Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-03-06, 02:55 PM   #1
HArdRiDer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default 6600GT Golden Sample and Expertool Overclocking

I have installed a Gainward 6600GT Golden Sample card. When I load the drivers from the CD, the only option for installing Expertool is with the safe option, the advanced settings check box is greyed out and unavailable. I have unloaded Expertool and the NVIDIA drivers and reloaded, without success.

The manual says that I need at least a 350W PSU, and I only have a 300W PSU. Could this be the problem, or do I have a faulty card? Gainward guarantee that the Golden Sample cards will overclock, hope I don't have a lemon.

Thanks!
HArdRiDer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-06, 04:34 PM   #2
a12ctic
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 2,371
Default Re: 6600GT Golden Sample and Expertool Overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by HArdRiDer
The manual says that I need at least a 350W PSU, and I only have a 300W PSU.
you answered your own question, if u need a 350wat psu then how is a 300 gona work?
__________________
AMD X2 5050 AMD Radeon HD 4830 AMD 780G 4GB OCZ DDR2 Antec 300 Fedora 11
a12ctic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-06, 01:05 AM   #3
HArdRiDer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: 6600GT Golden Sample and Expertool Overclocking

I'm still suprised if it is intelligent enough not to even make the install option available! Can still overclock manually with Expertool, but the Golden Sample is supposed to "officially" support overclocking via enhanced mode.
HArdRiDer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-06, 07:25 AM   #4
terry.diamond
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5
Default Re: 6600GT Golden Sample and Expertool Overclocking

hi m8
i had similar problem with a gainward i used to own
how i got round it was upgraded bios on graphics card to latest version for that card and suddenly when i installed expertool the box wasnt grayed out
hope this helps
terry.diamond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-06, 09:15 AM   #5
HArdRiDer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: 6600GT Golden Sample and Expertool Overclocking

Thanks for the suggestion, terry. Gainward don't seem to keep the BIOS updates available for download any more. I've emailed the address they gave, but no response yet after nearly a week!

And now strange slivers are coming up when my daughter plays Sims 2, and the core is underclocked to 430MHz

Will upgrade PSU and hold thumbs that Gainward staff come back to work tomorrow..
HArdRiDer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-06, 07:54 AM   #6
pro_hz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: 6600GT Golden Sample and Expertool Overclocking

I'm too having the same problem with the same card. Contacted Gainward, didn't get any proper answer. I want to update my BIOS too but can't find the right file. Have yours got solved ? If it has then please attach the file.
pro_hz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-06, 04:51 AM   #7
Gentle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Posts: 580
Default Re: 6600GT Golden Sample and Expertool Overclocking

There is a user name MVATech or MAVtec or similar that runs/ran a bios collection website.

If someone else can recall the exact site name perhaps you can get lucky and find and appropriate bios for your card there..

Gentle
Gentle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.