Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-28-03, 11:07 PM   #1
tvtp_public
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
Default Help setup nvidia with Dell I8500

Hi all,

I need help to setup the NVIDIA® GeForceTM 4 4200 Go with 64 MB DDR video memory on my Dell Inspiron 8500 to support 1920x1200 resolution

I am using redhat linux 9 and i am just learn linux. If anybody can help me out i really appreciate that. If you can show me step by step it would helpful

Thanks

note: i already installed redhat 9 on my dell I8500

My email: tvtp_public@yahoo.com
tvtp_public is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-03, 01:26 AM   #2
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

Step 1: Visit http://www.nvidia.com/view.asp?IO=li..._ia32_1.0-4363

Step 2: Grab the README.

Step 3: Download the installer.

Step 4: Run the installer per the instructions in the README.

Step 5: Edit your XF86Config file per the instructions in the README.

Step 6: Create a modeline for 1920x1200 for your panel. I've successfully used
Code:
        Modeline "1920x1200"  162 1920 2020 2052 2184
                              1200 1202 1208 1235 +Hsync +Vsync
but you should make sure that it's correct for your panel before you try it. An incorrect modeline can damage your panel. To try this one, put it in your XF86Config file next to the other modelines.

Step 7: Add "1920x1200" to your Modes list (make it the first one).

Step 8: 'startx'

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-03, 01:27 AM   #3
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

To create other modelines, you can use 'gtf', which should have been installed on your system.

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-03, 08:49 AM   #4
tvtp_public
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
Default Andy: Appreciate your response

Hi Andy,

I really appreciate your response, i will try it hopefully i don't make any mistake to burn my display.

Thanks again
tvtp_public is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-03, 10:23 PM   #5
tvtp_public
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
Default Still having problem to setup my dell I8500

Hi Andy,

Would you help me out.

I try to follow the step that you showed me but i still could not get the resolution 1920x1200

I have attached my XF86Config and XFree86.0.log file.

I have another question, when run 'gtf' to get the modeline what kind of refresh rate should i put in ?

I tried gtf 1920 1200 80hz and get the modeline to put in my XF86Config

please help me out, i had my dell for more than 2 weeks but could not get it up, it's really frustrated

Again, thanks for your time and your consideration
Attached Files
File Type: log config-log.log (34.2 KB, 130 views)
tvtp_public is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-03, 11:18 PM   #6
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

Huh. You're getting some funny output. Can you try
Code:
startx -- -logverbose 5
and attach that log here? According to
Quote:
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode "1920x1200" (width 1920 is larger than
(WW) NVIDIA(0): EDID-specified maximum 1280)
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode "640x480" (height 960 is larger than
(WW) NVIDIA(0): EDID-specified maximum 800)
your panel is only capable of 1280x800. I'd like to see what your EDID says.

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-03, 11:36 PM   #7
tvtp_public
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
Default my new log file

Attached is my log file when run

startx -- -logverbose 5
Attached Files
File Type: txt xfree86.0.log.txt (33.2 KB, 138 views)
tvtp_public is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-03, 11:38 PM   #8
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

Quote:
(II) NVIDIA(0): EDID reported maximum dimensions for display device DFP-0:
(II) NVIDIA(0): width : 1280
(II) NVIDIA(0): height : 800
The maximum resolution your panel supports is 1280x800.

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-05-03, 07:10 PM   #9
tvtp_public
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks Andy,

I did not know that my dell only support 1280x800. when order online i thought it's suppose to support 3 mode including 1920x1200, i gonna call them back

Again, thanks alot for your help
tvtp_public is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-03, 07:55 PM   #10
omv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 40
Default

I'd recommend using the ignoreedid option. I have to do this to get my T210 to work, since the monitor spews out bad edids for the DVI port.

drop this in your device section.

Option "IgnoreEDID" "yes"

you might also want to use this one to force X to use the flatpannel port, but its probably not necessary.

Option "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP"

There's no way in heck your 8500 has a 1280x800 display.


EDIT: My mistake - that is a legal configuration - dell musta changed it since I was shopping for one. Do you only get 1280x800 in windows?!

Last edited by omv; 05-05-03 at 08:01 PM.
omv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-03, 07:57 PM   #11
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

Quote:
There's no way in heck your 8500 has a 1280x800 display.
The 8500s *did* ship with a 1280x800 display - it's the XGA panel option on Dell's website. Ignoring EDIDs can fry your panel.

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Precision 690 with a nVidia Quadro 3450 Cr0t NVIDIA Linux 9 08-16-12 02:53 PM
Need Help Installing NVIDIA Tesla M2070Q in Linux RHEL5 Ferianto85 NVIDIA Linux 0 05-18-12 08:35 PM
Getting X up on Dell Inspiron 2650 with NVIDIA GEFOrce 2 GO tmsriram NVIDIA Linux 4 08-15-02 07:34 PM
rh7.3 and nvidia vcrispo NVIDIA Linux 11 07-31-02 08:57 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.