Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-28-06, 05:58 PM   #13
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: What means width too large for virtual size

The reason for the failure is printed at the end of the message "vrefresh out of range".

You didn't provide the bug report I had requested, so I can't comment beyond what you posted in those X logs.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-06, 01:08 AM   #14
blwegrzyn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 21
Default Re: What means width too large for virtual size

attached is nvidia bug report.
I did not change any settings for dpi , because I am not sure what to put there.
What is happening is when I startx the mode 1280x720 is selected and later it is switched to 848x480. It looks like hdtv does not like that mode for some reason. Maybe you right that dpi needs to be set, but I dont know.
Before it switches to 848x480, I see short blink.

current xfree log verbose 5
xorg.conf.txt

nvidia-bug-report-part1.log

nvidia-bug-report-part2.log

nvidia-bug-report-part3.log

Please look at the bug files. Thank you


Also, in addition I was able to get 1280x720 using my HD2 mode with centered option. This is the only work around that allows me to get good quality 720p mode. I had to disable ddc, and set high v and h freq.
This is just to let you know about my experiments.

thx

config file same as in last post
blwegrzyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-06, 01:29 AM   #15
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: What means width too large for virtual size

This is why 1920x1080 is failing:
1920x1080(II) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode "1920x1080" (vrefresh out of range)

However, according to the EDID in your bug report, the vrefresh range you're specifying should be valid. Unfortunately, the 1920x1080 modeline in that EDID looks broken. I'm not sure if its due to a parsing problem with the nvidia driver, or if the EDID is truly broken.

Can you try installing and running read-edid, and posting its output?
http://john.fremlin.de/programs/linux/read-edid/

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-06, 01:43 AM   #16
blwegrzyn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 21
Default Re: What means width too large for virtual size

I did install it but it fails (it works with regular crt)

[root@localhost read-edid-1.4.1]# make read-edid
./get-edid | ./parse-edid
./get-edid: get-edid version 1.4.1

Performing real mode VBE call
Interrupt 0x10 ax=0x4f00 bx=0x0 cx=0x0
./parse-edid: parse-edid version 1.4.1
Function supported
Call successful

VBE version 300
VBE string at 0x11110 "NVIDIA"

VBE/DDC service about to be called
Report DDC capabilities

Performing real mode VBE call
Interrupt 0x10 ax=0x4f15 bx=0x0 cx=0x0
Function supported
Call successful

Monitor and video card combination does not support DDC1 transfers
Monitor and video card combination does not support DDC2 transfers
0 seconds per 128 byte EDID block transfer
Screen is not blanked during DDC transfer

Reading next EDID block

VBE/DDC service about to be called
Read EDID

Performing real mode VBE call
Interrupt 0x10 ax=0x4f15 bx=0x1 cx=0x0
Function supported
Call failed

The EDID data should not be trusted as the VBE call failed
Error: output block unchanged
./parse-edid: IO error reading EDID
make: *** [read-edid] Error 1


sorry

Last edited by blwegrzyn; 01-29-06 at 01:58 AM.
blwegrzyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-06, 10:11 AM   #17
lintweaker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 44
Unhappy Re: What means width too large for virtual size

I am having simular problems every modeline I try for 1920x1080i (50 or 60 Hz) the driver always complains:

(II) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode "tosh1080i-50" (illegal vertical timings)
(II) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode "tosh1080i-50ST" (vrefresh out of range)
(II) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode "tosh1080i-60ST" (vrefresh out of range)
(II) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode "1080i-60" (vrefresh out of range)

All those timings come from the EDID data of my display (Toshiba 32WL58P). I've been trying all afternoon to get it working

ModeLine "tosh1080i-50" 74.25 1920 2448 2492 2640 540 542 446 562 +hsync +vsync interlace

# Tosh 1080i@50Hz (861ST Timings)
Modeline "tosh1080i-50ST" 74.25 1920 2448 2492 2640 540 542 547 562 +hsync +vsync interlace
# Tosh 1080i@60Hz (861Timigs)
Modeline "tosh1080i-60ST" 74.18 1920 2008 2052 2200 540 542 547 562 +hsync +vsync interlace
lintweaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-06, 10:37 AM   #18
blwegrzyn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 21
Default Re: What means width too large for virtual size

I don't know, but for me it looks like either the driver is bad, or xfree sends wrong signal to hdtv tv. If it works under windows it means that both video card and tv are ok. I suspecting that this is the problem of the driver itself.
blwegrzyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-06, 11:02 AM   #19
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: What means width too large for virtual size

lintweaker,
Please start X with the following command:
startx -- -logverbose 5

and then generate and post a bug report.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-06, 04:47 PM   #20
blwegrzyn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 21
Default Re: What means width too large for virtual size

i created the log and bug report ,
it is on page 1

thx
blwegrzyn is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-29-06, 09:35 PM   #21
blwegrzyn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 21
Default Re: What means width too large for virtual size

any update on this, or this is all we can do?

thx
blwegrzyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-06, 06:40 AM   #22
lintweaker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 44
Default Re: What means width too large for virtual size

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
lintweaker,
Please start X with the following command:
startx -- -logverbose 5

and then generate and post a bug report.

Thanks,
Lonni
Lonni, I finally managed to get the bug report out. I've sent it to the usual address.
lintweaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-06, 10:07 AM   #23
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: What means width too large for virtual size

The bug report should be posted here.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-06, 04:45 AM   #24
lintweaker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 44
Default Re: What means width too large for virtual size

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
The bug report should be posted here.

Thanks,
Lonni
Allright, no problem

Additional info:
-I have manually modified the HorizSync and vertRefresh parameters
trying to get rid of the (vrefresh out of range) messages (no luck)
- ConnectedMonitor string: "dfp" to force output to the DVI connector.
The LCD panel is not recognized when it is not switched on during
startup of the PC.
- LCD TV is connected through a DVI-D->HDMI cable
- All resolutions I got working through DVI->HDMI are always overscanned
- From the modelines of the LCD TV only (some of) the 50Hz versions are
accepted. None of the 60Hz ones.
- My goal is to get a decent 1080i (60 or 50Hz) working as this
resolution if the optimal input signal for my screen (according to the
Toshiba manual). The screen's real resolution is only 1366x768.

Attachments:
- Nvidia bug report logfile
- EDID data from my LCD TV
Attached Files
File Type: txt edid-log-toshiba.txt (7.8 KB, 145 views)
File Type: zip nvidia-bug-report-04-feb-06.log.zip (23.1 KB, 104 views)
lintweaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.