Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-08-06, 04:24 PM   #1
Roliath
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default 5900 flash to 5950?

I just bought a 5900 off this board, (fast shipping ftw!) for a backup rig I have.
3200XP, 1GB Corsair XMS, crappy mobo, onboard sound, etc etc..
Well, I remember that some people were successfully flashing 5900s to bonafide 5950's.

I probably won't do it, but I would like to know that I can.. the card's stock clocks were I believe 400/800 and coolbits autodetected 475/950 (artifact free).
Now, is this pretty good?

So has anyone here actually done this flash? Sorry for the not soo organized post, but I am writing my Mid-Term Paper right now aswell.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-06, 04:42 PM   #2
ruff97
Registered User
 
ruff97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 230
Default Re: 5900 flash to 5950?

i see you like the card
__________________
EVGA nForce 780i SLI
Intel Q6600 GO FSB 9x400 (3.6) at 1.46 and memory is at 450
G.SKILL 4GB (4 x 1GB)DDR2 800 F2-6400CL4D-2GBHK 4-4-4-8
H20-220 Apex "Ultra" Extreme
2x SLI Evga 8800 GTX
Thermaltake Mozart TX Entertainment Case
OCZ 1000w
ruff97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-06, 04:47 PM   #3
snowmanwithahat
Snowy
 
snowmanwithahat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 974
Default Re: 5900 flash to 5950?

yes, it's possible, especially if it's a 5900 ultra you'll have a good success-rate, but if you can just overclock to 475/950 then it won't matter if you flash it, flashing will just set the default speeds to that and raise the vcore, which i wouldn't do if i were you. while it probably will work fine, it will shorten the life of the card, if you can overclock, then go ahead and do it, but don't flash unless you really "need" to get the high clock speeds

btw wrong forum for this, but doesn't really matter to me
__________________
---Gaming Rig---
Q6600 3.4ghz (378x9) - 1.5v
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
8gb (4x2gb) OCZ Gold DDR2-800 (5-4-4-12)
MSI+ASUS GTX 470 SLI
Dell u3011 IPS Display
HP 22" Auxiliary Monitor
256gb Western Digital Silicon Edge Blue SSD
5x2tb RAID-5 Array
750W PC P&C PSU
Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit & Ubuntu 10.04 64-bit

---Gaming Laptop---
ASUS G53JW
Core i7 740QM
16gb DDR3
Nvidia GTX 460m
1tb WD HDD
120gb Corsair SSD

Join the NvNews Folding @ Home Team
snowmanwithahat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-06, 08:09 PM   #4
Roliath
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 5900 flash to 5950?

Well i have it clocked at 475/950 right now, and its pretty stable.
It sure is big difference from my 7800GTX 512MB, but than again I really don't play games on that rig.
Its mostly for anyone to use the internet, and do light gaming and getting some quick LAN action going!

Thanks ruff!
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-06, 09:27 PM   #5
The Bigman
Power User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 465
Default Re: 5900 flash to 5950?

I Used the 5900 PNY XT and its not a bad card i used it in a Nvidia Nforce Box with a xp2000 and was ok in ut2k4 so so 12-10 not bad don't bother just oc with cb2. its nothin like 7800 but ok.

Cheers
The Bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-06, 09:36 PM   #6
snowmanwithahat
Snowy
 
snowmanwithahat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 974
Default Re: 5900 flash to 5950?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roliath
Well i have it clocked at 475/950 right now, and its pretty stable.
It sure is big difference from my 7800GTX 512MB, but than again I really don't play games on that rig.
Its mostly for anyone to use the internet, and do light gaming and getting some quick LAN action going!

Thanks ruff!
yeh the 5900 ultra i had was a joke compared to this 6800 GT, but they're not horrible, they get the job done as long as you're not a serious gamer with high-quality needs, or as long as you don't use it all the time

hope it runs ok for ya
__________________
---Gaming Rig---
Q6600 3.4ghz (378x9) - 1.5v
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
8gb (4x2gb) OCZ Gold DDR2-800 (5-4-4-12)
MSI+ASUS GTX 470 SLI
Dell u3011 IPS Display
HP 22" Auxiliary Monitor
256gb Western Digital Silicon Edge Blue SSD
5x2tb RAID-5 Array
750W PC P&C PSU
Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit & Ubuntu 10.04 64-bit

---Gaming Laptop---
ASUS G53JW
Core i7 740QM
16gb DDR3
Nvidia GTX 460m
1tb WD HDD
120gb Corsair SSD

Join the NvNews Folding @ Home Team
snowmanwithahat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-06, 09:41 PM   #7
Roliath
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 5900 flash to 5950?

Yeah, I won't be using it for awhile.
Like I said, mainly for when someone comes over and needs to use a computer.
I hate having people use my rig, I dunno why but it bugs me.
And its in my dad's office so its doesn't bother me much .
I installed BF2, Fear, CoD2, and WoW on that rig and its going pretty good.
Its good for low to mid resolution gaming, with decent graphics.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-06, 05:21 AM   #8
jimmor
Registered User
 
jimmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 568
Default Re: 5900 flash to 5950?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roliath
I just bought a 5900 off this board, (fast shipping ftw!) for a backup rig I have.
3200XP, 1GB Corsair XMS, crappy mobo, onboard sound, etc etc..
Well, I remember that some people were successfully flashing 5900s to bonafide 5950's.

I probably won't do it, but I would like to know that I can.. the card's stock clocks were I believe 400/800 and coolbits autodetected 475/950 (artifact free).
Now, is this pretty good?

So has anyone here actually done this flash? Sorry for the not soo organized post, but I am writing my Mid-Term Paper right now aswell.
You will have NO problems flashing your 5900nu with a 5950u bios. The 5900nu was the most versatile and upgradable version made. And its easy ability to be turned into a 5950u is why it was discontinued and replaced with the less good 5900xt type.

So, apart from your card only having 128Mb of memory, the flashed 5900nu will become a 5950u card. And very good 5950u bioses to flash with are those from MSI or BFG.

The extra core volts from using a 5950u bios, and because a 5900nu is fitted with 2.2ns memory chips, should easily allow overclocks to 500+/1000+ levels. But if intending to go that high, I suggest you first fit better than stock heatsinking.

The 5900nu is in fact an excellent, very overclockable and tweakable, card which for its time could be made to perform extremely well. For example, my highly overclocked and tweaked Aopen 5900nu, flashed with a bfg5950u bios, achieved the following.

Driver, 75.90 :-

Aquamark3, 55347
Codecreatures1, 67.3
3Dmark05 v120, 1482
3Dmark03 v360, 8077
3Dmark2001se v330, 20709


And for comparison, apart from the DX9 scores of 3Dmark05, these scores are better than those from my newer 6800le out of the box.

Aquamark3, 46207
Codecreatures1, 55.9
3Dmark05 v120, 2521
3Dmark03 v360, 7345
3Dmark2001se v330, 18858


So if wanting to look more into what is possible with a 5900, I suggest you check out the linked thread below,

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=29230
__________________
The more I know, the more I know I don't know

Intel P4 3.2 @ 3.85GHz (ASUS P4C800E-Deluxe)
BFG 6800GS (16x1,6vp) @ 300/430/1200.

Driver, 82.12 :-
Aquamark3, 75039
Codecreatures1, 90.8
3Dmark05 v120, 6195
3Dmark03 v360, 14334
3Dmark06 v102, 2949
3Dmark2001se v330, 23793.
jimmor is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-09-06, 03:35 PM   #9
Roliath
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 5900 flash to 5950?

your the guy I was looking for...
I remember your threads about the 5900xt bioses.

Thanks, and I think I'm going to flash it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-06, 04:38 PM   #10
ruff97
Registered User
 
ruff97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 230
Default Re: 5900 flash to 5950?

let us know how it going
__________________
EVGA nForce 780i SLI
Intel Q6600 GO FSB 9x400 (3.6) at 1.46 and memory is at 450
G.SKILL 4GB (4 x 1GB)DDR2 800 F2-6400CL4D-2GBHK 4-4-4-8
H20-220 Apex "Ultra" Extreme
2x SLI Evga 8800 GTX
Thermaltake Mozart TX Entertainment Case
OCZ 1000w
ruff97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-06, 12:36 AM   #11
Thoreau
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 95
Default Re: 5900 flash to 5950?

The card I'm on now is a flashed Asus 5900 to 5950 Ultra with 128 MB's of RAM. The card actually runs better than before. No more lockups. Some cards don't like to be underclocked, and I found out that this card is one of them. It's helped tremendously.
Thoreau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-06, 11:28 AM   #12
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: 5900 flash to 5950?

What I'm stumped on is this:

I've always wanted to flash the VGA bios on my 5950U. Mine is the ASUS V9980Ultra, the SECOND revision- which in my opinion never should have been released.

Anyways, I hear about how the e-VGA and BFG bios for the 5950Ultra's were the better ones. This might be true and nice and all, but WHERE DO YOU FIND THESE BIOS? I've looked every where I can think to look, but no where do I see anything about a BFG or eVGA bios. Is it even a download? Or what?

And, yes Jimmor, I've read your guide to flashing the 5950U bios. I'm just stumped on where the new bios comes from. Does it work ANYTHING like flashing the mobo bios? Or am I thinking about this whole thing the wrong way?
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The big problem with Microsoft's Flash whitelist News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-06-12 01:50 PM
Internet Explorer 10: embedded Flash, Do Not Track, and stable standards News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-02-12 03:10 AM
Exclusive Video: Time Jump Is Men in Black 3's Flash of Sci-Fi Genius News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-25-12 01:40 PM
Lightspark For Open Flash Inches Forward News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-19-12 11:20 AM
Screen flash briefly problem tamahome NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 8 09-19-02 12:07 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.