Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-22-05, 10:34 PM   #1
rob1234
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 12
Default leadtek 6600gt maybe overheated and broke

Almost a year ago I was on here asking about my msi 6600gt that was overheating the result of which was an rma for a leadtek 6600gt because all the msi ones in the store were overheating.

Anyway, I haven't really had a chance to play any games for longer than a few minutes until now. I was playing 7 sins for a couple of hours when my computer froze. Now every game I try looks like the attachment.

I have an sli setup so when that's on the black marks are only on half the screen and when I just use the good card they're gone completely.

The idle temperature for the broke card was 58 so I figure the card probably overheated and now there's nothing I can do. I tried putting a zalman vf700cu on it and it brought the idle temp down to 37 but the black marks are still there. I haven't tried measuring the load temp.

The only thing I haven't done is try different drivers but since one card works I figure that won't help. Does anyone have any suggestions before I go out and get a new card. Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	game.jpg
Views:	148
Size:	28.4 KB
ID:	14521  
rob1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-05, 02:56 PM   #2
rohit
Awaiting WGF 2.0
 
rohit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,174
Default Re: leadtek 6600gt maybe overheated and broke

why get a new card? cant you rma?
You can try the bad card in another system, to be sure it really has a problem or no.
__________________
|C.P.U : s939 AMD Athlon64 3200+ (newcastle) |
|MoBo : ASUS A8V Deluxe ||RAM: [512 x 2]MB Transcend DDR400 (pc3200) |
|V.G.A : LeadTek a400GT TDH (350/1000) [GeForce 6800GT] |
|Sound: RealTek Integrated. |
|P.S.U : PowerSafe 450w |
|MISC.: Logitech Cordless DUO(MX700 + Wireless Keyboard)||Lite-On DVD CD-RW Combo 52x16x52
|3dMark'05: 4893 [@ 350/1000]
rohit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-05, 03:50 PM   #3
rob1234
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 12
Default Re: leadtek 6600gt maybe overheated and broke

Yeah, I've spoken with leadtek and they sent me an rma number. I had tried contacting leadtek support a few times before about winfox errors and could never get a reply for them. So, I figured it would be a big hassle plus I was fed up with waiting. It seems I'm always rma'ing something. I can't remember in the last 5 years ever having a completely functioning computer.
rob1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-05, 03:56 PM   #4
Airbrushkid
 
Airbrushkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,421
Default Re: leadtek 6600gt maybe overheated and broke

Wow sorry to hear that. I've only rma once in my, and that was because I order the wrong thing. I seem lucky. Computers work 24/7.
__________________
Intel Q9550 l eVGA NForce 780i SLI FTW l 2 Palit GTX 560 Ti 2 GB SLI l Corsair Dominator 8 gig PC2-8500 l 2 - Intel X-25M 80 gb SSD Raid 0 l WD 1 -2TB & 2 -1TB l On board sound l Antec TruePower Quattro TPQ-1200 1200W l Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit l 3 X Dell E248WFP 24" Monitors
Airbrushkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-05, 04:05 PM   #5
Rakeesh
 
Rakeesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 6,873
Default Re: leadtek 6600gt maybe overheated and broke

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=59004
__________________
Want to listen to audio without your computer going to sleep? Try this.

Core i7 2600k 4.4Ghz 1.385v | Corsair H60 | 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 8-8-8-24 | MSI P67A-G45 | OCZ Vertex 3 | Sapphire 7850 OC to Max settings

Rakeesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-05, 04:52 PM   #6
rob1234
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 12
Default Re: leadtek 6600gt maybe overheated and broke

Just off the top of my head.

I've rma'd my last motherboard 3 times cause I had a bad powersupply that kept frying it. I rma'd my geforce2 video card a long time ago cause it was doa. With my current setup %80 of the time when I start my computer it won't recognize my diamondmax10 drive and I'll have to shut it on and off 20 times before it works. My left klipisch promedia speaker didn't work half the time for about 3 years until last month when I figured out that the control unit was just dusty inside. My razor mouse made a high pitched squeak every click from the plastic rubbing together. My msi 6600gt idle temp was 85. My hardcano13 had to be rma'd because the battery connection wasn't very good and it would keep resetting itself. My old floppy drive would corrupt any disk that you tried to use in it. I had a cd burner that broke. My xbox fried last month when the gpu fan stopped working. And, my roommates ferret ate my joystick buttons.


Anyway, I think I'll rma it tomorrow. Thanks for replies.
rob1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.