Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-05-03, 11:40 AM   #1
firemark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4
Unhappy no Virtual Terminals with 4191 Drivers (Mandrake 9.0)

OK, so I've got a GForce MX440 card on my system. Using Mandrake 9.0. When X is running, I've got no VT. Ctrl+Alt+1 (or 2,3,4,5 or 6) gives me nothing but a black screen. (No signal.. monitor goes into sleep mode)

Any ideas? (other than waiting for the next driver update)

Thanks in advance.

-G
firemark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-03, 03:21 PM   #2
Ballatom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 5
Default

The following config file might give you some help (it works on my GF2 GO with mdk 9.0)

Marc


# File generated by XFdrake.

# ************************************************** ********************
# Refer to the XF86Config(4/5) man page for details about the format of
# this file.
# ************************************************** ********************

Section "Files"
RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"

# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
# By default, Mandrake 6.0 and later now use a font server independent of
# the X server to render fonts.

FontPath "unix/:-1"
EndSection
# ************************************************** ********************
# Server flags section.
# ************************************************** ********************

Section "ServerFlags"
# Uncomment this to disable the <Crtl><Alt><BS> server abort sequence
# This allows clients to receive this key event.
#DontZap

# Uncomment this to disable the <Crtl><Alt><KP_+>/<KP_-> mode switching
# sequences. This allows clients to receive these key events.
#DontZoom

# This allows the server to start up even if the
# mouse device can't be opened/initialised.
AllowMouseOpenFail

# Uncomment this to cause a core dump at the spot where a signal is
# received. This may leave the console in an unusable state, but may
# provide a better stack trace in the core dump to aid in debugging
#NoTrapSignals
EndSection
# ************************************************** ********************
# Input devices
# ************************************************** ********************

# ************************************************** ********************
# Keyboard section
# ************************************************** ********************

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard1"
Driver "Keyboard"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "fr"
Option "AutoRepeat" "250 30"
Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
EndSection

Section "Module"
# This loads the DBE extension module.
Load "dbe"

# This loads the Video for Linux module.
Load "v4l"

# This loads the Type1 and FreeType font modules

Load "type1"
Load "freetype"
Load "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.so"

# This loads the miscellaneous extensions module, and disables
# initialisation of the XFree86-DGA extension within that module.

Subsection "extmod"
#Option "omit xfree86-dga"
EndSubsection
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/usbmouse"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse2"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "PS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "Emulate3Buttons"
Option "Emulate3Timeout" "50"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "monitor1"
VendorName "Generic"
ModelName "Flat Panel 1400x1050"
HorizSync 31.5-90
VertRefresh 59-75

# Sony Vaio C1(X,XS,VE,VN)?
# 1024x480 @ 85.6 Hz, 48 kHz hsync
ModeLine "1024x480" 65.00 1024 1032 1176 1344 480 488 494 563 -hsync -vsync

# TV fullscreen mode or DVD fullscreen output.
# 768x576 @ 79 Hz, 50 kHz hsync
ModeLine "768x576" 50.00 768 832 846 1000 576 590 595 630

# 768x576 @ 100 Hz, 61.6 kHz hsync
ModeLine "768x576" 63.07 768 800 960 1024 576 578 590 616
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "device1"
VendorName "nVidia Corporation"
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce2 DDR (generic)"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "screen1"
Device "device1"
Monitor "monitor1"
DefaultColorDepth 16

Subsection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "1400x1050" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubsection

Subsection "Display"
Depth 15
Modes "1400x1050" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubsection

Subsection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1400x1050" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubsection

Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1400x1050" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubsection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "layout1"
InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Mouse2" "SendCoreEvents"
Screen "screen1"
EndSection
Ballatom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-03, 10:27 AM   #3
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Are you using rivafb for your framebuffer console driver?
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-03, 01:38 PM   #4
firemark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4
Default

I really don't know. That's not a setting I've 'noticed' in the config files. Can you tell me how I'd find out, and what to do if the answer is yes?

Thanks.

-Gordon
firemark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-03, 02:07 PM   #5
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

I'm not positive how to find out. If the system is set up one way, then doing an /sbin/lsmod before starting X will list "rivafb" if you are using it. If it's not set up as a module, though, then it won't.

If you can find a config-xxxx file somewhere (perhaps in /boot) that matches your kernel, read through it and look for something like "CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_RIVAFB" or something. I don't remember what it's called exactly. Make sure it says "=n" after it; this turns it off. If it says =y, then you'll have to recompile a kernel to turn it off (when you're configuring the new kernel, select no for all framebuffer devices except "VESA VGA").

If it already says "=n", though, then rivafb isn't your problem.

Wait a minute -- are you hitting Ctrl-Alt-1, or Ctrl-Alt-F1? You need to use F1...
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-03, 08:07 PM   #6
firemark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4
Default

I'm doing the F-keys, not the numbers. sorry for the confusion.

I'll check my kernel conf file and modules.. and report back.
firemark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-03, 12:31 AM   #7
mtrr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 234
Send a message via ICQ to mtrr
Default

fb driver name is reported by looking at "/proc/fb".

cat /proc/fb should give you the needed information.


cheers
mtrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-03, 09:18 PM   #8
madhead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 7
Unhappy I have exactly the same problem!

Sorry for the cross thread but I've just asked the same question I've got exaclty the same problem.

Fixed it!

Opps correction - its not fixed. I have found out that if the TV isn't connected at first power on this problem doesn't exist. I.e. All VT's work including X.

However, if I connect the TV before X starts (initlevel3) all VTs working. After X starts no VT's at all, not even with a reboot the TV has to be disconnected from from the PC.

Have you managed to fix your problem firemark?

Last edited by madhead; 01-12-03 at 08:32 AM.
madhead is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-20-03, 04:45 AM   #9
palosba
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1
Send a message via ICQ to palosba
Default the same problem

After initialization of nvidia module and graphic mode by the X all attempts to go back to text console (vt1-6) failed because of too high horizontal frequency used. In my situation the frequency is 165Hz, which my monitor cannot handle.
I have DDC-enabled monitor, XFree86.log lists correct ranges for it.
This appears only after initialization of nvidia driver, boot screen is okay.
I have GeForce4 MX440 with no attached TV.
The question is how to set correct vrefresh for text mode?
palosba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-03, 07:40 AM   #10
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

If you knew enough about VESA, you could hack the vesafb driver to possibly do it... maybe...

I don't know of any easy ways to do it, though.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-03, 06:43 PM   #11
firemark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4
Default

Well, Ive not had much time to work on this problem, but I have learned that it's not the rivafb issue. "cat /proc/fb reveals only VESA VGA framebuffer configured.

so, It appears NOT to be a problem with the RIVA framebuffer, right?
firemark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-03, 09:44 PM   #12
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Right, it's not rivafb.

Hmm... :-/
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mandrake Linux 9.0 (Dolphin) now available | comments? volt General Linux 10 10-19-02 10:13 PM
Mandrake 9 and nVidia drivers HunterA3 NVIDIA Linux 9 10-09-02 02:54 AM
Mandrake 9.0 and drivers KramitDfrog NVIDIA Linux 2 10-06-02 05:14 PM
Mandrake 9.0 driver installation Andy Mecham NVIDIA Linux 3 10-02-02 04:12 PM
mandrake 9.0 beta 4 junkphreak2002 NVIDIA Linux 6 09-04-02 08:23 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.