Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-27-06, 03:22 AM   #1
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Possible to SLI 6800 Ultra with GT?

This may be a long shot and unlikely, but would it be possible to SLI a true 6800 Ultra with a 6800GT flashed to an Ultra? Or will it still not work due to the cores being different despite the system reading the 6800GT as an Ultra? Thanks.
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-06, 03:26 AM   #2
bail_w
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 130
Default Re: Possible to SLI 6800 Ultra with GT?

why dont you give it a try and see what happens to your cards
__________________
Intel Quad Core Q6600 "G0" @ 3.9 with 1.49v| Gigabyte UD39 | 2 x 1 gb G skill DDR2 Hz | 2 x 320GB Segate SATAII 16MB Cache Raid 0 | 8800GTX 768MB |Antec 850W PSU
WC Setup: D-Tek Fuzion | Swiftech MCP 655 |Thermochill PA120.2 |Swiftech MCW60

__________________
Heatware: bail_w http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=43723
bail_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-06, 03:28 AM   #3
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: Possible to SLI 6800 Ultra with GT?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bail_w
why dont you give it a try and see what happens to your cards
I would but I only have the 6800 Ultra atm and there is a cheap 6800GT I could buy... theres no try before u buy
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-06, 04:09 AM   #4
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: Possible to SLI 6800 Ultra with GT?

Mixed vendor SLI only works on the same type of card - 2x 6800 Ultras, GTs, etc. You could sell your Ultra and purchase 2 6800 GTs or 1 7800 GTX. I'd do the latter, then save up for a second GTX. Prices should go down for retail purchases, or you could save even more by picking one up second hand from someone who will sell it to buy a G71 or Radeon X1900.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-06, 04:22 AM   #5
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: Possible to SLI 6800 Ultra with GT?

Quote:
Originally Posted by saturnotaku
Mixed vendor SLI only works on the same type of card - 2x 6800 Ultras, GTs, etc. You could sell your Ultra and purchase 2 6800 GTs or 1 7800 GTX. I'd do the latter, then save up for a second GTX. Prices should go down for retail purchases, or you could save even more by picking one up second hand from someone who will sell it to buy a G71 or Radeon X1900.
ok thanks
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-06, 07:11 AM   #6
RejZoR
Overclocked Sheep
 
RejZoR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Europe\Slovenia\Ljubljana
Posts: 373
Default Re: Possible to SLI 6800 Ultra with GT?

Why complicating? Ultra and GT use same cores (same no. of pipes, same everything).
Only thing that sets them apart is frequency of core and memory. So if he flashes GT with Ultra BIOS (and he knows it will handle Ultra frequencies) then i don't see any problem.
__________________
E5200 @ 3,75GHz | 6GB 800MHz DDR2 | ASUS P5Q Deluxe | HD4850 512MB @ 700/2200 | 750-320 HDD | ASUS Xonar Essence STX + Altec Lansing MX5021
RejZoR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-06, 07:25 AM   #7
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: Possible to SLI 6800 Ultra with GT?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RejZoR
So if he flashes GT with Ultra BIOS (and he knows it will handle Ultra frequencies) then i don't see any problem.
Tell that to the people who have killed their GTs by doing that.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-06, 08:50 AM   #8
zoomy942
 
zoomy942's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bellevue, ID
Posts: 5,336
Send a message via AIM to zoomy942 Send a message via MSN to zoomy942
Default Re: Possible to SLI 6800 Ultra with GT?

what about flashing the ultra to the GT bios?
zoomy942 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-27-06, 09:32 AM   #9
RejZoR
Overclocked Sheep
 
RejZoR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Europe\Slovenia\Ljubljana
Posts: 373
Default Re: Possible to SLI 6800 Ultra with GT?

Quote:
Originally Posted by saturnotaku
Tell that to the people who have killed their GTs by doing that.
Well flashing wrong BIOS over, is obviously not the right way to do it...
__________________
E5200 @ 3,75GHz | 6GB 800MHz DDR2 | ASUS P5Q Deluxe | HD4850 512MB @ 700/2200 | 750-320 HDD | ASUS Xonar Essence STX + Altec Lansing MX5021
RejZoR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-06, 12:12 PM   #10
snowmanwithahat
Snowy
 
snowmanwithahat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 974
Default Re: Possible to SLI 6800 Ultra with GT?

Quote:
Originally Posted by saturnotaku
Tell that to the people who have killed their GTs by doing that.
yeh, if i remember right, 6800 GT's can't usually handle the flash over... there is something you're overlooking

6800 Gt's have a 1.3v on the core and the 6800 ultra is supplied with 1.4v, but that's not the only compication, the memory timings on the two are also different, if i remember right the 6800 ultra runs at tighter timings which basically IF the memory can't handle it, your card is pretty much instantly dead....... although i could be wrong, it could be the other way around, the 6800 ultra might have slightly looser timings, which lets it hit the higher overclocks on the memory, but i'm pretty sure they have tighter timings

anyway, point is, don't make an assumption just because it's the same core, the reason why it's a 6800 Gt is probably because it couldn't handle the 1.4v of a 6800 ultra, and it's out-fitted with different memory.... i'd stay away from flashing that 6800 GT to Ultra, just look into buying either a new ultra, or, sell off the 6800 ultra, and buy a 7800 GTX (this is probably the best option, even one 7800 GTX provides superb performance)
__________________
---Gaming Rig---
Q6600 3.4ghz (378x9) - 1.5v
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
8gb (4x2gb) OCZ Gold DDR2-800 (5-4-4-12)
MSI+ASUS GTX 470 SLI
Dell u3011 IPS Display
HP 22" Auxiliary Monitor
256gb Western Digital Silicon Edge Blue SSD
5x2tb RAID-5 Array
750W PC P&C PSU
Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit & Ubuntu 10.04 64-bit

---Gaming Laptop---
ASUS G53JW
Core i7 740QM
16gb DDR3
Nvidia GTX 460m
1tb WD HDD
120gb Corsair SSD

Join the NvNews Folding @ Home Team
snowmanwithahat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-06, 01:31 PM   #11
rflair
W OOO OOO
 
rflair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: T.O. Canada
Posts: 714
Default Re: Possible to SLI 6800 Ultra with GT?

It would work with a BIOS flash. I would flash the Ultra to a GT.
Well actually I would flash both cards with identical BIOS files.
__________________
Vista x64
Intel Q6600 (3.6GHz 1.45v)
ATI 4890
Sharp Aquos 42" 1080p
ASUS P5K-E
8.0G OCZ RAM
Rig is ON 24/7
rflair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-06, 03:40 PM   #12
Sir Random
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 86
Default Re: Possible to SLI 6800 Ultra with GT?

If the BIOS flash works, then SLI should work too.
The 6800GT uses 2.0ns RAM, but the Ultra uses 1.6ns, so the GT ram might not be able for the Ultra timings.
There's a BIOS editor for 6800's that lets you set the ram timings and voltages, so you could make a custom Ultra BIOS with GT timings, to use on the GT.
__________________
BENCHMARK Central
the overclockers Hall of Fame...

Asus P5W DH Deluxe | E6600 @ 3.0Ghz | 2x1Gb Geil PC6400
POV 8800GTX | Audigy 2 | Enermax Liberty 500w | 2407FPW A04
Sir Random is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
680 GTX SLI + 560 Physx bench for those interested gerardfraser NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 2 06-20-12 04:34 AM
Nvidia GeForce 301.42 WHQL drivers DSC NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 5 05-29-12 10:12 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.