Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-03-05, 07:17 PM   #37
lec666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: boston
Posts: 12
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 DX9 performance fixes

finally got my fps meter unlocked
and now averaging 70fps in dx9
and 215-265 in dx7
great find !!!

that was only using the optimise for sli feature
__________________
opty 170 @ 2.7/A8N-E/2 x 512 Gskill PC4800/7900GTX/4 x 36G raptors raid 0
antec true power 550w w/aux 350W/custom water cooling
lec666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-05, 12:08 AM   #38
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 DX9 performance fixes

cg_drawFPS [0,1,2,3] - Displays the frames per second (FPS) counter at the top right of the screen. In simple mode (1) shows the average and current (low and high) FPS. In Verbose mode (2), additionally shows vertex counts. In Time mode (3) shows the time taken to draw the current frame in milliseconds (ms).

http://www.tweakguides.com/COD2_2.html
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-05, 11:51 AM   #39
Scunner
Veni, Vidi, Calcitro Anus
 
Scunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: 127.0.0.2 (I moved)
Posts: 377
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 DX9 performance fixes

I'm not too happy with my framerate in DX9 mode.

My machine is an AMD 3800+, 2GB RAM, and 7800GTX, all on an A8N SLI Deluxe motherboard with 81.85 drivers. In DX9 mode at 1280x960, 4xAA, 8xAF, all settings on High, Zfeather World Only, and the above tweaks, I'm averaging 37fps with frequent dips to low 20s. In DX7 mode, it's a constant 75fps (v-synch on).

I'm currently forced to play online in DX7 mode to get decent performance.

Does anyone with similar hardware have benchmarks they could share, please?

Edit: Mathesar is getting 60-ish fps at a similar resolution with an X2 4800+ and a single GTX. Theoretically, my framerates should be in the 50+ range, wouldn't you think?
Scunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-05, 12:24 PM   #40
zoomy942
 
zoomy942's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bellevue, ID
Posts: 5,336
Send a message via AIM to zoomy942 Send a message via MSN to zoomy942
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 DX9 performance fixes

you know, what gets me is that this game doesnt look all that different from the first one, so why it runs so slowly is a mystery to me.

scunner - i have a setup similr to yours, and i get almost the exact results if i have v-sync on. i turn that off, and thankfully there is very very little tearing and i sit at about 65 fps or so.
zoomy942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-05, 02:35 PM   #41
Meusa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 36
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 DX9 performance fixes

For some reason the multigpu tweak just does not work for my 6800GT. Maybe beacuse its AGP? The performance actually feels worse after changing the setting. Had exactly the same results on another system using an AGP X700.
Meusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-05, 03:01 PM   #42
Scunner
Veni, Vidi, Calcitro Anus
 
Scunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: 127.0.0.2 (I moved)
Posts: 377
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 DX9 performance fixes

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoomy942
scunner - i have a setup similr to yours, and i get almost the exact results if i have v-sync on. i turn that off, and thankfully there is very very little tearing and i sit at about 65 fps or so.
Bizarre. I'll try turning it off; thanks for the feedback.
Scunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-05, 05:08 PM   #43
Mr_LoL
Bush's Doppleganger
 
Mr_LoL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangor North Wales UK
Posts: 5,204
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 DX9 performance fixes

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoomy942
you know, what gets me is that this game doesnt look all that different from the first one, so why it runs so slowly is a mystery to me.

scunner - i have a setup similr to yours, and i get almost the exact results if i have v-sync on. i turn that off, and thankfully there is very very little tearing and i sit at about 65 fps or so.
Probably they used a decent engine in the first game. Next time I hope they license the cry engine or something and leave engine building to sweeney and co.
__________________
Core i5 2500K@ 4.5, KFA2 GTX 570, Gigabyte Z68, 8GB Corsair XMS 1600MHZ, Antec Truepower New 650w, Coolermaster Storm Sniper, 1TB Samsung F1, Yamakasi Catleap 27", Samsung 245B, Asus Xonar DG...blah blah blah
Mr_LoL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-05, 09:00 PM   #44
Mathesar
Registered User
 
Mathesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 347
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 DX9 performance fixes

Bit off topic but I played Call of Duty 2 on Xbox360 this evening at walmart and was amazed how smooth it ran, The entire 20+ minutes I played the framerate never hitched / paused or slowed down, it was a solid 60fps no matter what was going on and it was running on a LCD HDTV @ 720p mode, The only downsides I noticed is that it lacks any Antialising or Anistropic filtering (ground textures were blury in the distance) but the overall look / high resolution / texture detail / smooth animations combined with the 60fps framerate was still very impressive. Plus it had a "Pre release" message showing the entire time so not sure if they'l add more polish to the final version.
__________________
Antec TX 1050B Case w/ Corsair CMPSU-750TX 750W PSU
Intel i7 920 @ 3.36ghz (Stock Intel cooler, for now)
Gigabyte EX58-UD3R (rev 1.6)
6 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1600 (3 x 2GB / Triple channel)
EVGA GTX 480 + EVGA GTX 260 Superclocked (PhysX)
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic / Logitech Z5500's
Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro headphones + Go-Vibe V4 amp
2.4TB Total HDD / Win 7 64bit Ultimate
Samsung PX2370 LED TN & Samsung 2333T PVA
Pioneer Kuro 5080HD Plasma.
Mathesar is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-04-05, 09:29 PM   #45
Burnt_Ram
Registered User
 
Burnt_Ram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kelowna, B.C.
Posts: 2,092
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 DX9 performance fixes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathesar
Bit off topic but I played Call of Duty 2 on Xbox360 this evening at walmart and was amazed how smooth it ran, The entire 20+ minutes I played the framerate never hitched / paused or slowed down, it was a solid 60fps no matter what was going on and it was running on a LCD HDTV @ 720p mode, The only downsides I noticed is that it lacks any Antialising or Anistropic filtering (ground textures were blury in the distance) but the overall look / high resolution / texture detail / smooth animations combined with the 60fps framerate was still very impressive. Plus it had a "Pre release" message showing the entire time so not sure if they'l add more polish to the final version.
how did it look compared to PC ? is the 360 the be all to end all gaming machine that they're trying to hype it up to be ?
Burnt_Ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-05, 09:39 PM   #46
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 DX9 performance fixes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathesar
Bit off topic but I played Call of Duty 2 on Xbox360 this evening at walmart and was amazed how smooth it ran, The entire 20+ minutes I played the framerate never hitched / paused or slowed down, it was a solid 60fps no matter what was going on and it was running on a LCD HDTV @ 720p mode, The only downsides I noticed is that it lacks any Antialising or Anistropic filtering (ground textures were blury in the distance) but the overall look / high resolution / texture detail / smooth animations combined with the 60fps framerate was still very impressive. Plus it had a "Pre release" message showing the entire time so not sure if they'l add more polish to the final version.
No need to go off topic when theres already a topic about it
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=59286
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-05, 04:09 AM   #47
devilmc86
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 DX9 performance fixes

sorry wrong post :P
devilmc86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-05, 04:09 AM   #48
devilmc86
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 DX9 performance fixes

Okkey, so you have 6800 GT!

I Have 7800GTX, 3800+ Venice @ 3000mhz (much more than Fx-57), 2GB Corsair ram in dual ddr channel @ 2,5-3-3-6.

After the tweaks you got 36fps looking at the commander in the first scene of the game.

According that me and you were playing with the same config (1280x1024, 2x antialiasing, all maxed), why i have so low fps (considering that my pc is faster than yours)?



It's so strange :P Can we use a single config.cfg with all the settings and tweaks we loud through the autoexec and tweak.cfg?

I'm expecting to have at least 46 fps in that scene with your same settings and my hardware, i'm missing something, i'm sure of that :P
devilmc86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$44.99 - Logitech Call of Duty: MW3 Edition G105 Black USB Wired Gaming Keyboard News Archived News Items 0 06-20-12 09:00 PM
Tony Hawk devs working on Call of Duty News Gaming Headlines 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Treyarch says Call of Duty: Black Ops 2 Doesn't Need a New Engine to Advance Graphics News Archived News Items 0 05-14-12 07:00 PM
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 Collection 1 DLC arrives on PC, finally News Archived News Items 0 05-09-12 01:10 PM
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-30-02 11:59 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.