Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-12-03, 08:03 PM   #1
ninelven
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 132
Default GeForceFX ram speed

Took the model number from the MSI pic, K4V26323?E-GC20, and visted samsung's semiconductor site. Used the handy part number decoder they have there to check the specifications. Here is the link.

Here is the info broken down:

K4V26323?E - GC20

K - Memory Component
4 - DRAM
V - VRAM
26 -128M, 4K/32ms (density/refresh)
32 - x32 (organization)
3 - 4Bank (bank)
? - could be a 1 or I (Interface, VDD, VDDQ)
1 - TTL,5.0V,5.0V
I - SSTL-2 DLL,2.5V,2.5V
E - 6th generation (generation)
G - FBGA (package)
C - Commercial/Normal (temp/power)
20 - DDR SGRAM II 2ns (speed)

I don't know how or if you can determine the ram speed from the numbers, but I thought it would be interesting so I looked them up.

Ninelven
ninelven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-03, 08:19 PM   #2
Bigus Dickus
GF7 FX Ti 12800 SE Ultra
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 651
Default

The last one is the important one.

2 nanosecond ram has a maximum speed of (1)/(20 ns/cycle) = 500 MHz.
__________________
IMO, Mr. Derek Smart is a hypocrite: Only someone who is either (a) lying (b) ashamed of their products (c) just plain ashamed, would hestitate to give out some simple and straight forward information. - Derek Smart, Ph.D.
Bigus Dickus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-03, 10:43 PM   #3
ReDeeMeR
The Guy Next Door *wink*
 
ReDeeMeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 605
Send a message via ICQ to ReDeeMeR
Default

So it already runs it's maximum? Hmm Geforce4 2,8ns could reach 700mhz np out of the box. Can you say "NO O/C"
ReDeeMeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-03, 02:08 AM   #4
nutball
International God of Sex
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: en.gb.uk
Posts: 655
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ReDeeMeR
So it already runs it's maximum? Hmm Geforce4 2,8ns could reach 700mhz np out of the box. Can you say "NO O/C"
Explain to me, in detail, how you reach that conclusion?
__________________
Got nuts?
nutball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-03, 05:54 AM   #5
zakelwe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 768
Default

You'd expect to at least get some overclock as that figure is just the rated speed. Whether a similar percentage improvement can be done with faster and faster speeds is difficult to determine at present unless someone has experience of using this sort of memory.

At present I'd rather have a gpu that overclocks well and a cpu that doesn't limit the card than worry too much about extra bandwidth as I tend not to use very high resolutions with multiple AA / AF setings.
zakelwe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-03, 09:45 AM   #6
Bigus Dickus
GF7 FX Ti 12800 SE Ultra
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 651
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nutball
Explain to me, in detail, how you reach that conclusion?
OK, but this might get really complicated.

2.8 ns = 715 MHz maximum speed (DDR), therefore with a lower initial clock reaching 700 MHz isn't that difficult.

2.0 ns = 1 GHz maximum speed (DDR), therefore with an initial speed of 1 GHz pushing it further will be more difficult.



Whew, that took some effort.
__________________
IMO, Mr. Derek Smart is a hypocrite: Only someone who is either (a) lying (b) ashamed of their products (c) just plain ashamed, would hestitate to give out some simple and straight forward information. - Derek Smart, Ph.D.
Bigus Dickus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-03, 10:00 AM   #7
spectre
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 12
Default Re: GeForceFX ram speed

Quote:
Originally posted by ninelven
Took the model number from the MSI pic, K4V26323?E-GC20, and visted samsung's semiconductor site. Used the handy part number decoder they have there to check the specifications. Here is the link.

Here is the info broken down:

K4V26323?E - GC20

K - Memory Component
4 - DRAM
V - VRAM
26 -128M, 4K/32ms (density/refresh)
32 - x32 (organization)
3 - 4Bank (bank)
? - could be a 1 or I (Interface, VDD, VDDQ)
1 - TTL,5.0V,5.0V
I - SSTL-2 DLL,2.5V,2.5V
E - 6th generation (generation)
G - FBGA (package)
C - Commercial/Normal (temp/power)
20 - DDR SGRAM II 2ns (speed)

I don't know how or if you can determine the ram speed from the numbers, but I thought it would be interesting so I looked them up.

Ninelven
Burn-in means anything to you ?

Either way, I presume FX's main problem is its lacking memory bandwidth. Here we have a poor 128-bit controller (Z occlusion culling simply cannot magically give 48Gbs memory bandwidth when actually it's 16Gbs) and nVidia's only viable solution would be to increase GPU and memory clocks to their max potential in order to achieve better performance than ATi's Radeon9700 Pro.

Things aren't going very well for nVidia -IMHO, hope I'll prove wrong cause strong competition means better and cheaper products.
__________________
spectre
spectre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-03, 10:00 AM   #8
nutball
International God of Sex
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: en.gb.uk
Posts: 655
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Bigus Dickus
Whew, that took some effort. [/b]
__________________
Got nuts?
nutball is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-13-03, 10:34 AM   #9
R.Carter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 138
Default Re: GeForceFX ram speed

Quote:
Originally posted by ninelven
? - could be a 1 or I (Interface, VDD, VDDQ)
1 - TTL,5.0V,5.0V
I - SSTL-2 DLL,2.5V,2.5V
Can't see them using 5.0V.
R.Carter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-03, 10:51 AM   #10
volt
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 1,556
Default

hey 5 volts ain't much!
__________________
[b]Optimization guidelines by Koji Ashida of NVIDIA:[/b][list][*]Use fx12 instructions whenever possible[*]Use lowest pixel shader version[/list][url=http://developer.nvidia.com/docs/IO/10878/ChinaJoy2004_OptimizationAndTools.pdf]source[/url]

[size=1]The politics are invading the technology. We don't really like to mess with politics because that kind of adversarial relationship has nothing to do with pure technical operations and the technical specifications of what we like to play with, the hardware![/size]
volt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-03, 12:24 PM   #11
Lezmaka
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Indy
Posts: 614
Default

Here's a link to the ram used on card in the MSI pictures...

http://www.samsungelectronics.com/se...k4n26323ae.htm
Lezmaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What You Can Expect From GeForce GRID News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 04:20 PM
Enhance Max Payne 3, Diablo III with GeForce R300 Drivers News Archived News Items 0 05-22-12 06:30 PM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 01:50 PM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.