Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-12-03, 11:36 PM   #1
korogui
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4
Question I cant run Quake 3 in fullscreen

Hmmm, i cant run quake 3 in fullscreen mode,
I'm using Red Hat 8, with an geforce 2 mx400, and the lastest drivers from nVidia.

The game runs at full speed, with any resolution, but I just cant run it in fullscreen!

When I use the comand xvidtune, it says:

(Xlib: extension "XFree86-VidModeExtension" missing on display ":0.0".

Unable to query video extension version)

I think this is the problem, but I dont know how to solve it
korogui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-03, 04:41 AM   #2
Wolfman [TWP]
Geforce 8800 GTS 512
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 396
Default

In Quake 3's Setup/system/graphics screen.. Do you have Fullscreen set to ON?? (This is the only area that I can find in Q3A that relates to full screen.) If for some reason, Q3A resorted to software mode during the install/first_run, it may have defaulted to windowed mode. This is the only thing that I can suggest.

I have it running in full screen in all resolutions with the 4191 driver.
Wolfman [TWP] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-03, 07:45 AM   #3
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

What do your "ServerFlags" and "Module" sections look like in XF86Config(-4 if it exists)?

Additionally, what resolution are you running X at, and what are you running Q3 at? Are both of these resolutions listed in the Screen section, in the SubSection that matches the DefaultColorDepth?
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-03, 10:45 AM   #4
korogui
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4
Talking

He he! I solved the problem...

I was not loading the "extmod" module in the XF86Config, and the X server wasnt able to use Xtended features... Now it's running at 110fps in fullscreen mode!
korogui is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"GPU has fallen off the bus" error on 650M unless a CUDA program run first amonakov NVIDIA Linux 0 06-18-12 06:34 PM
Getting the proprietary nvidia driver to run with Debian 3.0 r0 (woody) Katchina404 NVIDIA Linux 9 01-12-03 08:49 AM
Doom 3 technology for Quake 1 Kruno Gaming Central 104 10-09-02 09:56 PM
TwinView, fullscreen on TV brosen NVIDIA Linux 2 10-08-02 10:29 AM
On The 333 Boards Does Anyone Run At 166fsb john19055 CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 22 07-30-02 07:39 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.