Athlon2 X2 260 3,2GHz | Corsair 3GB PC3-10666 | eVGA Geforce GTX 460 1GB (336shader) | Samsung Spinpoint x2 250GB HD +SATA 320GB | SB Audigy 4 @ 2.1 | Samsung Syncmaster BX2331 TFT 23" running 1920x1080@60hz | Windows XP PRO SP2 | |
BioHazZarD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help to get the X to work on my Acer TravelMate 630 knchee NVIDIA Linux 16 09-19-02 10:16 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.