Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-10-06, 10:09 AM   #13
bender_the_bot
bite my shiny metall ass
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1
Default Re: 6600 Gaming problem :-(

hello,

i´ve got some probs with my 6600 AGP,too.
After running Battlefield 2 for some minutes, there are heavy graphic bugs.

I tried different force wares including that one on the BF2 DVD (77.30) and even older ones. But the problem still appears.

I played with a radeon 9250 before and everything was fine. (except: resolution, lightfx, antialiasing, textures, shadows.... )

my cfg.
Athlon 2100+
1 GB DDR Ram
ECS K7S5A (latestbios / sis vga drivers)
Game Theatre XP (ext.sound)
xp pro (latest updates)
BF2 (latest updates 1.12)

any idea ?

bender

Last edited by bender_the_bot; 02-10-06 at 11:00 AM.
bender_the_bot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-06, 11:16 AM   #14
Daydre@m
QuadCore-Spam® Enabled
 
Daydre@m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 524
Send a message via MSN to Daydre@m
Default Re: 6600 Gaming problem :-(

Well I have the nearly same system and I upgraded to an Asus N6600 with 512Mb DDR 400Mhz Kingston and had random crashes in latest games , and it took me around a week to figure out my problem .

Total System :

Athlon XP 2000+
(Spektek) 256MB DDR 266Mhz + ( Kingston ) 512MB DDR 400Mhz
Gigabyte GA-7VKML-p ( VIA + AGP 4x)
300Watt PSU

Now I thought the crashes were related to memory , I tried taking out one stick at a time but crashes were still there . I changed VIA drivers , changed GPU drivers but still the problems were there . I thought it was heating up of my CPU since the idling temperatures were 49 degrees but nope the temperatures didn't even touch 55 and before that the games crashed . I was very confused thought about RMA but just day before yesterday I increased processor Voltage and WHOELAA , it worked . Prime 95 was stable , HL-2 ands Quake 4 ran fine .

Anyway my GPU idles at 31 / 37 which is quite lower than your GPU . I think you have a temperature problem .

Also I remember my cousin had such problems in games and the problem was the drivers of his chipset were conflicting with the GPU drivers , so uninstall them too and then see .

I have also have a friend who had the same GPU and sound card as you and the problem was his sound card drivers conflicting with the GPU drivers ( but his games were crashing not showing artifacts ) .

Try all of this , I hope it helps but I think your temperatures are quite high . Try opening one case side and install some fans , it should lower the temperatue bu 5 or 10 degrees .
__________________
Current Rig 1:
Core 2 Duo E6500 @2.93Ghz| Foxconn X38A Digital Life Motherboard| 4GB Geil DDRII @1066Mhz| Evga GTX260 | Thermaltake Armor Series Casing| OCZ 600Watt StealthXstream| Seagate 500GB SATAII 3Gbps/32Mb Cache HDD's| Viewsonic 28" LCD| Logitech X-550

Current Rig 2:
Intel E5500 @3Ghz| MSI Neo 2 FP/P35| Corsair 2GB DDRII @900Mhz| 2x ATI HD3870s Crossfire| Cooler master Casing| OCZ 600Watt Stealth X Stream| Seagate 120GB HDD| Hanns G 22" Widescreen LCD| Bose 2.1


Current Rig 3:
Intel E2180 @ 2.7Ghz*|Geforce 8600GT*| 2GB Kingston DDRII 667*| Asus P5Q Pro Motherboard|Acer 22" Widescreen LCD| Bose 2.0

*Yeah I know it sucks!
Daydre@m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-06, 12:36 PM   #15
Frostmind
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Default Re: 6600 Gaming problem :-(

Hi, thanks for the answers. I've just tried unplugging and uninstalling my soundcard. and then i reinstalled my video card. It didn't help

I've also tried the temperature issiue. I opened the windows on my appartment (I live way up in sweden). that lowerd my Gpu to 20C and my Ram to 22C. It's really cold here now But as always the problem still remains

To night i shall try the card in my friends computer.. I'lll be back with the results
Frostmind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-06, 07:28 PM   #16
Frostmind
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Default Re: 6600 Gaming problem :-(

There is nothing wrong with the card... I worked perfectly in my friends computer! It must be some kind of compability problem with my computer.

The 6600 should work with AGP4x right??

Or is my A7V classic to old?
Frostmind is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Witness the Dawn of GeForce GRID Cloud Gaming at E3 News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 03:30 PM
Nvidia On Cloud As The Future Of PC Gaming News Archived News Items 0 05-30-12 03:40 PM
Product Review ' SteelSeries Scope Gaming Eyewear by Gunnar News Archived News Items 0 05-18-12 10:30 PM
System freezes while gaming with a GeForce4 Grimwall NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 12 07-31-02 08:50 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.