Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-25-02, 03:12 AM   #1
nvnforcexp2000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2
Unhappy Red Hat and Intellimouse Optical

Hi I'm new to linux and I have been trying to get Mandrake 9.0 to work and I couldn't get past the "Checking Module Dependecies:" line and I just found out it's my mouse and the only way to get linux to boot is by not using my mouse, anybody knows how to fix this any help would be greatly appreciated
nvnforcexp2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-02, 08:54 AM   #2
Chalnoth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,293
Default

Well, it's probably a USB setup issue. I know that doesn't help a whole lot, but it's at least a place to start.
Chalnoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-02, 09:36 PM   #3
Mandarb1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 113
Default

Can you get into Linux using a regular PS/2 mouse?
Mandarb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-02, 11:19 PM   #4
nvnforcexp2000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2
Default

no it won't recognize my ps\2 mouse
nvnforcexp2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-03, 01:24 PM   #5
Wonder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5
Default

"gpm" may be your solution. I have slackware 8, and it doesn't like my logitech ps2/usb wheelmouse. So what they do for you is give you the option to load up some program called gpm or something like that. It acts as a buffer between your mouse, and the rest of the system. Gpm has some coolness, in that it enables you to cut and paste on the text mode screens linux originally comes up in. Then they gave me the incantation to get Xfree86 to get mouse input from gpm instead of directly from the mouse. So it's a little kludged, ok, but you really can't tell there's any extra delay or other retardation.

Do you want me to go dig into my slackware setup to get you the specific program names, and invocations? (it's at home, and I'm at work right now.)
Wonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-03, 12:43 PM   #6
mltngpot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Wonder

Do you want me to go dig into my slackware setup to get you the specific program names, and invocations? (it's at home, and I'm at work right now.)
yes please, i have the same problem with my mouseman wheel as well.
mltngpot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.