Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-19-05, 01:32 PM   #1
Slyder
AMD + Nv = pro gaming rig
 
Slyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Coventry / England
Posts: 746
Default Dual 6600GTwoes...

Now I am worried.

Ive been playing all my fave games on my new rig and have never liked the way it rendered the graphics. My old FX5700 was much more nicer when moving. My current 6600 displayed what could only be described as a ripple effect when moving which was maybe an inch in width and would travel up and down the entire lenght of the screen. This was very noticeable when sidestepping in front of a wall. I first noticed this on Doom 3 and FEAR. Tonight I am hoping to prove what I suspect. A faulty card. Note this effect would just stop if I stood still and everything would look fine.

While downloading a new driver for something, the screen on my monitor when blank and came back on. This happened near enough every 3 seconds (but the green light on the monitor stayed on it did not turn amber. Then the picture went all blue, it was like looking at the Matrix code in blue and finally a strange effect which I thought would be best desrcribed if pictured.



I am really tempted to just try another gfx card. I have never liked this so called upgrade but the card came with the m/b so it would be easier to bite the bullet on this one.
__________________
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI - Bios F11
AMD Athlon 64 3500+@2.2
2gig RAM DDR333 (PC2700) 4 x 512 Corsair Value Select (CL 2.5)
Maxtor 6Y080L0 7200rpm 80 gig DiamondMax Plus 9 HDD
Gigabyte Dual 6600GT SLI Enabled
CTX VL701B 17ins CRT 0.27dpi 72khz MPRII Black
Creative Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
BenQ DW1655 LS DVD-Rewriter with BCDB f/w (ohh yes, get on)
LiteOn 48246S CD writer with SS0E f/w
NTL 10 meg cable connection thru Ambit 250 modem. Ethernet connected
Linksys BEFSR41 v3 router with 1.05.00 f/w
Enermax 535 watts SLI-Ready PSU
XP pro with SP2
Playing multiplayer games online and lan enabled untill the day we die.


What I think of the word Blog
Slyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-05, 08:51 PM   #2
JellyStones
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2
Default Re: Dual 6600GTwoes...

ok for your first problem with the tearing in games....is vsync turned on?
JellyStones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-05, 03:35 AM   #3
Slyder
AMD + Nv = pro gaming rig
 
Slyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Coventry / England
Posts: 746
Default Re: Dual 6600GTwoes...

Quote:
Originally Posted by JellyStones
ok for your first problem with the tearing in games....is vsync turned on?
Tried both on and off in the games and I get the same result.
__________________
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI - Bios F11
AMD Athlon 64 3500+@2.2
2gig RAM DDR333 (PC2700) 4 x 512 Corsair Value Select (CL 2.5)
Maxtor 6Y080L0 7200rpm 80 gig DiamondMax Plus 9 HDD
Gigabyte Dual 6600GT SLI Enabled
CTX VL701B 17ins CRT 0.27dpi 72khz MPRII Black
Creative Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
BenQ DW1655 LS DVD-Rewriter with BCDB f/w (ohh yes, get on)
LiteOn 48246S CD writer with SS0E f/w
NTL 10 meg cable connection thru Ambit 250 modem. Ethernet connected
Linksys BEFSR41 v3 router with 1.05.00 f/w
Enermax 535 watts SLI-Ready PSU
XP pro with SP2
Playing multiplayer games online and lan enabled untill the day we die.


What I think of the word Blog
Slyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-05, 12:52 PM   #4
Slyder
AMD + Nv = pro gaming rig
 
Slyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Coventry / England
Posts: 746
Default Re: Dual 6600GTwoes...

next...
__________________
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI - Bios F11
AMD Athlon 64 3500+@2.2
2gig RAM DDR333 (PC2700) 4 x 512 Corsair Value Select (CL 2.5)
Maxtor 6Y080L0 7200rpm 80 gig DiamondMax Plus 9 HDD
Gigabyte Dual 6600GT SLI Enabled
CTX VL701B 17ins CRT 0.27dpi 72khz MPRII Black
Creative Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
BenQ DW1655 LS DVD-Rewriter with BCDB f/w (ohh yes, get on)
LiteOn 48246S CD writer with SS0E f/w
NTL 10 meg cable connection thru Ambit 250 modem. Ethernet connected
Linksys BEFSR41 v3 router with 1.05.00 f/w
Enermax 535 watts SLI-Ready PSU
XP pro with SP2
Playing multiplayer games online and lan enabled untill the day we die.


What I think of the word Blog
Slyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-05, 01:32 PM   #5
Salamandar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Amman, Jordan
Posts: 536
Default Re: Dual 6600GTwoes...

Tearing in games Problem, I had this problem 4 years ago using 2 cards, one was a geforce3 and one was an ATI 9500 card.
All I did is replacing the card by another vendors, the Geforce 3 was Hercules switched to Gainward, the ATI 9500 was ATI switched to Herculese ATI 9700.
Vsync on or off didn't work at all.
__________________
Bann me cause I don't give a **** you SOBs.
I Hate hetler because he didn't finish you all.

**** YOU ALL
Salamandar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-05, 02:30 PM   #6
mx125race
Registered User
 
mx125race's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to mx125race Send a message via MSN to mx125race
Default Re: Dual 6600GTwoes...

im not impressed with my 6600 coming from a 5200FX...

its might be faulty, hope u can sort it out...
mx125race is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-05, 11:50 AM   #7
Slyder
AMD + Nv = pro gaming rig
 
Slyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Coventry / England
Posts: 746
Default Re: Dual 6600GTwoes...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Salamandar
Tearing in games Problem, I had this problem 4 years ago using 2 cards, one was a geforce3 and one was an ATI 9500 card.
All I did is replacing the card by another vendors, the Geforce 3 was Hercules switched to Gainward, the ATI 9500 was ATI switched to Herculese ATI 9700.
Vsync on or off didn't work at all.
Would my problem in games be classed as tearing then ? Im seriously considering buying a new 6600.
__________________
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI - Bios F11
AMD Athlon 64 3500+@2.2
2gig RAM DDR333 (PC2700) 4 x 512 Corsair Value Select (CL 2.5)
Maxtor 6Y080L0 7200rpm 80 gig DiamondMax Plus 9 HDD
Gigabyte Dual 6600GT SLI Enabled
CTX VL701B 17ins CRT 0.27dpi 72khz MPRII Black
Creative Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
BenQ DW1655 LS DVD-Rewriter with BCDB f/w (ohh yes, get on)
LiteOn 48246S CD writer with SS0E f/w
NTL 10 meg cable connection thru Ambit 250 modem. Ethernet connected
Linksys BEFSR41 v3 router with 1.05.00 f/w
Enermax 535 watts SLI-Ready PSU
XP pro with SP2
Playing multiplayer games online and lan enabled untill the day we die.


What I think of the word Blog
Slyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-05, 12:11 PM   #8
darkrider01
A little rough at first
 
darkrider01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The DEEP South - North Carolina
Posts: 483
Cool Re: Dual 6600GTwoes...

What resolution and refresh are your running your desktop and games at?

Just an idea, but I would take your cards out, switch their places, and reseat them. Put card one in slot 2, card two in slot one... Anyway, that is what I would try. I have seen reseating cards take care of lots of problems.
__________________
School Bus - Intel i7 4770K * ASRock Z87 Extreme6/AC * EVGA GTX 590 * Kingston HyperX Beast 16GB 2400MHz DDR3* Alienware TactX Keyboard * RAZER Mamba * Pioneer DVR-212D * Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD * 10+TB Other Storage * Ultra X3 1000W PSU * Dell U2913WM * Beats by Dr. Dre headphones * Klipsch Promedia 2.1 * Cooler Master HAF XB * Cooler Master Hyper N520 * Windows 7 Ultimate
Mass Transit - Xeon E3-1275 V2 * G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 * EVGA GTX660 * Kingston HyperX 3K 120GB SSD * Seagate Momentus XT 750GB * Dell 2001FP * Viewsonic VX2250 * Creative X-Fi Surround 5.1 * Windows 7 Ultimate
RV - Alienware M18x * i7 2670QM * Dual 560 GTX * 1.25TB Storage * Windows 7 Ultimate
Van by the River - Panasonic PT-AX200U * Homebrew 9' x 5' screen * Pioneer VSX-1121-K * Bose Acoustimass 6 * Velodyne VX10 Subwoofer * PS3/Xbox/Xbox360/Wii/WiiU/DirecTV HR22
Packin HEAT
darkrider01 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-21-05, 01:09 PM   #9
Salamandar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Amman, Jordan
Posts: 536
Default Re: Dual 6600GTwoes...

Try to play using one card........ then try the other.
__________________
Bann me cause I don't give a **** you SOBs.
I Hate hetler because he didn't finish you all.

**** YOU ALL
Salamandar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-05, 03:02 PM   #10
rohit
Awaiting WGF 2.0
 
rohit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,174
Default Re: Dual 6600GTwoes...

WHats your PSU like? Total watts, AMps on +12v rail, make?
And is this the gigabyte 3D1 card. that came bundled with ur mobo? (3d1 = 2 6600GT's on the same card)
This happens only in windows or even on startup?
2nd i would suggest to update the mobo BIOS. and re-seat the card.
__________________
|C.P.U : s939 AMD Athlon64 3200+ (newcastle) |
|MoBo : ASUS A8V Deluxe ||RAM: [512 x 2]MB Transcend DDR400 (pc3200) |
|V.G.A : LeadTek a400GT TDH (350/1000) [GeForce 6800GT] |
|Sound: RealTek Integrated. |
|P.S.U : PowerSafe 450w |
|MISC.: Logitech Cordless DUO(MX700 + Wireless Keyboard)||Lite-On DVD CD-RW Combo 52x16x52
|3dMark'05: 4893 [@ 350/1000]
rohit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-05, 03:28 PM   #11
Slyder
AMD + Nv = pro gaming rig
 
Slyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Coventry / England
Posts: 746
Default Re: Dual 6600GTwoes...

Enermax 535 watts...
Rails EG535AX-VE FMA 2.0
+12v1 18A / +12v2 18A / 34A on the 12v rail in total.
-12v 0.8A
+5v 32A
+5v sb 2.5A
+3.3v 32A

I have only seen these funky colours once in windows, havnt seen them recently.

@ darkrider01 & Salamandar - My 6600 is a dual card. It has 2 cpu's on one card but unlocks all the SLI features. Resolution in games is normally default and I always play at 1024*768 (something my old FX5700 was very able to do)
__________________
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI - Bios F11
AMD Athlon 64 3500+@2.2
2gig RAM DDR333 (PC2700) 4 x 512 Corsair Value Select (CL 2.5)
Maxtor 6Y080L0 7200rpm 80 gig DiamondMax Plus 9 HDD
Gigabyte Dual 6600GT SLI Enabled
CTX VL701B 17ins CRT 0.27dpi 72khz MPRII Black
Creative Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
BenQ DW1655 LS DVD-Rewriter with BCDB f/w (ohh yes, get on)
LiteOn 48246S CD writer with SS0E f/w
NTL 10 meg cable connection thru Ambit 250 modem. Ethernet connected
Linksys BEFSR41 v3 router with 1.05.00 f/w
Enermax 535 watts SLI-Ready PSU
XP pro with SP2
Playing multiplayer games online and lan enabled untill the day we die.


What I think of the word Blog
Slyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-05, 03:37 PM   #12
rohit
Awaiting WGF 2.0
 
rohit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,174
Default Re: Dual 6600GTwoes...

Yeh you have the 3d1 card.

ur prob. sounds pretty much similar of what i read earlier somewhere.
what that person did was accidentally update the mobo bios, and grafical curroption went away.
If the problem persists, you should RMA it.
__________________
|C.P.U : s939 AMD Athlon64 3200+ (newcastle) |
|MoBo : ASUS A8V Deluxe ||RAM: [512 x 2]MB Transcend DDR400 (pc3200) |
|V.G.A : LeadTek a400GT TDH (350/1000) [GeForce 6800GT] |
|Sound: RealTek Integrated. |
|P.S.U : PowerSafe 450w |
|MISC.: Logitech Cordless DUO(MX700 + Wireless Keyboard)||Lite-On DVD CD-RW Combo 52x16x52
|3dMark'05: 4893 [@ 350/1000]
rohit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best video card for running dual displays? nutsnbolts NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 10 09-03-02 02:02 PM
Help with dual monitors in Windows 2000 Hellfire NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 11 09-03-02 08:23 AM
How do I get Dual Head working? Heath NVIDIA Linux 1 08-22-02 12:44 PM
Suse 8.0 Dual display on Quadro 4 700XGL TheCowStir NVIDIA Linux 3 08-10-02 12:16 PM
Dual Monitor cards GF2 or GF4 Geoinfo SRL NVIDIA Linux 15 08-06-02 04:48 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.