Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-13-05, 02:16 PM   #13
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Is anyone still playing F.E.A.R.?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
Im using a 1 1\2 year old card, and it runs that good... wheres this crappy performance everyone is talking about?
Well, consider this.

I can play HL2 with everything maxed @ 1680x1050 with 4xAA and 8xAF and no problems whatsoever besides the loading stutter.

Fear I am currently running at 1280x960 @ 2xAA and 4xAF and it runs pretty smooth for me. It's been choppy one time right after a save checkpoint thinger but other than that its been pretty smooth.

Notice the difference in playable settings?

Crappy performance is very true when you boost everything to max and kick up the filtering. Frame rate is a lot lower on average than what I get for HL2, but I don't have much problem with that since shadows are so much better.

But there is still the clipping issue I wish more people did like ID and eliminated the whole thing bout people's head and arms poking through objects. As far as overall feel and experience, it reminds me of HL2 with some Max Payne and Doom thrown in.
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-05, 06:04 PM   #14
nutcrackr
Super Registered User
 
nutcrackr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,204
Default Re: Is anyone still playing F.E.A.R.?

I've only just started playing it again on a harder level of difficulty, I never thought it was as fantastic as some people have claimed but it's a fun shooter and if you don't play it excessively I think you'll enjoy it much more later on. In terms of replay it's not great but it was no less than Doom 3 which I really had to change attitudes towards to play again. If I was recommending a purchase I'd say wait until the price drops more and the money will be well spent.
nutcrackr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-05, 06:25 PM   #15
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Is anyone still playing F.E.A.R.?

Yea well HL2 doesn't even have dynamic shadows... not to mention an engine that has upwards of 6 light sources at a time.

Remember, for every light source, the character needs to be rerendered, so you can have the equivalent of 20 guys on your screen with high polys at a given time.

Its a wonder Fear doesn't run slower!

And you wonder why people like it so much? You even said yourself, its Half Life, with Max Payne and Doom thrown in.
3 of some of my favorite games of all time, no wonder people like it so much
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-05, 06:49 PM   #16
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Is anyone still playing F.E.A.R.?

Been playing it some more today... and its really not getting any better. Glad I got it cheap ($29.90 from gogamer) or I might be a bit irritated

Looking back on the single-player FPS games I have played over the past 3 years, I think HL2 is still by far the best. I can still remember the feel of that game, and the atmosphere was amazing. Im not really getting anything from FEAR, and Quake 4 was fun but didnt leave any real impression on me. Im hoping FEAR gets better.

It had a really really nasty glitch today too... in one scene (with the second big armored guy you see) I cleared out a room and moved up some stairs where some more guys attacked me. I backed up and there was someone right in plain view that wasnt there a second ago. I got killed and reloaded my last quicksave. Now, that guy was there again but he was UNDER THE FLOOR. He was shooting me through the floor and I couldnt hit him. I finally shot the floor enough that he died, but I had to reload the save like 7 times before I could get him. That was pretty anoying.

Its the first bug Ive seen so far though, so thats pretty good.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-05, 08:13 PM   #17
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Is anyone still playing F.E.A.R.?

Quote:
but he was UNDER THE FLOOR. He was shooting me through the floor and I couldnt hit him. I finally shot the floor enough that he died, but I had to reload the save like 7 times before I could get him.
That patch addressed another area like that, baddies were inside a concrete wall, annoying as hell. Still luvin lots of the game tho. Tried to kick an imp in cdoom3 the other day...woulda been cool
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-05, 09:04 PM   #18
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Is anyone still playing F.E.A.R.?

F.E.A.R. SECURom HotFix Available released!

http://worthplaying.com/article.php?...thread&order=0

Quote:
Various people have complained about problems with the latest v1.02 patch that they could no longer start up the game due to the securom copy protection. While it still does not seem to resolve all issues with the game, Securom has issued a hotfix to address the resolve "some" of the issues such as problems were the exe was sitting in taskmanager without actually launching the game, or the need to alt+tab in order to play online. Read more for download links ...
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-05, 09:58 PM   #19
Hex
Oh smeg...
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 523
Default Re: Is anyone still playing F.E.A.R.?

I love FEAR multi, but I wont play again until they throw some kind of anti cheat in there like PB.
That and the melee thing gets so stupid after a while.
__________________
Intel Core Duo Q6600, nVidia GeForce GTX 280 , 8 Gig DDR2, X-FI Gamer, Dell UltraSharp 2208WFP , Logitech G15, Razer Diamondback Plasma, Windows Vista 64 Ultimate
Hex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-05, 11:56 PM   #20
supra
2JZ powered
 
supra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Aus
Posts: 1,321
Send a message via MSN to supra
Default Re: Is anyone still playing F.E.A.R.?

im currently trying to play through the whole thing with no slo mo.
__________________
supra is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-14-05, 12:14 AM   #21
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: Is anyone still playing F.E.A.R.?

I played some today but I had to stop because it's just too intense for more than like 15-20 minutes at a time.
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-05, 12:26 AM   #22
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Is anyone still playing F.E.A.R.?

Quote:
Originally Posted by superklye
I played some today but I had to stop because it's just too intense for more than like 15-20 minutes at a time.
Man, for me its just the opposite. Ive had maybe 2 intense moments so far... over all it just feels blahh.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-05, 12:33 AM   #23
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Is anyone still playing F.E.A.R.?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeero1978
...maybe the single player feels blahh the second or third time around... but the multiplayer pwnz
Havent played the MP yet in the full game... I might have to try that now

I know I pwnz0rd everyone in the MP demo
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-05, 01:36 AM   #24
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Is anyone still playing F.E.A.R.?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeero1978
me too... ..using the 2 pistols & the mp5
Oh man, I just played some team DM... its freaking amazing

Its so much fun! The first time my team was kinda crappy and we had 1 less player than the other team... and one of ours was AFK. So I just went all melee and I still had a decent score. If it wasnt for lag I probably would have had the highest... melee attacks dont work too well with lag, you fly through people half the time, and it takes so long to recover from a flying kick that if you miss, youre dead.

After that we played an office building level... I dont know the name of it, but it was freaking AWESOME for team DM. Holy crap. Its the one thats really fancy looking, with a lobby that has a second floor walkway with a railing. Oh man, its amazing... with like 6 people rushing through the twisty hallway with smoke EVERYWHERE, just punching through a big group of enemies. Its so sweet

I used to hate the G2A2, I never got any kills with it. In that level though, I pwnt... it was headshot city

I gotta say, Im very happy with the MP in both Quake 4 and FEAR. Pretty much lag-free. Runs great. No real balance issues. Nothing overly irritating that isnt controlled by the players. All around good fun
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What we're looking forward to seeing and playing at E3 News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 11:50 AM
So what's playing Diablo III really like? The OpenForum weighs in News Archived News Items 0 05-27-12 02:20 PM
To anyone who has an ati 9700 playing...... demonized Other Desktop Graphics Cards 1 10-12-02 01:33 PM
Started playing RTCW again Smokey Gaming Central 5 09-12-02 08:43 PM
What games are you playing right now? nin_fragile14 Gaming Central 52 09-11-02 04:55 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.