Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-21-05, 08:41 PM   #1
SquireSCA
Gun-Monkey
 
SquireSCA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 362
Default I am ready to kill

I have been reading up on this is many forums, and while it does not effect everyone, it is a pretty well documented bug with the Nforce4 chipset.

Pertaining to data corruption and SATA drives. I had the issue with a Maxtor, where not only was there corruption, but having the system hard lock whenever you did a lot of copying to the drive. System would just freeze. No BSOD, but a freeze, and upon rebooted there was a disk error, either 51 or 11 in the Event Log.

But many of the reports said it was mainly with Maxtor drives, but I am seeing more and more issues with other drives. But I went and replaced the Maxtor with a 400GB Hitachi.

Worked fine for a few days, but today I went to copy about 40GB of files from an external drive to the SATA drive, and twice tonight the system hard locked.

I disabled NCQ in the Device Manager, it still locks when heavily loading the DMA controller.

WHere there is this much smoke, there has to be fire, even if not everyone is effected by it.

Can we see how many people here are having this trouble?

I am so beside myself that I have over $2000 invested in this mobo, CPU and SLI rig alone, and I appear to be stable as a rock during hours of gaming, and no issues when running Prime95, SuperPI 32M and Sisoft CPU Burn-in wizard all night long... But try to copy large amounts of data to a SATA drive, and the system locks.

I know that there is a bug in the chipset. When is NVidia going to address it?
__________________
Coolermaster Centurion5 w/Antec NeoHE 550W
Asus P5B Deluxe/Core2Quad 6600 at 2.4Ghz
4GB Corsair TwinX DDR2 800Mhz
BFG 8800GT OC Edition
Gateway 24" LCD
Dell 2005FPW 20.1" LCD
Creative Labs X-Fi/Logitech Z680 speakers
74GB WD Raptor/400GB Seagate SATA
Samsung 16x Dual-Layer DVDRW/Liteon 16X DVDROM
Vista 64bit
SquireSCA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-05, 08:51 PM   #2
SquireSCA
Gun-Monkey
 
SquireSCA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 362
Default Re: I am ready to kill

Man this has me angry. People complain all the time about how "Microsoft releases buggy software and let's their customers beta-test it for them"...

How is this kind of crap any different? A chipset that has a flaw like this is inexcusable. SATA is the norm today, not some 2 week old emerging technology. But they are so concerned with sticking to schedules and making sure that their product, buggy or not gets out before ATI, that we get crap like this.
__________________
Coolermaster Centurion5 w/Antec NeoHE 550W
Asus P5B Deluxe/Core2Quad 6600 at 2.4Ghz
4GB Corsair TwinX DDR2 800Mhz
BFG 8800GT OC Edition
Gateway 24" LCD
Dell 2005FPW 20.1" LCD
Creative Labs X-Fi/Logitech Z680 speakers
74GB WD Raptor/400GB Seagate SATA
Samsung 16x Dual-Layer DVDRW/Liteon 16X DVDROM
Vista 64bit
SquireSCA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-05, 09:00 PM   #3
newls1
Registered User
 
newls1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 596
Default Re: I am ready to kill

are u using the installed microsoft ide drivers, or are you installing the nvidia IDE SW drivers? If you installing the nvidia drivers, i'll bet my FX57 PC that is your problem.
__________________
ASUS P5Q-PRO @ 408FSB / Q6700 @ 3.71GHz AIR COOLED / eVGA GTX295 @ 725c*1585s*2400mem / 4GB G.SKILL PC8500 @ DDR1025 / AUDIGY4 / WD640GB / WD80GB / 28" Hanns-G 3ms LCD
newls1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-05, 09:03 PM   #4
SquireSCA
Gun-Monkey
 
SquireSCA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 362
Default Re: I am ready to kill

Why would that be the problem?

And again, head over to NVidia Forums and you will see a lot of people upset about this.

Many of them are claiming to *use* the NVidia drivers, not avoid them.

Here is just one thread of many, that has 10 pages and going on this issue:

http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=8171
__________________
Coolermaster Centurion5 w/Antec NeoHE 550W
Asus P5B Deluxe/Core2Quad 6600 at 2.4Ghz
4GB Corsair TwinX DDR2 800Mhz
BFG 8800GT OC Edition
Gateway 24" LCD
Dell 2005FPW 20.1" LCD
Creative Labs X-Fi/Logitech Z680 speakers
74GB WD Raptor/400GB Seagate SATA
Samsung 16x Dual-Layer DVDRW/Liteon 16X DVDROM
Vista 64bit
SquireSCA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-05, 10:08 PM   #5
SquireSCA
Gun-Monkey
 
SquireSCA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 362
Default Re: I am ready to kill

Uninstalled the NVidia IDE drivers, still locks when copying large amounts of data.

It is the *only* time that this system gives an error of any kind. The thing runs stable no matter what I throw at it, except for large file trasnfers.

NVidia is aware of the problem as they recalled the C51 boards for similar corruption issues.

It is a bad chipset, but it would hurt sales too much to openly admit it, so they are just remaining quiet and hoping that it doesn't effect too many people.

It's atrocious what they are doing.
__________________
Coolermaster Centurion5 w/Antec NeoHE 550W
Asus P5B Deluxe/Core2Quad 6600 at 2.4Ghz
4GB Corsair TwinX DDR2 800Mhz
BFG 8800GT OC Edition
Gateway 24" LCD
Dell 2005FPW 20.1" LCD
Creative Labs X-Fi/Logitech Z680 speakers
74GB WD Raptor/400GB Seagate SATA
Samsung 16x Dual-Layer DVDRW/Liteon 16X DVDROM
Vista 64bit
SquireSCA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-05, 12:59 AM   #6
Slyder
AMD + Nv = pro gaming rig
 
Slyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Coventry / England
Posts: 746
Default Re: I am ready to kill

Quote:
Originally Posted by SquireSCA
I know that there is a bug in the chipset. When is NVidia going to address it?
I always prefered my VIA chipset to my current Nforce4. Main reason is file corruption but on IDE HDD's. I defragged my backup drive for the first time in about 2 years last weekend and touch wood its been fine since.
__________________
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI - Bios F11
AMD Athlon 64 3500+@2.2
2gig RAM DDR333 (PC2700) 4 x 512 Corsair Value Select (CL 2.5)
Maxtor 6Y080L0 7200rpm 80 gig DiamondMax Plus 9 HDD
Gigabyte Dual 6600GT SLI Enabled
CTX VL701B 17ins CRT 0.27dpi 72khz MPRII Black
Creative Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
BenQ DW1655 LS DVD-Rewriter with BCDB f/w (ohh yes, get on)
LiteOn 48246S CD writer with SS0E f/w
NTL 10 meg cable connection thru Ambit 250 modem. Ethernet connected
Linksys BEFSR41 v3 router with 1.05.00 f/w
Enermax 535 watts SLI-Ready PSU
XP pro with SP2
Playing multiplayer games online and lan enabled untill the day we die.


What I think of the word Blog
Slyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-05, 01:27 AM   #7
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: I am ready to kill

I have noticed that to completely remove the nV IDE drivers, I had to reinstall the O.S. Driver cleaner didn't work, and add/remove still left the ide device driver in the system folder.

To be completely honost, the nV IDE drivers have alot of problems with some machines. I use them, but I know plenty of people that have had issues.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-05, 02:31 AM   #8
Superfly
Retired
 
Superfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: gone
Posts: 3,907
Default Re: I am ready to kill

just manually remove the files from system32
__________________
It is not how bad the problem is, but how badly it's hurting the person who has it......
Superfly is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-22-05, 06:48 AM   #9
SquireSCA
Gun-Monkey
 
SquireSCA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 362
Default Re: I am ready to kill

But I think that this goes deeper than mere drivers.

I believe it to be a problem with the chipset itself, and NVidia is trying to cover it up by ignoring it so that they do not have a class action lawsuit on their hands. They saw what such a suit did to IBM's hard drive division.

So they will leave a bunch of their customers out to dry and unfortunatley I am one of them.

NVidia won't address this unless forced to financially. I wonder if we start gathering all of this information and start posting it at ATI fansites and get some of the major reviewers to bring more attention to it, and if maybe ATI starts calling attention to it, perhaps then NVidia will do something?
__________________
Coolermaster Centurion5 w/Antec NeoHE 550W
Asus P5B Deluxe/Core2Quad 6600 at 2.4Ghz
4GB Corsair TwinX DDR2 800Mhz
BFG 8800GT OC Edition
Gateway 24" LCD
Dell 2005FPW 20.1" LCD
Creative Labs X-Fi/Logitech Z680 speakers
74GB WD Raptor/400GB Seagate SATA
Samsung 16x Dual-Layer DVDRW/Liteon 16X DVDROM
Vista 64bit
SquireSCA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-05, 11:02 AM   #10
TimeOut
Illegal Inman Grant
 
TimeOut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 112
Default Re: I am ready to kill

To have a class action lawsuit you must have evidence of a defective design.
I read the whole 10 pages thread http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=8171 and I could see that most of the people over there who reported data corruption, either found out that their memory modules were faulty, their drives had issues or they simply solved their problem by replacing the motherboard for another one with NF4 chipset.

In my case, I have a NF4 Ultra (not SLI) motherboard with 2 300Gb Maxtor drivers in Raid 0, all nVidia drivers installed and running and I've never had any data corruption.
The only time I had issues of some kind was when I was overclocking my system. And it was only because I was pushing the overclock too far.
TimeOut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-05, 06:09 PM   #11
wheeljack12
Registered User
 
wheeljack12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hamilton,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 1,200
Send a message via Skype™ to wheeljack12
Default Re: I am ready to kill

I have had AMD and Intel based SLI Nvidia chipsets and there is definitely a fault somewhere. I can't use more than 3 Sata drives on the nvidia controller or I get Machine Exception BSODs in winxp pro and winxp pro x64 for both AMD and Intel based chipsets. Also, if I use a IDE drive at the same time as using a sata drive in any sata plug, The ide drives have to be on the secondary IDE controller or I get freezing and cd booting problems.
__________________
gigabyte g1.sniper 5 mb, 8gb ddr3-1866 mhz ram in dual channel,intel core i7 4790k 4.0 ghz quad core cpu, asus gtx 780 3gb vc,OCZ vector 150 240 gb ssd x 2 in raid 0 (intel raid),antec hcg-850 850 watt 80 plus bronze psu,corsair carbide 500r white case,pioneer bdr-208 15x bluray writer, steelseries 6gv2 keyboard ,seiki 39 inch 4k tv, logitech g502 mouse ,xbox 360 wired controller for windows,kingston 8gb usb 2.0 flash drive,windows 8.1 64 bit,creative labs sound blaster zxr pci-e sc,logitech s120 2.0 speakers

I'd rather walk with God in the Dark than shine in the light alone.
wheeljack12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-05, 11:37 PM   #12
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default Re: I am ready to kill

I wonder if using a PCI-E or PCI SATA controller might help instead of the onboard.
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$89.99 - COUGAR CMX 700 COUGAR-700CMX 700W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready News Archived News Items 0 06-26-12 06:10 AM
$89.99 - COUGAR CMX 700 COUGAR-700CMX 700W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready News Newegg RSS Feed 0 06-26-12 03:00 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.