Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-02-02, 11:11 PM   #1
pelly
Registered User
 
pelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 681
Default nForce2 Speakers?

Just curious.....is anyone running an nForce2 with SoundStorm audio ( Dolby-Digital )?

If so, what speakers are you using to take advantage of the digital signal?

pelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-02, 11:44 PM   #2
volt
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 1,556
Default

SoundStorm with external bay ?
__________________
[b]Optimization guidelines by Koji Ashida of NVIDIA:[/b][list][*]Use fx12 instructions whenever possible[*]Use lowest pixel shader version[/list][url=http://developer.nvidia.com/docs/IO/10878/ChinaJoy2004_OptimizationAndTools.pdf]source[/url]

[size=1]The politics are invading the technology. We don't really like to mess with politics because that kind of adversarial relationship has nothing to do with pure technical operations and the technical specifications of what we like to play with, the hardware![/size]
volt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-02, 12:30 AM   #3
pelly
Registered User
 
pelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 681
Default

Anyone connecting to digital speakers ( ie: Logitech Z-680 ) using 24-bit S/PDIF Out on the motherboard?

pelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-02, 09:55 AM   #4
zoolap
GeHorse Ti4200
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 100
Smile

I use an av amp when i can (sony str-db940). This may be cumbersome, but it may be worth looking at some hi-fi stores as there are some decent dolby digital/dts surround receivers available cheaply these days. Get some good budget speakers and you've also got something nice for dvd.
__________________
hungry horse!
zoolap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-02, 10:01 AM   #5
CyberMacGyver
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default I am using Inspire 5.1s... but

I am somewhat disapointed with the SoundStorm system so far... even though I followed the instructions to the T, I cannot get audio on all 5 speakers. With Dolby enabled, I get all channels routed to the 2 front speakers, and with it disabled, the center speaker does not work.


BTW, these are ANALOG speakers... could not get the digital variety :-(
Damn.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-02, 03:01 PM   #6
PenguinJim
 
PenguinJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I live in my chair in the UK
Posts: 440
Default

Hey CyberMacGuyver, if you get this problem fixed could you let us all know please?

I have same problem with A7N8X Deluxe and Creative DTT2200s.

Sound works great, except Centre Speaker stuff seems limited to the sub
PenguinJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-02, 09:36 AM   #7
SavagePaladin
info*****
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,395
Default

I use yamaha tss1s on my nforce

I can't say they're the best, but they were cheap and are pretty decent still.
SavagePaladin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-03, 09:07 PM   #8
Red Dog
Join Norml today!
 
Red Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 232
Default

im using a digital coax "monster" cable to connect my A7N8X's onboard spdif and my brand schpankin' new Z-680's. (WOOOT)

wow, these speakers are awesome! the sub will break s&#t around your room and rattle things off your desk when cranked!

(sound is subjective, but)

compared to the analog 5.1, the digital output most deffinately has better sound quality. the individual channels are extremely clear and seem more individualy defined. the sub and center channels benefit substantialy.

5.1 audio tracks sound awesome in wmp9.

I will never go back to analog.

this is an interesting one page article on the soundstorms digital in use. http://www.overclockers.com.au/article.php?id=134416
Red Dog is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-29-03, 09:36 PM   #9
Red Dog
Join Norml today!
 
Red Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 232
Default

couple more things to add,

most "normal" rca jack av cables lack the required bandwidth for the digital connection.

a "digital coax" cable is required. I tried both and I can hear the diff, your mileage may vary. I bought an 8ft cable because I assumed it plugged into the sub like my old 5.1's. I was wrong, you prob only need a less expensive 4ft cord because it plugs in to the 680'scontrol pod instead.

I hear absolutey NO hiss at any volume level (in a quiet room), a problem which was reported by some z680 users and supposedly fixed in a later revision of the 680 control pod. (rf shielding issue)

the digital decoder on the z680 will automaticaly set the correct dolby effect mode.

something else I forgot......

oh yeah, the z680's seemed to be tight out of the box. after several hours of break in they seemed to become both louder and more responive.

Last edited by Red Dog; 01-29-03 at 09:41 PM.
Red Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-03, 08:07 AM   #10
SnakeEyes
Registered User
 
SnakeEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lake Zurich, IL
Posts: 502
Send a message via ICQ to SnakeEyes
Default

Well, I'm not quite using the nForce2 with my speakers yet. But that's only because I haven't bought my motherboard yet. When I do I'll be using it with my Cambridge Soundworks DTT3500 speakers. Based on present experience with these speakers using my Optical input from a Hercules Game Theater XP and watching a DVD, I fully expect the nForce2 to be spectacular.
__________________
Snake-Eyes
SnakeEyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-03, 08:30 AM   #11
nin_fragile14
Fat Tuna
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 509
Default

My brother is using an optical digital cable from his Abit nforce 2 to his Yamaha HTR-5460 receiver. He's running Klipsch RF-5s off it, and they sound great.
__________________
2.66 P4 @ 3.0 Ghz / Geforce 6800 GT @ 410/1080/ 768 mb Samsung DDR333 @ 374 mhz / Abit IS7 / XP Pro / NEC 1760NX LCD
nin_fragile14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-03, 07:37 PM   #12
Nephilim
Slacker extraordinaire
 
Nephilim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Nashvegas, TN
Posts: 502
Default

It has been my experience that using any cambridge soundworks speakers OLDER than the DTT3500 you will HAVE to set the speakers to 4 point surround in windows (control panel-->sounds and audio devices-->advanced button under the speaker settings) for the center channel to work.

This is a problem with the creative speakers.
__________________
"The large print giveth, and the small print taketh away." - Tom Waits

Athlon XP 2100+ | 512MB PC3200 RAM | Asus A7N8X Deluxe | GeforceFX 5900 VIVO 128MB @ 475/950 | 2 Western Digital SATA 120GB HDD in RAID 0 | 1 IBM 60GXP 60GB HDD IDE | 36x 12x 48x CD-RW | Logitech Z-680 THX 5.1 Speakers | 19in. Samsung 955DF Monitor | Windows XP Pro
Nephilim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Call for Speakers: UK Many-Core Developer Conference 2012 News Archived News Items 0 09-05-12 08:40 AM
nForce2 delay on purpose? pelly CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 31 06-05-12 03:47 AM
nforce2 question. Nutty CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 3 10-05-02 12:52 PM
A good set of speakers? Creole General Hardware 7 09-20-02 12:24 AM
Where are nforce2 mobos? Fotis Rumor Mill 2 09-03-02 08:16 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.