Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-06-03, 09:48 PM   #1
Lord Blackdrago
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 27
Question Nvidia and Color Help

Ok I been going at this for day's now and just can't figure it out. I just upgraded to redhat 8.0 from 7.3 and installed the new Nvidia drivers ver 4191 for i686 processor ( i used the src.rpm ) and Installed for ut2003 for some good fagging and guess what?? The color is messed up! well not messed up bad but it is like.... I can't explaine but I remember the same problem being on rh 7.3. I had to delete some files ( and this is why i'm posting ). I know the files are lib... something .so but what are the full names of the files i have to delete to correct my color problem??

thank you in advance
Peace
Lord Blackdrago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-03, 11:56 AM   #2
Lord Blackdrago
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 27
Default

here is the problem.

If you look at the selection bar the color is all wrong and so is the smoke coming from the rocket launcher

Last edited by Lord Blackdrago; 01-07-03 at 12:00 PM.
Lord Blackdrago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-03, 09:50 AM   #3
merlin42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 52
Lightbulb banding

My first impression is that the problem is banding caused by insuficient color precision ie you are using a 16bpp mode.
To check run
xdpyinfo your should be bombarded with information most of which you can ignore. You should see a bunch of lines that say:
depth: 24 planes
or
depth: 16 planes
or if you are unlecky enough
depth: 15 planes

The number of planes is the number of bits used for actual color infomation per pixel (even when running at "32bits per pixel" you only get 24bpp of actual color information ... the other 8 are used for things like alpha or stencil). If the number you see is less than 24 then do the following:

Edit your /etc/X11/XF86Config file. There probably is a line that says something like:
DefaultDepth 16
and another close by that says
Depth 16
Change both of the 16 to 24 and then restart your X server.
merlin42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-03, 11:55 AM   #4
Lord Blackdrago
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 27
Default

Hey big THANKS to you :-) i did what you said and it worked. Now i can go on happy playing ut2003.

thank you again
Lord Blackdrago is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.