Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > General Software

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-14-06, 02:49 PM   #1
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Firefox Memory Usage... not a leak?

http://weblogs.mozillazine.org/ben/archives/009749.html

My friend sent me that. VERY interesting. I played around with the setting a bit and it seems to have a small effect on my work machine here, but with only 512Mb of RAM its hard to tell the difference in usage.

When I get home Im going to play with it some more. When I watch a lot of videos, like at eBuam's world or LookAtEntertainment, I usually open them in their own tabs. This would explain why my firefox hits 400-500Mb usage some times.

For those that dont know, you can get into Firefox's advanced settings to change things like this by typing about:config in the address bar.

All FF users should check out that article... its an informative read.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-06, 05:43 PM   #2
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Firefox Memory Usage... not a leak?

Well I set it from -1 (which is the auto setting... it changes depending on your RAM, for me this is equal to 8) to 2 and Im not noticing much difference in memory usage. It still went up to 130Mb after opening a whole lot of random pages in a bunch of tabs, and it stayed there after closing them.

I guess the program just has overall poor memory management. Im not running low by any means, but it seems a bit unnecessary for it to be using upwards of 400Mb and not giving any of it back until I close all windows and all tabs (including the download manager).
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-06, 06:43 PM   #3
Peoples-Agent
Vape Therapist
 
Peoples-Agent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,308
Default Re: Firefox Memory Usage... not a leak?

Mine never goes above 50-60MB but I use a script.
Not sure if this has something to do with it, but your welcome to try.
Gives a nice speed boost to boot, and less memory usage for whatever reason.

http://www.sendspace.com/file/2n5d78

First you have to allow viewing of hidden files / folders.
In Windows Explorer, Tools, Folder Options, View > Show Hidden Files and Folders.

Then go into C:\Documents and Settings\(User name)\Application Data\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\Blahblah.default ( This can be anything prettymuch) ....place the prefs file in there, might overwrite a current one.

Don't worry too much, because if your not happy with it.. just delete it and next time Firefox opens it creates a new one.
Also, make sure Firefox isn't open at the time when you do it.

Let me know how it goes.
__________________
For The Fallen
With proud thanksgiving, a mother for her children,
England mourns for her dead across the sea.
Flesh of her flesh they were, spirit of her spirit,
Fallen in the cause of the free.
Peoples-Agent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-06, 11:53 PM   #4
Imbroglio
xeroyphyte
 
Imbroglio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,271
Default Re: Firefox Memory Usage... not a leak?

alright, so i click on the link and i didn't see that size 4 text at the bottom of the page to begin download for about 6 minutes, i didn't know wtf was going on. anyways, this script is F'NG AWSOME (i don't like to yell much, but holy crap this is amazing), my pages are opening faster than i've ever seen them before, nice java-script
__________________

HT: 360 -- Sony60A3000 -- Onkyo SR605 --> Polk cs2, monitor 60s and monitor 40s w/ Bic F12 sub -- PS3
XBL:Mr X3r0 -- PSN:Mr_X3r0

Rig- Asus P6X58D Premium - intel i7 920 @3.6 - EVGA GTX570 - Corsair HX1000 - Prolimatech Mega Shadow - WD640 - COOLER MASTER ATCS 840 - OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3 1600*

Imbroglio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-06, 11:58 PM   #5
Rakeesh
 
Rakeesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 6,870
Default Re: Firefox Memory Usage... not a leak?

It's not a leak, it is several leaks. I don't think this guy completely knows what he is talking about.

Firefox will slowly consume more memory and CPU just by letting it sit idle. Most leaks however are caused by faulty extensions.
__________________
Want to listen to audio without your computer going to sleep? Try this.

Core i7 2600k 4.4Ghz 1.385v | Corsair H60 | 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 8-8-8-24 | MSI P67A-G45 | OCZ Vertex 3 | Sapphire 7850 OC to Max settings

Rakeesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-06, 12:22 AM   #6
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Firefox Memory Usage... not a leak?

Heh, yeah I used the tweak I posted as well as the one People's Agent posted... right now I have one tab open and FF is using 160Mb of ram.

Sorry for giving false hope guys...

...this'n's as leaky as the titanic it is... yarrr
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-06, 01:28 AM   #7
Peoples-Agent
Vape Therapist
 
Peoples-Agent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,308
Default Re: Firefox Memory Usage... not a leak?

I don't get it , I've tried everything to get my usage up and it goes nowhere near that. I think you might be onto something Alpha, perhaps it's one of the extensions?
__________________
For The Fallen
With proud thanksgiving, a mother for her children,
England mourns for her dead across the sea.
Flesh of her flesh they were, spirit of her spirit,
Fallen in the cause of the free.
Peoples-Agent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-06, 01:30 AM   #8
Peoples-Agent
Vape Therapist
 
Peoples-Agent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,308
Default Re: Firefox Memory Usage... not a leak?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Imbroglio
alright, so i click on the link and i didn't see that size 4 text at the bottom of the page to begin download for about 6 minutes, i didn't know wtf was going on. anyways, this script is F'NG AWSOME (i don't like to yell much, but holy crap this is amazing), my pages are opening faster than i've ever seen them before, nice java-script
I'll be honest, alot of that prefs file I picked up from planetamd64.com. heh
Just keep adding and changing bits here and there as I go along.

Have you tried dropping any extensions / add-ons Capt N Kill?
__________________
For The Fallen
With proud thanksgiving, a mother for her children,
England mourns for her dead across the sea.
Flesh of her flesh they were, spirit of her spirit,
Fallen in the cause of the free.
Peoples-Agent is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-15-06, 01:26 PM   #9
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Firefox Memory Usage... not a leak?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peoples-Agent
I'll be honest, alot of that prefs file I picked up from planetamd64.com. heh
Just keep adding and changing bits here and there as I go along.

Have you tried dropping any extensions / add-ons Capt N Kill?
Hmm... I guess its worth a try.

What extensions are you using?

At work here I have adblock installed, as well as DOM Inspector and Talkback... I didnt even know about those two, but I think they are related to firefox's error reporting system.

At home I probably have those same 3 and I think I still have FlashGot installed. Other than that, I dont think Ive put any extensions on Firefox. I'll try disabling them all later. If its adblock thats doing it though, I'll stick with the high ram usage. That helps soooooooo much, itd be worth the massive memory leak
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-06, 01:44 PM   #10
Peoples-Agent
Vape Therapist
 
Peoples-Agent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,308
Default Re: Firefox Memory Usage... not a leak?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
Hmm... I guess its worth a try.

What extensions are you using?

At work here I have adblock installed, as well as DOM Inspector and Talkback... I didnt even know about those two, but I think they are related to firefox's error reporting system.

At home I probably have those same 3 and I think I still have FlashGot installed. Other than that, I dont think Ive put any extensions on Firefox. I'll try disabling them all later. If its adblock thats doing it though, I'll stick with the high ram usage. That helps soooooooo much, itd be worth the massive memory leak
I don't use any tbh, I use Avast Antivirus which has some good adblock features built in though.
__________________
For The Fallen
With proud thanksgiving, a mother for her children,
England mourns for her dead across the sea.
Flesh of her flesh they were, spirit of her spirit,
Fallen in the cause of the free.
Peoples-Agent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-06, 07:47 PM   #11
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: Firefox Memory Usage... not a leak?

I use ZERO extensions, and have had this problem for ages. Since the Mozilla beta days in one level of severity or another. It's a damn good browser, but just lets itself eat up memory.

I'm happy to say that, for myself, the problem isn't as prevalent in 1.5 for myself. However, I still have a browser crash from time to time where it likes to linger as a process until a manual stop. I haven't had that funky crash where it asks you to create a new profile (or you have to restart the machine) in quite a while...so progress is being made. Hopefully the guys will plug all these holes before IE7 releases and steals back a chunk of the market.
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-06, 08:00 PM   #12
Peoples-Agent
Vape Therapist
 
Peoples-Agent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,308
Default Re: Firefox Memory Usage... not a leak?

I recently switched to Avant Browser, loving it so far.
They have also made a browser called Dr Orca which is based on the Gecko / Mozilla engine.... still undecided as what to use.
__________________
For The Fallen
With proud thanksgiving, a mother for her children,
England mourns for her dead across the sea.
Flesh of her flesh they were, spirit of her spirit,
Fallen in the cause of the free.
Peoples-Agent is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GPU memory consumption, back buffer, Quadro tdsussman NVIDIA Linux 5 08-14-12 09:14 PM
Video: For HPC Energy Efficiency, Samsung 20-nm Memory Fab Makes a Difference News Archived News Items 0 06-26-12 06:00 AM
May browser usage: Firefox users still avoiding updates News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 07:30 PM
Measuring card memory usage peter_ga NVIDIA Linux 0 05-24-12 08:07 PM
new memory tech QBM (Quad band memory) sebazve Rumor Mill 9 09-24-02 09:38 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.