Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-08-06, 01:28 PM   #1
hbaastrup
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default GeForce Go 6200 and Video Ram problems

I have bought a labtop with a nVidia GeForce Go 6200 video chip and with 254MB of Video Ram. I have installed SuSE 10 x86_64 Linux on the labtop together with the "Linux AMD64/EM64T version 1.0-8178" nVidia graphic driver. The driver functions; I get the nVidia splash screen and my GUI (KDE) runs smoothly.
My problem is; when I use the nvidia-settings program, it tells me that the labtab only has 64MB video ram. So now I have my doubts that the driver do not use the whole video ram, but only 64MB of the 256MB available.
I would like to ask the forum; if there is a way to control the video ram the driver makes available and if so, how to change it.
hbaastrup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-06, 02:20 PM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: GeForce Go 6200 and Video Ram problems

Is this a TurboCache version of the GeForce Go 6200. If so, then it shares system RAM to provide the 256MB, and doesn't have its own reserved videoram.

Please post a bug report if you have additional questions.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-06, 02:24 AM   #3
hbaastrup
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: GeForce Go 6200 and Video Ram problems

Thank you for your quick reply Lonni.
As fare I can see, from the specifications for the labtop, it is a "Geforce Go 6200 Turbo Cache 256MB". Is there a way that I can ask the system for this? Because the specifications I have for the labtop are very few.
If the chip is of the Turbo Cache type, how does it allocate the ram needed? Is it a parameter I can give it?
hbaastrup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-06, 02:44 AM   #4
hermier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 26
Default Re: GeForce Go 6200 and Video Ram problems

Usually on laptops, it is a configurable parameter in the bios. But be carefull, increasing the video memory will decrease the system memory.
hermier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-06, 03:49 AM   #5
hbaastrup
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: GeForce Go 6200 and Video Ram problems

My Asus A6750KLH does not have this BIOS fiture
hbaastrup is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.