Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-27-05, 12:58 PM   #1
Vlammend
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Unhappy screen in standbye

I am now using Linux for 1 year, Ubuntu AMD64. I have never been able to succesfully install the linuxdrivers for my NVidia Geforce 5700 FX Ultra.

I have tried different proposed solutions, from the forums of Ubuntu, but also of this forum. (from a black-screen? thread) I am starting a new thread because I am not sure if a black screen means the same as standbye. Searching on standbye gives only a non-relevant thread.

After installation of the driver, whatever method I use, my screen always goes into standbye. Linux is still running, but the screen does not get a signal which it can use.

Computer:
current distro: Ubuntu 5.10 Breezy, AMD64 version
Graphics card: XFX Geforce 5700FX Ultra, 128 mb, dual DVI
Monitors: 2x Philips 170B4 17" TFT
Mainboard: MSI K8N Neo motherboard nForce3 250Gb
RAM: 1024Mb

I tried lot's off different xorg.conf. I attached the log of the latest attempt. I also attched a file made from
modprobe -c |grep nv

While attaching the nvidia-bug-report.log I noticed it is to big and I also thing not good since I see the nv-driver mentioned in it. I Will make a new one and reply it in this thread.

I do hope the problem can be solved so I use twinview.
Attached Files
File Type: txt Xorg.0.log.txt (33.6 KB, 104 views)
File Type: txt modprobe.txt (9.4 KB, 103 views)
__________________
In the future, people will continue to be dumb!!
Vlammend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-05, 01:07 PM   #2
Vlammend
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Default Re: screen in standbye

Here is the bugreport:
Attached Files
File Type: txt bug-report-part1.txt (61.1 KB, 110 views)
File Type: txt bug-report-part2.txt (41.4 KB, 107 views)
__________________
In the future, people will continue to be dumb!!
Vlammend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-05, 06:27 PM   #3
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: screen in standbye

According to your bug report you have two DFPs and one TV connected, and the TV is being used as the output device. Beyond that, I don't see anything unusual.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-05, 01:17 AM   #4
Vlammend
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Default Re: screen in standbye

Thank you!
I do not have a TV connected, so being quite a Linux newbie. How do I tell the card to use a different output?

I did try in the past:
Code:
Option "NvAGP" "0"
Option "RenderAccel" "Off"
Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "DFP,TV"
Option "NoRenderExtension" "Off"
Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" “Off”
and
Code:
Option "RenderAccel" "Off"
Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "DFP,TV"
Option "NoRenderExtension" "Off"
Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" “Off”
I I guess I'll have to try it with
Code:
Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "TV"
First?

Will try this, this evening.
__________________
In the future, people will continue to be dumb!!
Vlammend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-05, 10:00 AM   #5
djfuzz
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 18
Default Re: screen in standbye

Could u post your configuration file?

Did u try:
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "string"

U can force the driver to use an specifick monitor, read this file for futher info:
ftp://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Li...676/README.txt
__________________
Linux rig (JukeboXz): 800Mhz pIII/Core dist V.2.6.13/SB Live 5.1/Geforce fx5200/256MB mem/Pinnacle SAT CI DVB card
ME = NOT RUNNING FEDORA CORE IM RUNNING: Core Dist!
djfuzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-05, 10:31 AM   #6
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: screen in standbye

djfuzz, he already did post his configuration, its in the bug report. He is using the ConnectedMonitor option.

Vlammend,
Please try using the "IgnoreDisplayDevices" option, and then start X with the following command:
startx -- -logverbose 5

and if the problem persists, generate and post a new bug report.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-05, 02:21 PM   #7
Vlammend
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Default Re: screen in standbye

Well I can use the nvidia driver now. But not everything is ok already. It is a start however.

startx -- -logverbose5 did not work. Then I tried some things with other options. (spaces, removing -'s etc etc) when I tried
startx -display DPS2 I saw a fail, I do not know the exact phrase anymore. but it told me it could not contact the display. So I turned on the other monitor.
When I did that however, already after using several times xstart, my system hang. After restart it worked with the nvidia driver. (I normally had both monitors on when trying to get the driver to work)

However, now CTRL-ALT-F1 crashes my system, which it never did before!! But I tried so many things that something might have become mixed up. (I am saying this as a Linux n00bie, which I am)
__________________
In the future, people will continue to be dumb!!
Vlammend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-05, 02:26 PM   #8
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: screen in standbye

Vlammend,
You need a space before the '5' in the command.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-28-05, 02:33 PM   #9
Vlammend
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Default Re: screen in standbye

I tried that too!
When using (or the like)
startx -h |more
startx --h |more

I saw no logverbose in the options list.
__________________
In the future, people will continue to be dumb!!
Vlammend is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RHEL 5.6 .nvidia-settings-rc settings un-applied on screen lock bluziff NVIDIA Linux 1 06-14-12 05:12 AM
Black screen after switching between graphical virtual consoles five times rrr-wtf NVIDIA Linux 1 05-21-12 04:40 PM
Stubborn screen res problem Alpsoandso NVIDIA Linux 6 05-03-12 06:00 PM
Toshiba Sat 1950 screen setup beaulieu NVIDIA Linux 7 06-13-03 03:17 PM
Redhat 8.0 NVIDIA works - INSTRUCTIONS STEEL1 NVIDIA Linux 267 04-15-03 06:48 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.