Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-26-06, 03:46 PM   #13
creepy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 9
Default Re: Complete freeze when using OpenGL

I made a typo LCKD = lkcd. But it's not supported for 2.6.10 or higher..
mkdump only has a 2.6.12 patch..

I can't seem to find a crash dump tool which has a patch for 2.6.15..

aah.. *hits head*. That's because from 2.6.13 and further kexec is already in the mainline kernel. Will try that now and make a dump when crashed

Last edited by creepy; 01-26-06 at 04:15 PM.
creepy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-06, 10:25 AM   #14
nutz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Default Re: Complete freeze when using OpenGL

alright, so i have MagicSysRq keys and kexec .. but alt-print-C just doesnt work.. the others, like -SUB do work fine...

so i tried starting glxgears from console and i knew the only way would be: opening screen in X and then starting glxgears from a "screen -x" so i would be able to see what the magic-keys say.
now the interesting thing is: it worked... kinda
it started with around 1219 frames first and then got slower and slower.. like this:
1219
1100
916
763
680
.
.
.
405 and then it went back to
1288 and stayed there.?! .. so after let's say 1 minute or so it goes back to 1288 (which is not enough.. i had a lot more when everything worked)
so anyways that's weird. but as i soon as i switch back to X it SEGFAULTED?
and when i restart the gears the interesting thing is: the only magickey working is: reBoot .. Off for example doesnt work either.

right now i'm trying: waiting for one minute with those froozen glxgears.. maybe they start moving sometime ^^ - no. nothing happens

yeah so that's that so far - hope those information were of some use. =)

thanks nutz
nutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-06, 11:28 AM   #15
nutz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Default Re: Complete freeze when using OpenGL

hey i was just wondering if there was already a solution somehow and nobody informed me? =)

i'm just curious because it's been so quiet in here lately.

thanks nutz
nutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-06, 01:06 AM   #16
netes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Default Re: Complete freeze when using OpenGL

I've got the same problem and don't know how to resolve it :/, but I have PCI-EX graphic card, so AGP settings can't be a reason.
netes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-06, 06:52 AM   #17
nutz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Default Re: Complete freeze when using OpenGL

what laptop do you have? also acer? or do they ship the aspire 1522wlmi with pci-e now?
nutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-06, 07:41 AM   #18
netes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Default Re: Complete freeze when using OpenGL

I don't have laptop. It's a desktop
netes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-06, 09:18 AM   #19
nutz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Default Re: Complete freeze when using OpenGL

are you sure it's the same problem then? that's weird.. do you have the same nvidia-card? but it can't be the modell .. there would be millions of complaints.


lspci -vvvv says

01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV36 [GeForce FX Go5700] (rev a1) (prog-if 00 [VGA])
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Unknown device 006e
Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B-
Status: Cap+ 66MHz+ UDF- FastB2B+ ParErr- DEVSEL=medium >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR-
Latency: 248 (1250ns min, 250ns max)
Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 9
Region 0: Memory at c1000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16M]
Region 1: Memory at e0000000 (32-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
Capabilities: [60] Power Management version 2
Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1- D2- AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0-,D1-,D2-,D3hot-,D3cold-)
Status: D0 PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-
Capabilities: [44] AGP version 3.0
Status: RQ=32 Iso- ArqSz=0 Cal=3 SBA+ ITACoh- GART64- HTrans- 64bit- FW+ AGP3+ Rate=x4,x8
Command: RQ=32 ArqSz=0 Cal=0 SBA+ AGP+ GART64- 64bit- FW- Rate=x8


so that's the one?
nutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-06, 04:58 AM   #20
nutz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Default Re: Complete freeze when using OpenGL

hey,

i gotta admit, i was a little disappointed that no-one answered anymore. but today the new drivers where in my gentoo-portage and TATA! it works again

fu*** great job thanks nvidia
nutz is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-10-06, 12:56 PM   #21
creepy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 9
Default Re: Complete freeze when using OpenGL

I've never gotten around to create a crashdump (yes, that was lazy of me ). Anyway, this new release seems to fix the OpenGL problems for me as well! No more crashes! Good job NVidia!
creepy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenGL book Airstrip1 Software Development 2 08-12-12 08:55 AM
OpenGL apps crashing in NVIDIA driver when switching desktop dinosaur NVIDIA Linux 0 06-01-12 07:09 PM
Major WineX prob... I think it has to do with the vidcard... Linewbie NVIDIA Linux 20 10-09-02 09:58 PM
Why in Spider-Man The Movie PC Game only some levels i go to will freeze? imtim83 Gaming Central 5 10-03-02 09:21 PM
Slow OpenGL on 7.3 kl899 NVIDIA Linux 1 08-04-02 07:58 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.