Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-14-03, 10:55 PM   #1
exitsfunnel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2
Default Monitor Resolution

Hello,

I'm a new Linux user. I've recently installed RedHat 7.2 on a brand new Dell 8250 which includes an NVIDIA GeForec4 MX Video Card. Of course I couldn't run the XServer with the installed drivers so I downloaded the appropriate tarballs, ran make and at long last I've got X Running - life is good!

One small problem though . The monitor displays at 800X600. How can I increase the resolution? I would imagine that I've got to edit XF86Config-4 but I'm not sure exactly what changes to make. I"ve attached the file if anyone wants to try to take a look at it. I tried changing the 'Modes' line near the end to '1400x1050' but not only did it not work but it necesitated remaking the Nvidia Drivers so I'm reluctant to monkey with it further. The monitor is a cheap old 17" Digiview. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance!

-exits
exitsfunnel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-03, 04:55 AM   #2
LordMorgul
Electrical Engineer
 
LordMorgul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Posts: 872
Default

First verify that your monitor is configured correctly, with the proper refresh rates listed in the config file.

Then the format of the file for changing resolutions is:

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "NVIDIA GeForce 4 ti4400"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "2048x1536" "1600x1200" "1400x1050" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "2048x1536" "1920x1440" "1600x1200" "1400x1050" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

If this is done, and the monitor is capable of the highest res, it will use the highest res in the DefaultDepth Display SubSection. The important thing is that if your monitor cant handle the res (even if linux THINKS your monitor cant handle the res) it will go down until it finds one you can use. So if the scan ranges are wrong for your monitor it will not load certain resolutions and refresh rates.
LordMorgul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-03, 07:10 AM   #3
exitsfunnel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2
Default

This worked! Thanks a lot.

-exits
exitsfunnel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.