Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-18-05, 12:43 AM   #1
Gabrobot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 141
Default Quake 4 AI demonstration

I did a quick level last week showing Quake 4's tactical AI in action. This was done without any manually placed paths or special scripting...I just placed the enemies and the compiler and game figured out the tactical AI stuff itself.

http://www.pcgamemods.com/mod/17010.html
Gabrobot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-05, 11:39 AM   #2
hordaktheman
Hans... boobie...
 
hordaktheman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Iceland
Posts: 273
Default Re: Quake 4 AI demonstration

Good job. To be honest, I never got why people felt the need to diss Q4's AI.
__________________
It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.

-Aristotle
hordaktheman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-05, 12:36 PM   #3
Rakeesh
 
Rakeesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 6,870
Default Re: Quake 4 AI demonstration

I thought Q4 had the best AI of any game to date honestly. At least on the hardest difficulty anyways.
__________________
Want to listen to audio without your computer going to sleep? Try this.

Core i7 2600k 4.4Ghz 1.385v | Corsair H60 | 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 8-8-8-24 | MSI P67A-G45 | OCZ Vertex 3 | Sapphire 7850 OC to Max settings

Rakeesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-05, 02:38 PM   #4
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: Quake 4 AI demonstration

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaWolf_HK
I thought Q4 had the best AI of any game to date honestly. At least on the hardest difficulty anyways.
Even better than FEAR?
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-05, 02:49 PM   #5
Rakeesh
 
Rakeesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 6,870
Default Re: Quake 4 AI demonstration

Quote:
Originally Posted by superklye
Even better than FEAR?
Haven't played fear.
__________________
Want to listen to audio without your computer going to sleep? Try this.

Core i7 2600k 4.4Ghz 1.385v | Corsair H60 | 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 8-8-8-24 | MSI P67A-G45 | OCZ Vertex 3 | Sapphire 7850 OC to Max settings

Rakeesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-05, 02:50 PM   #6
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: Quake 4 AI demonstration

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaWolf_HK
Haven't played fear.


I'm so sorry.
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-05, 07:54 PM   #7
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Quake 4 AI demonstration

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabrobot
I did a quick level last week showing Quake 4's tactical AI in action. This was done without any manually placed paths or special scripting...I just placed the enemies and the compiler and game figured out the tactical AI stuff itself.

http://www.pcgamemods.com/mod/17010.html
Nice demo. Thanks.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-05, 03:11 PM   #8
Gaco
L4D & DoW2 ftw!
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,143
Default Re: Quake 4 AI demonstration

So how is A.I.?
__________________
---MAIN GAMING RIG from MID SEPTEMBER 2007, MOBO+CASE+FANS UPGRADED APRIL 2009, GRAPHICSCARD UPGRADED MARCH 2010---
Case: Antec P182 case + 3x 120mm Scythe Slipstream SY1225SL12M @ ~900 RPM
Motherboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU: Intel Core2 Q6600@3.3ghz w. Noctua NH-U12P
RAM: 4Gb Crucial Tracer PC-8500
Graphics: XFX Radeon HD 5970 Black Edition
Harddiscs: 2xRaptorX 150gb 10.000 RPM in RAID0
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sound: Sennheiser HD600 Headphones + headamp
Keyboard: Logitech DiNovo Edge
Mouse: Razor Orochi
Monitor: Samsung 2232BW (22" 1680*1050)
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64bit
Gaco is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-22-05, 03:19 PM   #9
TierMann
Bite my shiny, metal @ss!
 
TierMann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 1,586
Default Re: Quake 4 AI demonstration

The AI could still use a little work though. When I had to escort people around in single player they kept getting stuck on doorframes and whatnot. I guess that's a common thing though (AI not being aware of it's own body parts) because if you look at most games (including fear) the AI will "hide" behind something and leave their arm sticking out while you're shooting it.
__________________
Athlon 64 4400+ X2 (10x250= 2.5ghz) | Foxconn NF4KS8AA-8EKRS (nForce4 SLI) | 2GB OCZ DDR400 @ 416 (3-3-3-8) | eVGA 8800GTS 320mb
Red Diabolic Minotaur Case | PCP&C 610 Silencer | Samsung 19" 997DF + Acer AL1914smd-8 | G15 Keyboard | MX Revolution | 900Gb Storage
Vista Ultimate 32 + Gentoo Linux (Gnome + Beryl)
Athlon XP 3000+ | ECS KM400M2 3.0 | 512mb DDR333 | PNY 5200 Ultra
TV-Tuner | Silver Aspire X-Qpack w/Windows | WinXP MCE 2005 | 200Gb Storage
DVD Collection -- MySpace
TierMann is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
302.17 = FPS drops in Quake Live Lamieur NVIDIA Linux 0 06-18-12 01:13 PM
Partying particles - WebCL in Firefox demonstration News Archived News Items 0 05-23-12 02:10 PM
Point release 1.32 for Quake 3 is out styles-T Gaming Central 16 10-10-02 12:42 PM
Doom 3 technology for Quake 1 Kruno Gaming Central 104 10-09-02 09:56 PM
The case of the disappearing shadows legion88 NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 19 08-23-02 07:13 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.