Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-07-03, 07:27 AM   #1
ata843
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Hungary
Posts: 7
Unhappy nvidia RIVA128 (ASUS V3000)

Hi all!

I think, I beginning grow up, because I change my windows to a linux. : ) I have any problem with XFree86. I think this questien ask million times, but I haven't many time to read all "howto".
What can I do, when I get this error message:
(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration
Please help me!
Thanx!

ata843@lamer.hu

Sziasztok!
Azt hiszem kezdek felnőni, mert lecserélem a windowsomat egy linuxra. : ) Nem tudom elinditani az XFree86-ot.
(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration
Ezzel az üzenettel találom szembe magam. : (
Ja, és nem menti el a beállításokat. Miért?
Remélem valaki érti majd amit leírtam, mert angolul se valami egyértelmű. : )
Segítsetek!
Köszi!

ata843@lamer.hu
__________________
-=ATA843=-

Last edited by ata843; 01-07-03 at 07:30 AM.
ata843 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-03, 10:22 PM   #2
how
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 142
Default

Riva 128 is not listed as a supported card with Nvidia driver. you must use XFree86 drivers
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-03, 04:23 AM   #3
ata843
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Hungary
Posts: 7
Unhappy

The Riva128 driver is in the list, I can choose it. Why?
__________________
-=ATA843=-
ata843 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-03, 06:46 AM   #4
how
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 142
Default

If you read the README that comes with the NVIDIA drivers you will see that it says

"Please note that the RIVA 128/128ZX chips are supported by the open
source 'nv' driver for XFree86, but not by the NVIDIA Accelerated Linux
Driver Set"
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-03, 06:49 AM   #5
how
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 142
Default

If you are using XFree86 nv driver than make sure you setup your XF86Conifg file properly.
may be submit your XF86Config so I can have a look
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-03, 07:39 AM   #6
ata843
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Hungary
Posts: 7
Default

I use the linux since a week. I can't send the config file, because, I use the internet on Windows, I have a GPRS modem and the modem's system requirement is the windows. I dont know how can I a linux file transporting to the Windows. Can you help me in this too? : )
(Sorry, if my words are not understandable, but my english is very poor) : (
__________________
-=ATA843=-

Last edited by ata843; 01-08-03 at 07:52 AM.
ata843 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-03, 04:50 PM   #7
how
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 142
Default

write down the Screen section of the XF86Config file.
and tell me from Windows(connect to internet) what it is. Probably color depth or resoutions are wrong.
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-03, 09:43 AM   #8
dave
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 7
Default

The file you want to check is most likely

/etc/X11/XF86Config-4

In there, it should call the driver for your card. It should say

Driver "nv"

and not

Driver "nvidia"

If it says "nv" as it should, then you should check in the monitor section of that file to make sure that the refresh rates are specified correctly for your monitor. Only upon having verified those two things, will the Screen section be a more appropriate place to look.
dave is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-10-03, 07:41 AM   #9
ata843
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Hungary
Posts: 7
Default

Yes, the nv is the current driver.
The XFree starts a very high resolution graphic mode. About 1700xsomething. I can set it an other resolution and I can save the changes, but something sets it back. My another problem is the linux isn't see my A4Tech PS/2 mouse.
__________________
-=ATA843=-
ata843 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-03, 03:45 PM   #10
ata843
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Hungary
Posts: 7
Default

Here is the config:
Section "Device"
Identifier "Generic Video Card"
Driver "nv"
Option "UseFBDrv" "true"

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Generic Monitor"
HorizSync "28-50"
VertRefresh "43-75"
Option "DPMS"
__________________
-=ATA843=-
ata843 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-03, 08:01 AM   #11
how
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 142
Default

check your monitor book for refresh rates. Horizontal and vertical.
Make sure they match with the XF86Config file.
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-03, 02:59 PM   #12
ata843
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Hungary
Posts: 7
Default

I set up the refres rate, but it isn't better. It's a hardware compatibility problem or my distribution is bad?
__________________
-=ATA843=-
ata843 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help Installing NVIDIA Tesla M2070Q in Linux RHEL5 Ferianto85 NVIDIA Linux 0 05-18-12 09:35 PM
Problems with Asus A7N266VM - nVidia - Linux emmjanex NVIDIA Linux 3 09-30-02 12:52 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.