Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-12-05, 09:52 PM   #1
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Pny Fx6200

I'm going to replace a fried FX5500 card, and I noticed that Best Buy has the FX6200 on sale for $71.00. I know that it has a slightly faster clock speed, and an extra video connector, but I was wondering if there is a downside to this particular card? I know there are better, but they aren't in my budget.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-05, 09:59 PM   #2
Infinity666
Yeah I like vw's so what?
 
Infinity666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane wa (Spocompton)
Posts: 679
Send a message via AIM to Infinity666 Send a message via MSN to Infinity666
Default Re: Pny Fx6200

the 6200 is a ok card but not for gaming, you wouldnt see much of a perfromance jump until you bought 6600gt/6800gt
__________________
Quote:
The internet is not a truck! The internet is a series of tubes! - Sen. Ted Stevens (R-AK)
|X2 5200+ |GigabyteGA-M61P-S3 | 1GB ddr2 533|Evga 7600gt|Sony dru-710a dvd+/- rw | Aspire 500w psu |Seagate 80gb|Seagate 250gb|

.....\____
..../__|__\___
....\(o)___(o)/
Infinity666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-05, 11:39 PM   #3
johnkeel105
Registered User
 
johnkeel105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Indiana
Posts: 454
Default Re: Pny Fx6200

well overall speed isnt that great but shader model 2.0 is improved massively. If you want to be able to run games that have shader model 2.0 it is a better card then the fx5500
__________________

Gaming Computer:
AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE 3.2GHz | GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P AM3 | OCZ Reaper HPC (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1600 | 1024MB Nvidia Geforce 550Ti | Western Digital 750 GB SATA HD | Western Digital 500GB SATA HD | Visiontek Killer 2100 | Creative Xi Fi Fata1ity | Ultra X3 600 Watt ATX Power Supply | Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

Windows 8 Rig:
AMD Phenom 9750 | 2x1024MB PC-6400 DDR2 | Nvidia GeForce 9800GTX+ | Seagate 80GB ATA HD |17" Samsung | Windows 8 Preview 32-bit

Gaming Laptop:
AMD Phenom II X4 N970 | 2x4096MB DDR3 | AMD Radeon HD 6650M 1GB DDR3 VRAM | OCZ Solid State HardDrive | Killer 2100 Wireless N | 15.6 HD LED LCD | Blu-ray Drive | Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit | Ubuntu 11.04



|DOS| Clan Recruiting for COD:BO, FH2, World of Tanks, & KF http://dosclan.us
johnkeel105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-05, 03:17 PM   #4
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Pny Fx6200

Since I'm being forced to replace several major components at once, I can't afford a better card, right now. Perhaps I can upgrade again soon. The FX5500 was okay, it hasn't given me any trouble on the games that I play, but it has given me a bit of problems running Linux.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-05, 09:46 PM   #5
Ruined
Registered User
 
Ruined's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,447
Default Re: Pny Fx6200

The 6200 murders the 5500 (5200) in every way thinkable. It's still not a really fast gaming card, but it gets the job done much, much better.
__________________
We're all in it together.

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 2.66GHz CPU | Intel G965WH mobo | 8GB (4x2GB) DDR2-667mhz CAS5 RAM (1066MHz FSB) | BFG GeForce 285 GTX OC 1GB | Dell E228WFP 22" DVI-HDCP LCD Monitor | 1TB Western Digital RE3 SATA2 Main Drive | 500GBx2 Western Digital RE3 SATA2 Scratch Drives in RAID0 | Western Digital RE3 1TB SATA2 Media Drive | External 2TB Western Digital MyBook Backup Drive | Adaptec eSATA 3.0gbps PCI-E interface | Sandisk External 12-in-1 Flash Card Reader | LG GGC-H20L HD DVD/BD reader, DVD writer | LG GGW-H20L HD DVD/BD reader, DVD/BD writer | Microsoft E4000 Ergonomic Keyboard | Logitech Trackman Wheel | Antec P182 ATX Case | Thermaltake ToughPower XT 850w modular PSU | KRK RP-8 Rokit Studio Monitors | Windows Vista Ultimate x64
Ruined is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-05, 11:46 PM   #6
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Pny Fx6200

I bought the new card today, along with a new motherboard. I would be installing these, except I forgot one essential need...some Artic Silver. Thanks for the input.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-05, 08:52 AM   #7
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Pny Fx6200

Now, I'm really lost. I installed a new Gigabyte K8 Triton motherboard, and the new PNY 6200 video card, but all that I get is a black screen, not even a basic BIOS run. I have now tried 3 different motherboards of the same model, along with my old PNY FX5500, and now the PNY 6200. The cards were properly in inserted and locked down and the monitor works normally when connected to my laptop. The only thing that I can think of at this point is some kind of incompatability, but that doesn't seem as though it should happen between two major brand products. Does anyone have any ideas? Both boards are for AGP.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-05, 09:48 AM   #8
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Pny Fx6200

I have the system up and running now, the last problem was due to multiple power failures. However, I am having a problem with the 6200 when running some games, namely Halo and Jedi Academy...possibly more, but I haven't tried all of the games yet. With Jedi Academy, there appears to be a combination of the video freezing, along with sound loops. With Halo it was worse, but after reducing the game settings, it continued for a while with just some random shaking of the video, until it finally started acting like with JA and then crashing the computer all together. I downloaded and installed the 81.98 WHQL Nvidia driver, updating from the 77.77 driver that came with the card, but that did not help. I never had this sort of problem with my old FX5500, but then I have also replace more than that, so I'm not certain what to blame. I should be getting my RMA of the old card in a few days, so I will try that one again, to narrow down the field of possibilities. In the mean time, does anyone have any suggestions of something that might help?
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-29-05, 05:11 PM   #9
Gentle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Posts: 580
Default Re: Pny Fx6200

Motherboard GART driver for the AGP bus?

Gentle
Gentle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-05, 12:55 AM   #10
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Pny Fx6200

I'm still trying to learn my way around this new motherboard, so I'm not certain of much yet. The motherboard Driver CD installed everything somewhat automatically. I remember a GART AGP for my old motherboard's Via chipsets, but the only thing that I find in the device manager, regarding AGP in the AGP Host to PCI bridge. I find nothing on the Gigabyte drivers page specifically for this, at this time, so I can only assume that it is up to date. There is a chipset driver, but the version number doesn't correspond with anything that I can find, and it has no date, so I do not know if it is newer or not.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-05, 07:58 AM   #11
Fathertime36
Registered User
 
Fathertime36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 199
Send a message via MSN to Fathertime36
Default Re: Pny Fx6200

Curious...why didn't you get a nf4 mobo?, via is somewhat iff-er if you you know what I mean?!, does this model have onboard video? if so it needs to be disabled in the bios....I know, captain obvious here, but you would be surprised, people with sli mobos plugging a single card into the secondary pci-e slot instead of the primary or forgetting to plug in the supplemental power tongle etc...etc...we get all excited and over look basic stuff sometimes....the new card should be head and shoulders better then any thing from the FX nv30 generation, as I would hopefully like to look at it as the dark page in nvidia history, I think it is normal for it to take some time to learn your mobo layout, to me it is part of the fun....lol
__________________
Primary: I7 920 DO step @4 GHZ *ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 * 3x2gb GSkill DDR3 1600 * ATI 5870HD * Enermax Infinity 720w PSU * WD caviar Black 2TB * Coolermaster 840 case * SAMSUNG TOC T260HD * Win7 64bit/Linux Dual Boot* Eheim 1250 pump/ MC-TDX cpu block/ DD-5870 block/ Feser Monsta TFC XChanger 360 radiator/ Feser Triebwerk TK-121 x3
2nd:E8400 @3.7ghz/ 4GB(2/2gb)PC2-6400 DDR2 800) Crucial Ballistixs / GA-P35-DS3P/ Creative X-Fi Music Extreme/ Seasonic M12 SS-600HM/ WD5000AAKS/ ASUS CB-5216A/ ASUS DVD-E818AT/ Visiontek 4870 512mb w/thermaltake V2(40idle/70load)/ Win XP/ ViewSonic VG2230wm
OLD: AMD Opteron165/ MSI 7100 Platinum NEO NF4/sli / 1GB Geil Ultra Platinum pc4000 ddr500/ Creative X-Fi/ Enermax 465/ 75Gb WD Raptor/ WD4000AAKS/ 8800GT/ ViewSonic VX924
Fathertime36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-05, 04:07 PM   #12
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Pny Fx6200

I think that you misunderstood, my OLD motherboard was a Via, but the new one is a nForce 3. I might have gone to the nForce 4, but I didn't see any that were for AGP. I wouldn't mind PCIe, except that I needed more PCI slots than any of those have.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PNY Unleashes New Verto GeForce GT 640 News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 03:24 PM
$319.99 - PNY Commercial Series VCGGTX570XPB-CG GeForce GTX 570 (Fermi) 1280MB 320-bi News GeForce GTX 570 0 05-19-12 11:37 PM
$169.99 - PNY VCGGTX560XPB GeForce GTX 560 (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 News GeForce GTX 560 0 05-19-12 11:00 PM
$229.99 - PNY XLR8 VCGGTX560XPB-BF3 GeForce GTX 560 (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Exp News GeForce GTX 560 0 05-19-12 11:00 PM
$219.99 - PNY VCGGTX560TXPB-OC-S GeForce GTX 560 Ti (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Exp News GeForce GTX 560 0 05-19-12 11:00 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.