Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-22-06, 04:24 AM   #1
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Floppy Drive

I previously posted a question pertaining to creating a Grub Boot Floppy, but my problem appears to go deeper than that. I appear to only have limited access to the floppy drive, because I am having a problem even reading them. This problem remains, even when logged in as root. I have checked the permissions as far as I know how to, to give read, write and execute permissions to both the root and root group. The floppy works perfectly under Windows, so I doubt that there is any kind of hardware problem. To be brief, I created a device icon on the desktop, set the path and permissions to the floppy, and I also looked at /dev/fd0, but at this location, it says that these are only links, and have no permissions attributes. Is there something more that I can look for?
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-06, 05:12 PM   #2
chunkey
#!/?*
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 662
Default Re: Floppy Drive

symlinks?

Code:
ls -l /dev/fd0
(goes where?)
or can you access /dev/.static/dev/fd0?
chunkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-06, 09:48 PM   #3
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Floppy Drive

There does not appear to be any symlinks. Here is the terminal output:

Code:
linux:~ # ls -1 /dev/fd0
/dev/fd0
linux:~ #
linux:~ # whereis .static
.static:
linux:~ # which .static
linux:~ #
I also looked in the file manager via the path that you gave, and found nothing.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-06, 10:24 AM   #4
chunkey
#!/?*
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 662
Default Re: Floppy Drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by seeker
Code:
linux:~ # ls -1 /dev/fd0
/dev/fd0
Hmm, something is wrong...
are you sure you _typed_ "ls -l /dev/fd0"? (a small "L" not 1)

(maybe you need to load the module... modprobe floppy)
chunkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-06, 12:30 PM   #5
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Floppy Drive

I had used an "l" in the command and a "1" in the switch. I ran it again with all "l"s and this is the output:
Code:
wallwalker@linux:~> ls -l /dev/fd0
brw-rw----  1 root disk 2, 0 2004-10-01 22:17 /dev/fd0
wallwalker@linux:~>
However, I'm not really sure what this means.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-06, 01:39 PM   #6
chunkey
#!/?*
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 662
Default Re: Floppy Drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by seeker
I had used an "l" in the command and a "1" in the switch. I ran it again with all "l"s and this is the output:
Code:
wallwalker@linux:~> ls -l /dev/fd0
brw-rw----  1 root disk 2, 0 2004-10-01 22:17 /dev/fd0
wallwalker@linux:~>
However, I'm not really sure what this means.
Ok, /dev/fd0 looks good... (do you know, if your _wallwalker_ is in the _disk_ group?)

anyway can you please post _cat /proc/devices_?
chunkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-06, 02:02 PM   #7
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Floppy Drive

Yes, Kuser shows wallwalker in every group.

[code]
wallwalker@linux:~> cat /proc/devices
Character devices:
1 mem
2 pty
3 ttyp
4 /dev/vc/0
4 tty
4 ttyS
5 /dev/tty
5 /dev/console
5 /dev/ptmx
6 lp
7 vcs
9 st
10 misc
13 input
14 sound
21 sg
29 fb
81 video4linux
108 ppp
116 alsa
128 ptm
136 pts
171 ieee1394
180 usb
188 ttyUSB

Block devices:
1 ramdisk
2 fd
3 ide0
7 loop
8 sd
9 md
11 sr
22 ide1
65 sd
66 sd
67 sd
68 sd
69 sd
70 sd
71 sd
128 sd
129 sd
130 sd
131 sd
132 sd
133 sd
134 sd
135 sd
253 device-mapper
254 mdp
wallwalker@linux:~>
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-06, 02:08 PM   #8
evilghost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,606
Default Re: Floppy Drive

Here's a stupid question, you're not trying to read /dev/fd0 directly are you? You're mounting it right?

Code:
sudo mkdir -p /mnt/floppy
sudo mount /dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy
cd /mnt/floppy
df -h should show the floppy as being mounted too if you're mounting it.
evilghost is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-23-06, 02:15 PM   #9
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Floppy Drive

The desktop icon shows the green triangle on the lower right, which I believe indicates that it is mounted, but if df -h is supposed to list the floppy as mounted, then perhaps not:

Code:
wallwalker@linux:~> df -h
Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/hdc3              26G  7.5G   18G  30% /
tmpfs                 501M   36K  501M   1% /dev/shm
/dev/hdd1              19G  7.3G   12G  39% /windows/D
/dev/hdc1              25G  3.3G   22G  14% /windows/C
wallwalker@linux:~>
If this shows that it is not mounted, how do I mount it?
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-06, 02:19 PM   #10
evilghost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,606
Default Re: Floppy Drive

Code:
sudo mkdir -p /mnt/floppy
sudo mount /dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy
The floppy is then mounted at /mnt/floppy, make sure you have a disk inserted when you mount it. You would also "sudo umount /dev/fd0" if you want to unmount it.

You can substitute /mnt/floppy for the mount-point of your choice. Hope this helped.

Sorry for my lack of experience with Fedora, I've only delt with RH in a console-only server environment and currently use Ubuntu/Debian for my workstation/server needs. I couldn't tell you what the green triangle means.
evilghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-06, 02:28 PM   #11
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Floppy Drive

I have no idea of what this means, but it didn't appear to work:
Code:
wallwalker@linux:~> sudo mkdir -p /mnt/floppy

We trust you have received the usual lecture from the local System
Administrator. It usually boils down to these two things:

        #1) Respect the privacy of others.
        #2) Think before you type.

Password:
wallwalker@linux:~> sudo mkdir -p/mnt/floppy
mkdir: invalid option -- /
Try `mkdir --help' for more information.
wallwalker@linux:~> sudo mkdir -p /mnt/floppy
wallwalker@linux:~> sudo mount /dev/fd0/floppy
mount: can't find /dev/fd0/floppy in /etc/fstab or /etc/mtab
wallwalker@linux:~>
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-06, 02:31 PM   #12
evilghost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,606
Default Re: Floppy Drive

Seeker, slow-down, re-read what I said to type, you're mangling the commands.

"sudo mount /dev/fd0/floppy" != "sudo mount /dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy"
evilghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Floppy disk drives. LORD-eX-Bu General Hardware 10 10-03-02 09:58 AM
CDRW Drive Doesn't Populate FrozenFlame Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 4 09-17-02 08:32 PM
New Western Digital drive performance Nemesis General Hardware 6 08-15-02 07:29 AM
cdrw drive died cricket General Hardware 2 08-13-02 09:23 PM
UDMA5 Drive, But Can't Enable Past UDMA2 Phyre NVIDIA Linux 1 08-11-02 04:49 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.