Go Back   nV News Forums > Website Related > Feedback Forum

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-31-06, 10:17 PM   #1
Impruv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 55
Default Server too busy?

Is it just me or what? I constantly get an error when I try to get into a thread saying, "The server is too busy at the moment. Please try again later."....Sometimes if I refresh a few times it works, sometimes it doesn't; whats going on?
__________________
(HP M7160N) PD 820 (2.8 GHz x 2) L2 Cache, 2 x 1MB , 800mhz FSB, HT enabled, not OC. |BFG GeForce 6600GT 128MB GDDR3 PCI-Express O/C 550/1150 | Intel ® High Definition Audio with up to 7.1 ss | 1.0GB PC2-3200 DDR2 SDRAM 400mhz| 250GB 7200RPM Serial ATA hard drive | 17" HP vs17 LCD Monitor, | DVD-ROM drive 16x max. speed | HP optical mouse |
Impruv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-06, 10:18 PM   #2
MikeC
Administrator
 
MikeC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Virginia
Posts: 7,529
Default Re: Server too busy?

Our CPU cannot handle our traffic today. Sorry
MikeC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-06, 10:39 PM   #3
rewt
mmm, Beer.. :drooling:
 
rewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 3,667
Default Re: Server too busy?

Same error here.

MikeC are you positive it is CPU problem? Or could it be more related to bandwidth or # of TCP connections. Just being curious.
__________________
My pimp'n rig
Athlon64 Venice 3000+ @ 2.6GHz (4100+) · Win XP Pro x86, Vista Ultimate x64 · eVGA K8-NF41 nForce4 SLi · Corsair XMS 1.5GB PC3200 CAS2/1T · eVGA 2x 6600GT SLi · Leadtek Winfast TV2000 XP Deluxe · Western Digital Caviar SE ½TB RAID 0/1 · PowerLink LPK2-30 400W · LiteON LDW-411S OC to 811S 8x DVD±R/RW/ROM · MicroAdvantage 64MB QuickiDrive · Samsung SyncMaster 931B 19" LCD · Microsoft Optical Wheel Mouse USB · Sony PSXtoUSB Analog Gamepads · Memorex MX2700 Multimedia Keyboard · Lexmark 3200 Color Jetprinter · nForce Network Controller 1Gb/s LAN (Cable ~3Mb/s down) · ΩPioneer Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound
rewt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-06, 10:43 PM   #4
Impruv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 55
Default Re: Server too busy?

actually it wasn't just today ...its been the past 2 or 3 days....just to let you know...but continue the great work; love this place
__________________
(HP M7160N) PD 820 (2.8 GHz x 2) L2 Cache, 2 x 1MB , 800mhz FSB, HT enabled, not OC. |BFG GeForce 6600GT 128MB GDDR3 PCI-Express O/C 550/1150 | Intel ® High Definition Audio with up to 7.1 ss | 1.0GB PC2-3200 DDR2 SDRAM 400mhz| 250GB 7200RPM Serial ATA hard drive | 17" HP vs17 LCD Monitor, | DVD-ROM drive 16x max. speed | HP optical mouse |
Impruv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-06, 10:48 PM   #5
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Server too busy?

I just noticed it today... its getting pwn3d
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-06, 10:51 PM   #6
MikeC
Administrator
 
MikeC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Virginia
Posts: 7,529
Default Re: Server too busy?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rewt
Same error here.

MikeC are you positive it is CPU problem? Or could it be more related to bandwidth or # of TCP connections. Just being curious.

We've got enough bandwidth. The rising CPU usage has been a problem for some time now. Our traffic has more than doubled since we moved to this server. I am working on trying to move us to another server that can better handle our traffic.
MikeC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-06, 10:58 PM   #7
Son Goku
Registered User
 
Son Goku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: 439 East District, Mount Paozu
Posts: 1,714
Default Re: Server too busy?

I didn't notice it the past coupla days, but this evening I've been seeing this error message a bit.

/me wondering if someone has slash dotted our forum or something

Perhaps it'll be less so during the nightime hours, not sure...
Son Goku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-06, 11:07 PM   #8
rewt
mmm, Beer.. :drooling:
 
rewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 3,667
Default Re: Server too busy?

Just mentioned TCP connections because denial of service attacks have been known to cause this error with server as well. Probably because they eat up so much resources.

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=83521
__________________
My pimp'n rig
Athlon64 Venice 3000+ @ 2.6GHz (4100+) · Win XP Pro x86, Vista Ultimate x64 · eVGA K8-NF41 nForce4 SLi · Corsair XMS 1.5GB PC3200 CAS2/1T · eVGA 2x 6600GT SLi · Leadtek Winfast TV2000 XP Deluxe · Western Digital Caviar SE ½TB RAID 0/1 · PowerLink LPK2-30 400W · LiteON LDW-411S OC to 811S 8x DVD±R/RW/ROM · MicroAdvantage 64MB QuickiDrive · Samsung SyncMaster 931B 19" LCD · Microsoft Optical Wheel Mouse USB · Sony PSXtoUSB Analog Gamepads · Memorex MX2700 Multimedia Keyboard · Lexmark 3200 Color Jetprinter · nForce Network Controller 1Gb/s LAN (Cable ~3Mb/s down) · ΩPioneer Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound
rewt is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-31-06, 11:35 PM   #9
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default Re: Server too busy?

Yeah I seen "Server too busy" message over 15 times today. I wonder what CPU and memory used for NvNews server? If the CPU caused a problem with the server then maybe I and other members of NvNews will be happy to donate fund for the brand spank new Athlon 64 X2 4800+ or... Athlon FX 60 CPU.
__________________
Intel Core i7 3770K, Corsair H80 liquid cooler with Noctua S12-1200 fan, ASUS P8Z77V with UEFI 2104, 16GB Samsung Green 30nm DDR3-RAM, Pioneer BDR-S09XLT 16x Blu-ray writer, Corsair AX850 PSU, Western Digital 2TB SATA3 hard drive, CanonScan LiDE 210 scanner, Microsoft Internet Keyboard, Microsoft Touch Explorer mouse, 32inch Sharp LC32LE600 LED TV, EVGA Geforce GTX 670 SC 4GB with Geforce 370.50 driver, 50Mb broadband Virgin Media VMDG480 Super Hub, Aspire Xplorer Midi Tower, Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-06, 11:41 PM   #10
MikeC
Administrator
 
MikeC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Virginia
Posts: 7,529
Default Re: Server too busy?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AthlonXP1800
Yeah I seen "Server too busy" message over 15 times today. I wonder what CPU and memory used for NvNews server? If the CPU caused a problem with the server then maybe I and other members of NvNews will be happy to donate fund for the brand spank new Athlon 64 X2 4800+ or... Athlon FX 60 CPU.

Thanks that's very kind. The website has money it's just finding a server. I lease this one from The Planet. I just had this one OS hardened, added more memory and ugraded my maintenace service plan and it hasn't helped.
MikeC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-06, 11:52 PM   #11
retsam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,602
Default Re: Server too busy?

have you looked into buidling your own server and just colocating it?. usually cheaper then renting and you can do the same with the server as you would as if you were renting one.
retsam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-06, 11:56 PM   #12
MikeC
Administrator
 
MikeC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Virginia
Posts: 7,529
Default Re: Server too busy?

Quote:
Originally Posted by retsam
have you looked into buidling your own server and just colocating it?. usually cheaper then renting and you can do the same with the server as you would as if you were renting one.
No, I haven't looked into that. I had hard time logging onto this one after they secured it. Good idea but I don't think I am qualified to do it.
MikeC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fujitsu Marries GPUs and Xeon in High-Density HPC Server News Archived News Items 0 06-13-12 07:30 PM
Virtualization, Windows Server 2012 dominate Microsoft's TechEd News Archived News Items 0 06-11-12 07:10 PM
nvidia error and server stuck barbara NVIDIA FreeBSD 3 04-30-12 02:20 PM
XF86COnifg-4 configuring and server crashes JoeJaz100 NVIDIA Linux 2 10-01-02 10:49 AM
Need help to get the X to work on my Acer TravelMate 630 knchee NVIDIA Linux 16 09-19-02 11:16 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.