Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-28-05, 08:18 AM   #1
mikejac69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7
Default NVIDIA 6200A or 6200 TC

I recently requested a 6200A 256 Meg AGP 8X card, however I ended up recieving a 6200 TC 64 meg PCI-E / AGP 8X card, is there much of a difference or should I return the card to get the extra memory. As far as I am aware the Turbo Cacheing function is only available on the PCI-E architecture which my computer does not support and therefore I would be getting the same card with a quarter of the memory. For info, I have currently an FX5200 128Meg AGP 8X under Linux using the 8174 drivers.

Many thanks!

Happy New Year!
mikejac69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-05, 10:37 AM   #2
Gentle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Posts: 580
Default Re: NVIDIA 6200A or 6200 TC

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikejac69
I recently requested a 6200A 256 Meg AGP 8X card, however I ended up recieving a 6200 TC 64 meg PCI-E / AGP 8X card, is there much of a difference or should I return the card to get the extra memory. As far as I am aware the Turbo Cacheing function is only available on the PCI-E architecture which my computer does not support and therefore I would be getting the same card with a quarter of the memory. For info, I have currently an FX5200 128Meg AGP 8X under Linux using the 8174 drivers.

Many thanks!

Happy New Year!
Uh, I think you are confused?

If you currently are using an FX5200 AGP card, you need an AGP card to replace it.

The TurboCache video cards are PCIe *ONLY* as the functionality of the TurboCache is over the PCIe bus.

Yes, if you have received a PCIe card and only have an AGP slot, you need to return the PCIe card and get an AGP card.

PCI and PCIe are different technologies.

Gentle
Gentle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-05, 11:03 AM   #3
mikejac69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7
Default Re: NVIDIA 6200A or 6200 TC

Yes, I am a little confused, mostly by the box itself!! Upon reception I did curse the sender for ignoring my request and sending a card that was useless to me, however, on the box it states that it is compatible PCIe / AGP 8X which seems to imply some level of backwards compatability which surprised me a great deal since I was under the impression that AGP and PCIe architecture was very different! I am planning to give it a try on Friday, logically a Pcie caed that is non comp will not allow itself to be introduced into an AGP port, my major concern is the memory as I am getting only a quarter of the memory, for a non-hardcore gamer such as myself would I see a good sys increase from a 5200 with 128M?
mikejac69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-05, 11:29 AM   #4
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: NVIDIA 6200A or 6200 TC

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikejac69
on the box it states that it is compatible PCIe / AGP 8X
The box is wrong, plain and simple. The architectures and physical connections are completely different. I find it very suspect that a manufacturer would have such an egregious error on its packaging, unless of course, the card is from a non-mainstream company.

Can you take a picture of the box and post it here?
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-05, 11:47 AM   #5
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: NVIDIA 6200A or 6200 TC

The box is probably a universal one used for PCI-E and AGP cards. It doesnt mean its compatible with both, it means the box contains either a PCI-E or an AGP card. The card itself is useless to you anyway, so unless you buy another youll have to get that one replaced with an AGP card.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia 302.17 OpenGL not working 6200 PCI Archmbc NVIDIA Linux 1 06-18-12 11:23 AM
Need Help Installing NVIDIA Tesla M2070Q in Linux RHEL5 Ferianto85 NVIDIA Linux 0 05-18-12 08:35 PM
Rumor regarding lack of 680 availability ViN86 Rumor Mill 6 05-09-12 04:48 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.