Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-07-06, 12:37 PM   #1
bannerboy
Registered User
 
bannerboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27
Default Xinerama, with acceleration

I have an nVidia GeForce FX 5900 XT graphics card, and two monitors. How do I get xinerama to work with opengl in both monitors?
bannerboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-06, 12:47 PM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Xinerama, with acceleration

I'm afraid that I don't understand the question. Do you have the NVIDIA X driver installed and working?
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-06, 04:49 PM   #3
bannerboy
Registered User
 
bannerboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27
Default Re: Xinerama, with acceleration

yes, I have the official nvidia driver installed and working, I have both monitors working, I have xinerama working. but opengl windows don't span between two monitors, and still have opengl working.
bannerboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-06, 05:50 PM   #4
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Xinerama, with acceleration

Please generate and post a bug report, and provide instructions on how this problem can be reproduced.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-06, 06:56 PM   #5
bannerboy
Registered User
 
bannerboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27
Default Re: Xinerama, with acceleration

allow me to be more spacific, here's my xorg.conf file:
Code:
# /etc/X11/xorg.conf (xorg X Window System server configuration file)
#
# This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using
# values from the debconf database.
#
# Edit this file with caution, and see the /etc/X11/xorg.conf manual page.
# (Type "man /etc/X11/xorg.conf" at the shell prompt.)
#
# This file is automatically updated on xserver-xorg package upgrades *only*
# if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xorg
# package.
#
# If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
# again, run the following command:
#   sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

Section "Files"
        # paths to defoma fonts
    FontPath 	"/usr/share/X11/fonts/misc"
    FontPath 	"/usr/share/X11/fonts/100dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath 	"/usr/share/X11/fonts/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath 	"/usr/share/X11/fonts/Type1"
    FontPath 	"/var/lib/defoma/x-ttcidfont-conf.d/dirs/TrueType"
    FontPath 	"/var/lib/defoma/x-ttcidfont-conf.d/dirs/CID"
    FontPath 	"/usr/local/share/fonts"
EndSection

Section "Module"
	Load	"GLcore"
	Load	"i2c"
	Load	"bitmap"
	Load	"ddc"
	Load	"dri"
	Load	"extmod"
	Load	"freetype"
	Load	"glx"
	Load	"int10"
	Load	"type1"
	Load	"vbe"
EndSection

Section	"InputDevice"
    Identifier	"Keyboard1"
    Driver	"kbd"
    Option	"AutoRepeat" "500 30"

    Option	"XkbModel" "microsoftmult"
    Option	"XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "Input Device"
    Identifier	"Mouse1"
    Driver	"mouse"
    Option	"Protocol" "ExplorerPs/2"
    Option	"Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option	"ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    Option	"Resoltuion" "256"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier	"SonyDVI"
    HorizSync	28-75
    VertRefresh	60
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier	"SonyVGA"
    HorizSync	28-92
    VertRefresh	48-85
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier	"AcerView"
    HorizSync	31.5, 38, 48
    VertRefresh	50-90
EndSection

Section	"Monitor"
    Identifier	"SVideo"
    HorizSync	30-68
    VertRefresh	50-120
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier	"NvidiaDVI"
    BusID	"PCI:1:0:0"
    Driver	"nvidia"
#    VideoRam	32768
    Screen	0
    Option	"NoLogo"		"True"
    Option	"ConnectedMonitor"	"DFP"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier	"NvidiaVGA"
    BusID	"PCI:1:0:0"
    Driver	"nvidia"
#    VideoRam	32768
    Screen	1
    Option	"NoLogo"		"True"
    Option	"ConnectedMonitor"	"CRT"
#    Option	"ConnectedMonitor"	"TV"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier	"NvidiaSVideo"
    BusID	"PCI:1:0:0"
    Driver	"nvidia"
    VideoRam	32768
    Screen	1
    Option	"NoLogo"		"True"
    Option	"ConnectedMonitor"	"TV"
    Option	"TVStandard"		"NTSC-M"
    Option	"TVOutFormat"		"SVIDIO"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier	"VGA"
    Device	"NvidiaVGA"
    Monitor	"AcerView"
    DefaultDepth 24
    Subsection	"Display"
	Depth	24
#	Modes	"1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
	Modes   "800x600" "640x480"
	ViewPort 0 0
    Endsubsection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier	"DVI"
    Device	"NvidiaDVI"
    Monitor	"SonyDVI"
    DefaultDepth 24
    Subsection "Display"
	Depth 24
	Modes "1600x1200" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
	ViewPort 0 0
    Endsubsection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier	"TV"
    Device	"NvidiaSVideo"
    Monitor	"SVideo"
    DefaultDepth 24
    Subsection	"Display"
	Depth	24
	Modes	"720x480"
	ViewPort 0 0
    Endsubsection
EndSection

Section "Server Layout"
    Identifier	"Main"
    Screen	"DVI"
#    Screen	"TV" RightOf "DVI"
    Screen	"VGA" RightOf "DVI"
    InputDevice	"Mouse1"	"CorePointer"
    InputDevice	"Keyboard1"	"CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
    Option	"xinerama"	"true"
EndSection
despite what the thing at the top says, my xorg.conf file is mostly hand-written

I start up kdm, login, and start blender. any portion of the program that I put in the second monitor doesn't display. the window displays, but the contents does not.

Last edited by bannerboy; 01-07-06 at 10:07 PM.
bannerboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-06, 08:00 PM   #6
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Xinerama, with acceleration

Please generate and post a bug report, and provide instructions on how this problem can be reproduced.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-06, 08:13 PM   #7
bannerboy
Registered User
 
bannerboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27
Default Re: Xinerama, with acceleration

that is exactly what I just posted, I gave you my xorg.conf file, and all the information I can offer. I don't do anything special to create the problem, I just start up an opengl window, such as glxgears, drag it so that half of it is on one monitor, and half of it is on the other monitor. the half that is on the LCD monitor(monitor0), displays the opengl content such as the gears going, and the half that is on the CRT monitor(monitor1) does not display.

when I run blender and tell it to render, it puts the render window in the second monitor like I want it to, but nothing displays in the window.
bannerboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-06, 08:19 PM   #8
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Xinerama, with acceleration

An xorg.conf is not a bug report. Please see the NVIDIA driver README, the web page where you downloaded the NVIDIA X driver, or here for how to generate a bug report:
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=46678

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-07-06, 10:06 PM   #9
bannerboy
Registered User
 
bannerboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27
Default Re: Xinerama, with acceleration

the log file is attached
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (89.6 KB, 113 views)
bannerboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-06, 10:19 PM   #10
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Xinerama, with acceleration

According to your bug report, you're not using Xinerama (its commented out in your xorg.conf). Was this bug report generated while the problem you're reporting was present?

Beyond that, I have a few questions:
0) Does this problem reproduce with 1.0-8178?
1) Why are you using the ConnectedMonitor option?
2) Per the NVIDIA README, please remove the dri and GLCore X modules from your X configuration. They are incompatible with the X nvidia driver.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-06, 11:33 PM   #11
bannerboy
Registered User
 
bannerboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27
Default Re: Xinerama, with acceleration

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
According to your bug report, you're not using Xinerama (its commented out in your xorg.conf). Was this bug report generated while the problem you're reporting was present?

Beyond that, I have a few questions:
0) Does this problem reproduce with 1.0-8178?
1) Why are you using the ConnectedMonitor option?
2) Per the NVIDIA README, please remove the dri and GLCore X modules from your X configuration. They are incompatible with the X nvidia driver.

Thanks,
Lonni
for that particular test, I ran

Code:
startx -- :1 +xinerama
0) I am using kubuntu linux for the amd64 archetecture, and the 1.0-8178 module is not avalable, and I don't have things set up to build it from source

1) I am using the CommectedMonitor option, to force my flat panel as display0, the graphics card default is to have DVI as display1 and VGA as display0

3) I just did and the results remain the same.

oh, and one other iteresting tidbit, when I'm running in xinerama, nvidia-settings only recognizes one display. and it sometimes causes my computer to freeze when I'm running xinerama and switch to console, and back or to another x server.

Last edited by bannerboy; 01-08-06 at 08:25 AM.
bannerboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-06, 09:55 AM   #12
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Xinerama, with acceleration

Your usage of the ConnectedMonitor option is incorrect, and that alone might be causing, or at least contributing to the problem you're experiencing. Per the NVIDIA README, the ConnectedMonitor option is meant solely to tell the driver about the existence of a display device that it could not normally probe for/detect on its own when X is started. ConnectedMonitor can *NOT* be used to force a display device to be the primary/secondary/etc display device. Attempts to do so will not work, and potentially confuse the driver resulting in unexpected results.

That said, I'd suggest commenting our your usage of ConnectedMonitor, and seeing if that helps at all.

If it does not, you're going to need to install 1.0-8178. 1.0-7174 is no longer supported for your videocard, and you could possibly be hitting a bug in 1.0-7174 that was long ago fixed in a later driver version.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tom's Hardware tests OpenCL acceleration across photo editing apps News Archived News Items 0 06-11-12 06:10 PM
Google's Linux Video Acceleration API: VAVDA News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 05:50 AM
PowerDVD Hardware Acceleration adrianhall General Software 11 06-08-10 03:46 PM
Multi card acceleration Andrew01 NVIDIA Linux 4 11-01-02 06:01 PM
Can I use 3-D acceleration in the framebuffer coredumped NVIDIA Linux 3 08-24-02 01:20 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.