Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-09-05, 10:48 PM   #13
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: Quake 4 Supports X-Fi?

Again: I am super-effing happy I got my Elite Pro today.
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-05, 02:42 AM   #14
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Quake 4 Supports X-Fi?

Congrats on getting it. Are you going to use all the control panels? If you end up hooking up the panel with the remote, I'll be interested in how well it works. I might install mine if you think it's worth it.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-05, 08:58 PM   #15
aAv7
 
aAv7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,250
Default Re: Quake 4 Supports X-Fi?

I had alot of popping with my old audigy 2 ZS in my old socket 754 system. This new 939 socket system and the x-fi I just purchased today work great together, no popping what so ever, tried every game I have installed.
__________________
[SIZE="1"][B]CPU:[/B] AMD64 3200+ Winchester @ 2.2 [B]RAM:[/B] 2GB Kingston Dual Channel DDR 400 [B]Motherboard:[/B] Gigabyte K8 Triton nForce4 [B]VideoCard:[/B] eVGA GeForce 7800GTX 512MB [B]Hard Drive:[/B] WD 250GB Sata [B]OS:[/B] Dual boot, Windows XP Home/Windows Professional x64 Edition Retail[B] Audio:[/B] X-Fi Xtreme Music [B]Mouse:[/B] Logitech MX 310 [B]PSU:[/B] 500W Ultra Connect (34A on the 12V+)[/SIZE]

[SIZE="1"][B]Xbox 360:[/B] w/ Intercooler @ 1280x1024 , Dynasty Warriors 5, Fight Night Round 3, Kameo, NBA 2K6, Perfect Dark Zero CE, and PGR 3[SIZE="1"][/SIZE][/SIZE]
aAv7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-05, 11:50 AM   #16
chowells
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 103
Default Re: Quake 4 Supports X-Fi?

Ergh. With all the complaints about NForce4 problems and crackling it sounds like I'll be getting a much cheaper Audigy rather than the X-Fi, at least until the problems are ironed out.
chowells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-05, 12:24 PM   #17
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Quake 4 Supports X-Fi?

I have two nforce4 systems and each is using a X-Fi. Things are fine with my system but I have seen some others say they have issues.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-05, 01:18 PM   #18
saweetnesstrev
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 568
Default Re: Quake 4 Supports X-Fi?

OWA X-FI is better then Audigy 2? If so how much better? Worth the upgrade or just wait for a later x-fi card?
saweetnesstrev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-05, 05:29 PM   #19
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Quake 4 Supports X-Fi?

It's definitely worth it if you use headphones. If you don't, then it really depends on the game. Some games, like BF2, I noticed a big difference when using the X-Fi mode. With other games, I can't tell a lot of difference between it and the Audigy 2 ZS I was using before. I mainly use headphones these days though and the positional sound is light-years (okay, slight exaggeration) ahead of what the Audigy 2 ZS provided.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-05, 07:41 PM   #20
chowells
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 103
Default Re: Quake 4 Supports X-Fi?

Bah. Seems like most of the problems have been with Abit NForce4 boards. Might try risking it with my Asus
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0, ASUS P5K, PNY GeForce 7800 GT, 2GB OCZ PC2-8500 Reaper, 200GB WD SATA disk, 2407FPW 24" LCD and Sony KDL-40X2000 40" 1080p TV, Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music
chowells is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-15-05, 07:52 PM   #21
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Quake 4 Supports X-Fi?

There are new drivers that just came out. Maybe that'll help the people that have been having issues.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
302.17 = FPS drops in Quake Live Lamieur NVIDIA Linux 0 06-18-12 02:13 PM
Point release 1.32 for Quake 3 is out styles-T Gaming Central 16 10-10-02 01:42 PM
Doom 3 technology for Quake 1 Kruno Gaming Central 104 10-09-02 10:56 PM
The case of the disappearing shadows legion88 NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 19 08-23-02 08:13 PM
What is a good motherboard? Nixdisciple CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 17 08-18-02 07:02 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.