Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-05-05, 05:53 AM   #49
oWnz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 DX9 performance fixes

Hi, ive got some questions.

Do the tweaks also work for ATi-graphics and dx7 users?

And myshkinbob said, that he suggest to read autoexec.cfg and tweak.cfg as they contain comments and other useful parameters to gain fps, that need setting to my preference.
So in the tweak.cfg stands: "3 commands to fix the picmip bug related fps loss, change last picmip value to your preferred detail level, (look in config.cfg for value)."

Whats the last picmic value i maybe have to change?

Thanks for your answers.

-oWnz
oWnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-05, 08:01 AM   #50
myshkinbob
Registered User
 
myshkinbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 402
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 DX9 performance fixes

Quote:
Originally Posted by oWnz
Hi, ive got some questions.

Do the tweaks also work for ATi-graphics and dx7 users?

And myshkinbob said, that he suggest to read autoexec.cfg and tweak.cfg as they contain comments and other useful parameters to gain fps, that need setting to my preference.
So in the tweak.cfg stands: "3 commands to fix the picmip bug related fps loss, change last picmip value to your preferred detail level, (look in config.cfg for value)."

Whats the last picmic value i maybe have to change?

Thanks for your answers.

-oWnz
I'm not sure if it works for Ati users. Let us know.

The last picmip value in tweak.cfg should be changed to the "texture detail" you play at, eg, 0 = extra, 1 = high, 2 = normal. So set it back to 0 for my set up, because i use texture detail extra in the options.

i'm using an agp 6800GT here, well according to my drivers i am (rivatuner nvstrapped the quadro to 6800GT mode). Both tweaks should work fine on other agp 6800. If r_multigpu 1 isn't helping fps at all, you might want to try r_gpusync 0 instead. Does the same thing, essentially.
__________________
Core2Duo E6400 (3.0GHz@1.3v) | Gigabyte 965P-DS3 | 2x 1024MB Elixir PC6400 (Dual-Channel DDR2@1.8v) | 3x Spinpoint SATA 80GB | Gainward GeForce 8800GTS (@600/1900) | Mitsubishi DiamondPlus 93SB 19" (1600x1200@75Hz)
myshkinbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-05, 09:44 AM   #51
Lipiki
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 DX9 performance fixes

I got 1 question please:

You said: "Anyone using a single graphics card can gain 5-20% better minimum framerate by setting r_multigpu to 1, or r_gpusync to 0"

do we have to type that everytime we quit and load up the game later on? Cause I came to find the SLI option being set back to 'no' as default

oh yeah and 1 silly question, we ARE ment to type the r_multipgpu 1 stuff in the console right? lol just want to make sure
Lipiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-05, 10:22 AM   #52
myshkinbob
Registered User
 
myshkinbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 402
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 DX9 performance fixes

you can type r_multigpu 1 in the console, and it should save to your config.cfg automatically, and be there when you next load the game. Setting "optimize for SLI" to yes in the options should do the same thing.

the r_picmip tweak has to be run everytime a map loads, it seems to correct some bug in the renderer initialization.
__________________
Core2Duo E6400 (3.0GHz@1.3v) | Gigabyte 965P-DS3 | 2x 1024MB Elixir PC6400 (Dual-Channel DDR2@1.8v) | 3x Spinpoint SATA 80GB | Gainward GeForce 8800GTS (@600/1900) | Mitsubishi DiamondPlus 93SB 19" (1600x1200@75Hz)
myshkinbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-05, 10:28 AM   #53
myshkinbob
Registered User
 
myshkinbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 402
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 DX9 performance fixes

Quote:
Originally Posted by devilmc86
Okkey, so you have 6800 GT!

I Have 7800GTX, 3800+ Venice @ 3000mhz (much more than Fx-57), 2GB Corsair ram in dual ddr channel @ 2,5-3-3-6.

After the tweaks you got 36fps looking at the commander in the first scene of the game.

According that me and you were playing with the same config (1280x1024, 2x antialiasing, all maxed), why i have so low fps (considering that my pc is faster than yours)?



It's so strange :P Can we use a single config.cfg with all the settings and tweaks we loud through the autoexec and tweak.cfg?

I'm expecting to have at least 46 fps in that scene with your same settings and my hardware, i'm missing something, i'm sure of that :P
you could try doing it manually. enable the console, load the first map, get to where you're at in that screenshot, type:

r_multigpu 1
r_gpusync 3
//see first fps boost
r_picmip 2
r_applypicmip
r_picmip 0
r_applypicmip
//see second fps boost
//(optional)
r_zfeather 0
//see third fps boost

don't type the lines starting //

i do have r_anisotropy set to 4 also, but that only gives 1-2fps extra. If you change r_anisotropy in the console, you need to type vid_restart to apply it. Then you'll need to redo the picmip tweak also.
__________________
Core2Duo E6400 (3.0GHz@1.3v) | Gigabyte 965P-DS3 | 2x 1024MB Elixir PC6400 (Dual-Channel DDR2@1.8v) | 3x Spinpoint SATA 80GB | Gainward GeForce 8800GTS (@600/1900) | Mitsubishi DiamondPlus 93SB 19" (1600x1200@75Hz)
myshkinbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-05, 11:06 AM   #54
devilmc86
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 DX9 performance fixes

i already did it manually first time i did it And nothing changed, even during the execution of the commands, even after a vid_restart 33 fps looking at the commander, nothing less, nothing more
devilmc86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-05, 12:15 PM   #55
radial
covert op
 
radial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Enemy territory
Posts: 87
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 DX9 performance fixes

Most of you already know this, but the picmip trick is easier if you put those lines into a tweak.cfg (in the CoD2 main' folder). Then load up the game, bring down the console and type "bind [desired key] exec tweak.cfg" (without the quotes). That should stick to the main config and you only need to press the bound key to execute it.
__________________

Intel Core2Duo 6600
Asus GeForce 8800 GTS 640MB
2 x OCZ 1024MB DDR2 800
NEC 20,1" LCD MultiSync 2080UX+BK
radial is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-05, 12:39 PM   #56
Mathesar
Registered User
 
Mathesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 347
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 DX9 performance fixes

Quote:
Originally Posted by devilmc86
Okkey, so you have 6800 GT!

I Have 7800GTX, 3800+ Venice @ 3000mhz (much more than Fx-57), 2GB Corsair ram in dual ddr channel @ 2,5-3-3-6.

After the tweaks you got 36fps looking at the commander in the first scene of the game.

According that me and you were playing with the same config (1280x1024, 2x antialiasing, all maxed), why i have so low fps (considering that my pc is faster than yours)?



It's so strange :P Can we use a single config.cfg with all the settings and tweaks we loud through the autoexec and tweak.cfg?

I'm expecting to have at least 46 fps in that scene with your same settings and my hardware, i'm missing something, i'm sure of that :P
Maybe you have Vsync enabled and he doesnt?

One thing is for sure .. CoD2 runs much much worse on my other PC which is a P4 2.8C @ 3.3ghz / 6800GT, Even if I run it 640x480 with no AA its still noticably slower than my AMD / 7800GTX setup running 1280x800 / 4X AA / 8X AF. Not sure if this is an AGP bottleneck issue or what.
__________________
Antec TX 1050B Case w/ Corsair CMPSU-750TX 750W PSU
Intel i7 920 @ 3.36ghz (Stock Intel cooler, for now)
Gigabyte EX58-UD3R (rev 1.6)
6 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1600 (3 x 2GB / Triple channel)
EVGA GTX 480 + EVGA GTX 260 Superclocked (PhysX)
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic / Logitech Z5500's
Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro headphones + Go-Vibe V4 amp
2.4TB Total HDD / Win 7 64bit Ultimate
Samsung PX2370 LED TN & Samsung 2333T PVA
Pioneer Kuro 5080HD Plasma.
Mathesar is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-05-05, 12:48 PM   #57
devilmc86
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 DX9 performance fixes

Actually i think we should define better what are the bugs and what are not
First of all i think that the in game command cg_drawfps 1 is a bit bugged, so don't care too much the fps you see on the screen. Sometimes it moves from 10 to 50 even if you are rendering the same number of scenes per second.

A part this, i tried to exec all those commands in game, but nothing changed.... but.... when i suddenly, just to be curious, i typed r_zfeather 0 (which was, as someone said, an optional setting) i had 50 fps everywhere, but it was not a bug, i could feel the smooth playing in my hands moving in the game.

That could sound a bit strange, but all the other command didn't change anything to me, but the zfeather made me jump from 33 to 50fps (and COD2 has 50fps cap i think).

I'm trying now to make different settings to see if the r_zfeather command really makes the difference.

And as far as i've seen, the picmip stuff does not help, not even for 1fps.
devilmc86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-05, 01:04 PM   #58
devilmc86
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 DX9 performance fixes

okkey, i dunno if this is valid for everyone here tweaking cod2 to obtain more fps with the same image quality, but it's valid for me, i've tested it so long tnx to the guys who discovered these bugs and commands, and i come at this conclusion (and i think you all should try it).

First of all, there are so useless ways in this thread to obtain more fps, the point is that we don't really know what are the bugs, so we do a lot of things we think should help us.

This is my solution after trying your solutions:

1) Just open your cfg and add in it the 2 SLI Commands, these commands will not change after map change. So just add in your cfg

seta r_multigpu "1"
seta r_gpusync "3"

2) Don't care all the useless stuff about the picmip, it's really non sense to put low quality and then again high quality hoping in a fps boost.

3) just add in your cfg this bind:

bind P "r_zFeather 0"


---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ----

Everytime you play you just need to press P when the game starts. The sli GPU commands never change in the CFG if you write them down there.
The only command that you need to exec every map load is the r_zfeather 0, and this is the only command that let you have a fps boost.

i Tried it so long, and when i start a game and i see (for example) 33fps, if i press the P button i instantly go @ 50fps. Just try this and let me know if it works only to me, if it works with your confings too it means that i'm right and all the previous solutiong were just to long and boring. This is an easy way to make the fps boost, and it seems that only the r_zfeather (afte the gpu commands) makes the difference.

Let's test together please

You can see my fps boost at this link -> http://www.falco-web.it/devilmc/shot0002.jpg

And this is another shot in a more open range area with more than 1 person on the screen, always with 50 fps

http://www.falco-web.it/devilmc/shot0000.jpg

This shot has been taken with COD2 running @ 1280x1024x32bit 100hz, all maxed, anisotropy 8x, antialiasing 2x, max corpses on the screen and all the other settings. I got so high fps, as i said before, just setting in the cfg r_multigpu 1 and r_gpusync 3, and pressing P at the beginning of the game, (P = r_zFeather 0).
devilmc86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-05, 04:46 PM   #59
F_L_C
Fun Lovin' Criminal
 
F_L_C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 483
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 DX9 performance fixes

The tweaks didn't work for my 68GT either. At first I couldn't even get the gpuSynch or multiGpu tweaks to stick. They seem to be the only cvars that don't stick when inputting into the console. A workaround already known is to append to the COD2 shortcut (ex. "E:\Program Files\Activision\Call of Duty 2\CoD2SP_s.exe" +set r_gpuSync 0).

My 68GT (425/1.19) consistenly dips into the 20s in heavy combat areas. This is at 12x10/2xAA/2xAF/all else maxed except Soften Smoke (zFeather) = 0 and Corpses = tiny. But the surprising thing is that there are no stutters or hitches when this happens. It still feels relatively smooth and playable, which leads me to believe that the FPS counter in this game might be shady. What is needed is an in-game benchmark like the one in FEAR. All future games should follow Monolith's example.

Aother thing I noticed is that even with all graphics options (except DX9) set to the absolute minimum, it still dips into the 20s. If I switch to DX7, FPS is through the roof. WTF? It's just hard to believe that the DX9 path is so much more demanding to yield such a ridiculous discrepancy. And the NV40 is not exactly "legacy" hardware.
__________________
Abit AN7 [] XP-M 2400 => MCW6002 | ProCore | MCP600 [] OCZ 1.5GB PC3200 [] eVGA 7800GS => VF700 [] 2x160GB 'cuda RAID 0 [] SoundStorm => Z-5500
nForce123 drivers here.
F_L_C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-05, 04:52 PM   #60
Lipiki
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 DX9 performance fixes

devilmc, thats cool of you, I'll test later on and see if it works too btw can you share with us your system specs so we can make comparrisons
Lipiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$44.99 - Logitech Call of Duty: MW3 Edition G105 Black USB Wired Gaming Keyboard News Archived News Items 0 06-20-12 10:00 PM
Tony Hawk devs working on Call of Duty News Gaming Headlines 0 06-15-12 11:30 AM
Treyarch says Call of Duty: Black Ops 2 Doesn't Need a New Engine to Advance Graphics News Archived News Items 0 05-14-12 08:00 PM
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 Collection 1 DLC arrives on PC, finally News Archived News Items 0 05-09-12 02:10 PM
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-31-02 12:59 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.