Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-30-06, 04:50 AM   #1
mwdowns
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sado Island, Japan
Posts: 20
Default 6600 256MB vs. 6600GT 128MB

Hello everyone. Nice forum you have here! Been browsing around and saw lots of interesting stuff.

I'm looking to upgrade my crappy Radeon 9200SE AGP card (I know, I know...I just didn't get the "never buy an SE card" advice until after I had bought the card!).

At first, I was deciding between a Sapphire Radeon 9600XT and an ASUS Geforce 6600. I was advised in another forum that I should go with the Geforce 6600 and that I should ditch the vanilla and pick up a GT. Upon looking at the benchmarch scores on Tom's Hardware, I decided to go the Geforce way (I use Linux a lot and Nvidia seems to be less of a hassle with Linux).

However, I am still stuck between the vanilla card and the GT. The vanilla card is one with 256MB RAM, while the GT has 128MB. Also, the vanilla card is about 6000 yen (around 50 bucks) less than the GT. The vanilla is about 110 bucks, while the GT is about 160.

My game playing habits do not lean towards the Half Life, Call of Duty side of gaming. I mostly play stuff like Civilization, SimCity, StarCraft, and (more recently) A Tale in the Desert. I might try out WoW sometime...seems kinda interesting.

Also, I am hoping to get a year-plus or two or more out of the card (trying to milk my Athlon XP 2500+ for as much as I can!).

My questions are these: am I going to kick myself in the future for not getting the GT? Should I just bite the bullet and get the GT? Does the 256MB RAM for the vanilla card make much of a difference between the 128MB for the GT?

Thanks for your help.

My computer specs: Athlon XP 2500+, ASUS A7V8X-MX, 512MB PC2700 RAM (soon to be 1280MB).
mwdowns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-06, 04:54 AM   #2
Infinity666
Yeah I like vw's so what?
 
Infinity666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane wa (Spocompton)
Posts: 679
Send a message via AIM to Infinity666 Send a message via MSN to Infinity666
Default Re: 6600 256MB vs. 6600GT 128MB

GT all the way
__________________
Quote:
The internet is not a truck! The internet is a series of tubes! - Sen. Ted Stevens (R-AK)
|X2 5200+ |GigabyteGA-M61P-S3 | 1GB ddr2 533|Evga 7600gt|Sony dru-710a dvd+/- rw | Aspire 500w psu |Seagate 80gb|Seagate 250gb|

.....\____
..../__|__\___
....\(o)___(o)/
Infinity666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-06, 07:47 AM   #3
shabby
Forcefed GXP
 
shabby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,138
Default Re: 6600 256MB vs. 6600GT 128MB

Not only will you kick yourself for not getting the gt, but so will we... get the gt.
More memory will not help on a slower card.
__________________
2500k/Asus P67-Pro/8gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3/X25-M/p190
shabby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-06, 08:36 AM   #4
mwdowns
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sado Island, Japan
Posts: 20
Default Re: 6600 256MB vs. 6600GT 128MB

Thanks for the replies!

OK. I don't want to be kicked. I'll get the GT.

Miser that I am, I went searching and found a cheaper (by about 1000 yen...I said miser) GT. The cheaper one is by Gigabyte. What are the differences between the manufacturers of the card?

Upon closer inspection, I noticed the memory speed for the ASUS is listed as 900mhz, while the Gigabyte is listed as 1000mhz. The Gigabyte one has a faster memory speed, but is less money. The only reason I could see is that the ASUS one comes with a Japanese manual (I live in Japan, so I am buying from a Japanese site).

Anyway, I'll be getting a GT pretty soon. Thanks again for your input.
mwdowns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-06, 05:46 PM   #5
nV`andrew
Akrynym
 
nV`andrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 2,351
Send a message via AIM to nV`andrew Send a message via MSN to nV`andrew Send a message via Skype™ to nV`andrew
Default Re: 6600 256MB vs. 6600GT 128MB

You could get the gigabyte one, even if it does not have a japanese manual, as you seem to read and write english quite fluently. Anyways, there is not too much of a difference in the card manufacturers. If the site has reviews, read the reviews on both the asus and gigabyte. The gigabyte looks like a good deal in this situation. Good luck with the upgrade!
__________________
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P || Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 w/ Zalman CNPS9500 HSF || Kingston HyperX SLi Certified [4x1GB] DDR2-1066 ||
eVGA GeForce GTX460 SuperClocked Edition || 2x Seagate 120GB[240GB] Barracuda SATA || 1x Seagate 1000GB Storage
OCZ GameXStream 700W || X-Fi XtremeMusic || Sennheiser HD555's || Antec 900 || Logitech MX518 || Saitek Eclipse II Samsung 24" HDTV/LCD 1920x1200 ||
nV`andrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-06, 06:03 PM   #6
mwdowns
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sado Island, Japan
Posts: 20
Default Re: 6600 256MB vs. 6600GT 128MB

Quote:
Originally Posted by nV`andrew
You could get the gigabyte one, even if it does not have a japanese manual, as you seem to read and write english quite fluently. Anyways, there is not too much of a difference in the card manufacturers. If the site has reviews, read the reviews on both the asus and gigabyte. The gigabyte looks like a good deal in this situation. Good luck with the upgrade!
Thanks for the reply. I'll go with the Gigabyte.

Also, I'm not Japanese, just living in Japan!
mwdowns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-06, 07:31 PM   #7
Gentle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Posts: 580
Default Re: 6600 256MB vs. 6600GT 128MB

As long as the memory modules are 2ns ram, most memory will clock to 1000MHz without an issue.

If you have 1.6ns ram (not common in recent time) you could clock to 1200MHz easily.

You will probably get 2.0ns ram.

Good luck.

Gentle
Gentle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-06, 10:12 PM   #8
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,859
Default Re: 6600 256MB vs. 6600GT 128MB

You should go with the 6600GT even though it has less memory because it will be faster in games and most come clocked at 500/1000 ,and most plain 6600 comes clocked at 300/500 on memory ,so with the memory being so slow the extra 128mbs really just don't help ,it just a quimick to get people to buy it.the extra money for the 6600GT is well worth it IMO.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-31-06, 08:11 AM   #9
mwdowns
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sado Island, Japan
Posts: 20
Default Re: 6600 256MB vs. 6600GT 128MB

Thanks for all the advice, folks.

I just ordered the Gigabyte Geforce 6600GT. Hopefully it'll be arriving in the mail soon. And I'll let you know how the install goes.

Again, thanks for your help.
mwdowns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-06, 02:56 PM   #10
Gentle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Posts: 580
Default Re: 6600 256MB vs. 6600GT 128MB

Few things to remember.

You need a power supply that cranks out a lot of AMPS on the +12v rail.

6600GT AGP needs a power lead plugged into the card. Prefereably nothing else sharing the lead. Don't know if your current card uses one or not...

If you have performance issues, look into uninstalling and reinstalling the motherboard GART driver for the AGP bus. It's easy and is often the solution to performance issues.

Gentle
Gentle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-06, 02:56 AM   #11
mwdowns
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sado Island, Japan
Posts: 20
Default Re: 6600 256MB vs. 6600GT 128MB

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gentle
Few things to remember.

You need a power supply that cranks out a lot of AMPS on the +12v rail.

6600GT AGP needs a power lead plugged into the card. Prefereably nothing else sharing the lead. Don't know if your current card uses one or not...

If you have performance issues, look into uninstalling and reinstalling the motherboard GART driver for the AGP bus. It's easy and is often the solution to performance issues.

Gentle
Thanks for the pointers, Gentle.

About the power supply...I have a 400W powersupply. I'm pretty sure I've got power to spare. My current card does use a power lead. I haven't opened up the case in a while, but I remember there being a lot of extra power leads. I should be OK.

I have no idea what you're talking about with the GART driver. But, if I have performcance issues, I'll be back!

One question: I downloaded the newest version of Nvidia's drivers. I'm going to assume that it would be better to use those instead of the drivers included on the CD that comes with the card. An OK assumption?

And I'm just going to use the ATI driver uininstall utility, turn off the computer, change cards, and then boot back up. That should get me where I need to be (as per installing the new drivers), right?
mwdowns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-06, 08:21 AM   #12
911medic
Is it football season yet
 
911medic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Near Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 715
Default Re: 6600 256MB vs. 6600GT 128MB

When switching from an ATI card to an nVidia one, you may find it beneficial to use DriverCleaner (www.drivercleaner.net). Instructions with the program.
__________________
E4300 @ 3GHz (lapped) || Tuniq Tower 120 (lapped) || Gigabyte EP45-UD3L || eVGA 8800GTS 640MB @ 648/1512/999 || 6GB DDR2-800 @ 5-5-5-15|| 74GB Raptor || 80GB Caviar || 250GB WD || Corsair HX520W || Samsung 225BW 22" LCD (1680x1050) || X-Fi XtremeGamer || Win7 RC x64 || Antec SX1040BII Server Tower || Altec-Lansing ATP3 Speakers
No comprehension to fail; I vacuum the wind for my sail
Can't be the rest; Let others waste my time?
Owning success is the bottom line

911medic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.