Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-14-03, 02:43 PM   #1
Ro9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 5
Send a message via ICQ to Ro9
Question Nvidia+Redhat 8.0 + Pci Card

Hi Folks
I have Experienced som problems during the install of The Drivers

i am running Redhat 8.0


I have Tried Both the 3.. driver and the New 4.. drivers but the problem seems to be the same

When i try to start X, my screen gets Covered with alot of Typing, and i cant interact with my system any longer..
only reboot the system by pressing ctrl+alt+delete

I details this i what i did:

Downloaded the 2 drivers GLX & Kernel
in the src.rpm format

rebuileded them with no errors
only the only the one which says that some gl files have been backed up...

afther that i installed them rpm -ivh Nvidia*

and edited my Config and changed what should be changed ..

but it just wont work

i tried looking in the log file for XF.... but there where no Warnings or errors,,, eveything works fine....

heres af copy op my Config :

File generated by anaconda.
#

Section "ServerLayout"
#
Identifier "Anaconda Configured"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
# The location of the RGB database. Note, this is the name of the
# file minus the extension (like ".txt" or ".db"). There is normally
# no need to change the default.
# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
# By default, Red Hat 6.0 and later now use a font server independent of
# the X server to render fonts.
RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
FontPath "unix/:7100"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "glx"

Load "extmod"

Load "dbe"

Load "freetype"
Load "type1"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
# Option "AutoRepeat" "500 5"
# when using XQUEUE, comment out the above line, and uncomment the
# following line
# Option "Protocol" "Xqueue"
# Specify which keyboard LEDs can be user-controlled (eg, with xset(1))
# Option "Xleds" "1 2 3"
# To disable the XKEYBOARD extension, uncomment XkbDisable.
# Option "XkbDisable"
# To customise the XKB settings to suit your keyboard, modify the
# lines below (which are the defaults). For example, for a non-U.S.
# keyboard, you will probably want to use:
# Option "XkbModel" "pc102"
# If you have a US Microsoft Natural keyboard, you can use:
# Option "XkbModel" "microsoft"
#
# Then to change the language, change the Layout setting.
# For example, a german layout can be obtained with:
# Option "XkbLayout" "de"
# or:
# Option "XkbLayout" "de"
# Option "XkbVariant" "nodeadkeys"
#
# If you'd like to switch the positions of your capslock and
# control keys, use:
# Option "XkbOptions" "ctrl:swapcaps"
#Option "XkbOptions" ""
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "keyboard"
Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
Option "XkbModel" "pc102"
Option "XkbLayout" "dk" #Option "XkbVariant" ""
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "Monitor Model"
HorizSync 30.0 - 96.0
VertRefresh 50.0 - 160.0
Option "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
# no known options
BusID "pci:01:02:0"
Identifier "NVIDIA GeForce 2 MX (generic)"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "nvidia"
Option "NvAGP" "0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "NVIDIA GeForce 2 MX (generic)"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection


Have someone Expirenced something like this =??
Ro9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-03, 03:03 PM   #2
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

"covered with a lot of typing"...

Could you post a sample of this? It might be a kernel panic message, or it might be the random ASCII garbage on the screen that some people have reported. But a kernel panic will probably look like random garbage anyway, so... yeah. Post what you see, at least.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-03, 03:30 PM   #3
Ro9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 5
Send a message via ICQ to Ro9
Default What i see...

Well its Kinda Hard to copy, as my system freezez, but i i can try to describe it:


It alot of Strange ASCI signs, not many normal chars,
and the color sometimes differs,

when i write startx, i can see that my monitor change modes, and then it turns black after that
all thees sign fill most of the screen...

but as i said erlier the system dont halt, or atleast the

CTRL+ALT+DELETE still works

after pressing it two times, my system restarts.


......
Hope someone can help me ass im all out of resources

//Ro9
Ro9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-03, 08:55 PM   #4
Wolfman [TWP]
Geforce 8800 GTS 512
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 396
Default

Try removing the 'BusID' line in your XF86Config file, and see what happens. (I've noticed that on all the systems I've installed Linux on, this line gets commented out) It's worth a shot..
Wolfman [TWP] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-03, 06:35 AM   #5
Ro9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 5
Send a message via ICQ to Ro9
Default BusID

Yes i have tried with and without the BusID line, it seems like it automatically tries to detect it without the line, but with or without the line, its still the same result

//Ro9
Ro9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-03, 06:46 AM   #6
Wolfman [TWP]
Geforce 8800 GTS 512
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 396
Default

What mother board/Video card are you running??
Wolfman [TWP] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-03, 12:43 PM   #7
Ro9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 5
Send a message via ICQ to Ro9
Default Motherboard and Card

My MB, is from Ibm, from the Net vista series

and my card is Gf2 mx400

the vendor is vegas technology--

and as said before it is pci interface 'cause I dont have an agp port

perhaps my gfx vendor is crappy i am not shure


//Ro9
Ro9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-03, 08:12 PM   #8
Wolfman [TWP]
Geforce 8800 GTS 512
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 396
Default

Hmmm.. I'm running a Gf2 MX here at the office without any problems.... But then it's AGP. I can't remember whether the Nvidia Manual mentions anything regarding PCI configurations... Maybe there is something a miss...

IBM boards are usually very stable.. (Especially now they also support Linux alot more than before)...

Is the IBM system a server or workstation??? (I've been a little out of touch with IBM stuff, as I build my own now...)

Have you checked to see if the mother board chipset is being recognised properly?? (If it's anything like Windows, if it doesn't install the chipset drivers properly, then things like PCI detection will be random, (Or even just generic) and not properly configured.) This maybe part of the problem. (You can check this by running #cat /proc/pci, and check the output of the chipset & video card stuff)
Wolfman [TWP] is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-16-03, 07:00 AM   #9
Ro9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 5
Send a message via ICQ to Ro9
Default Pci

Hi again

i really apreciate your concerns thanks

My ibm is a workstation

about the detections, it seems all fine, cause it findst the chipset on the pci and everything

but maybe they do not support it yet,

perhaps I just have to wait untill they fix af new driver

but thanx alot everybuddy

over and out
//Ro9
Ro9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-03, 08:14 AM   #10
Wolfman [TWP]
Geforce 8800 GTS 512
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 396
Default

Just out of curiosity... What chipset is it using???

You will find the details with the 'cat /proc/pci' command...
Wolfman [TWP] is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVIDIA Unleashes the GeForce GTX 670 Graphics Card ' Performance Perfected (WCCFTECH) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 08:40 AM
Redhat 8.0 NVIDIA works - INSTRUCTIONS STEEL1 NVIDIA Linux 267 04-15-03 06:48 PM
X Failed to load NVdriver c00lr4c3r NVIDIA Linux 13 10-22-02 01:44 PM
NVidia Drivers HowTo for RedHat 8.0 needed eduardp NVIDIA Linux 10 10-04-02 03:59 AM
Need help to get the X to work on my Acer TravelMate 630 knchee NVIDIA Linux 16 09-19-02 10:16 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.