Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-14-06, 04:10 PM   #1
turboned
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 11
Default TwinView problems

Hello. I am running Fedora Core 4, Linux Kernel 2.6.15 (compiled from vanilla sources).

I have installed NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-8178-pkg1, and had everything going just fine. I had multiple monitor support and everything...even had the two monitors working at different resolutions...and then one of my monitors died.

Oh, yes, extra information. I'm running a GeForce FX 5700 128 MB AGP on Intel architecture.

So I went and replaced it with another monitor. It's a different monitor, but it also supports 1600x1200 @ 60Hz (I needed something that could have that sort of desktop real estate off to the side). I got it all up and working under Windows XP, no problems. I thought it would be simple to get it to work under Linux as well (since I had already configured everything with my old monitor), but no such luck.

Attached is the xorg.conf file that I am using, and also the log file from a bad attempt to start X. Here's an excerpt from the logfile, though, which seems to be the problem.

Code:
(II) NVIDIA(0): Frequency information for CRT-1:
(II) NVIDIA(0):   HorizSync   : 4294967.000-0.000 kHz
(II) NVIDIA(0):   VertRefresh : 4294967296.000-0.000 Hz
(II) NVIDIA(0):      (HorizSync from EDID)
(II) NVIDIA(0):      (VertRefresh from EDID)
I'm pretty sure that's not supposed to look like that, but I cannot figure out why it's getting those numbers. I've tried all sorts of messing around with the refresh rate settings in xorg.conf, but nothing seems to work.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Attached Files
File Type: txt Xorg.0.log.txt (31.3 KB, 116 views)
File Type: txt xorg.conf.txt (3.6 KB, 113 views)
turboned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-06, 04:56 PM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: TwinView problems

What kind of display are you using that has this problem?

Please start X with the following command:
startx -- -logverbose 6

and then generate and attach a bug report for review.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-06, 06:36 PM   #3
turboned
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 11
Default Re: TwinView problems

I'm using a Sony Trinitron Multiscan E210.

http://esupport.sony.com/perl/model-...=CPDE210&LOC=3

At the moment I'm running it in Windows at 1600x1200 74.9kHz Horiz. /60Hz Vert (I think I have the numbers in the right order...the 74.9 kHz isn't reporting Vert. refresh, is it?). Anyway, those numbers are the ones reported by the monitor when I pull up the menu.

When I boot into Linux later tonight, I'll post the bug report here.
turboned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-06, 01:27 AM   #4
turboned
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 11
Default Re: TwinView problems

Here is the Xorg.0.log file that came when I ran with verbose and with the associated xorg.conf file.

--TurboNed
Attached Files
File Type: txt Xorg.0.log.verbose.txt (35.0 KB, 112 views)
File Type: txt xorg.conf.txt (3.5 KB, 118 views)
turboned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-06, 10:13 AM   #5
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: TwinView problems

The information obtained from the EDID is quite bizarre:
(--) NVIDIA(0): Maximum Image Size : 65535mm x 65535mm
(--) NVIDIA(0): Valid HSync Range : 4294967kHz - 0kHz
(--) NVIDIA(0): Valid VRefresh Range : -1Hz - 0Hz

Can you try running read-edid to see if it obtains similarly invalid EDID information from your CRT?
http://john.fremlin.de/programs/linux/read-edid/

You should be able to work around this problem with the 'IgnoreEDID' option in your X configuration.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-06, 10:21 AM   #6
turboned
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 11
Default Re: TwinView problems

Here's what I get:

Code:
./get-edid | ./parse-edid
./get-edid: get-edid version 1.4.1

        Performing real mode VBE call
        Interrupt 0x10 ax=0x4f00 bx=0x0 cx=0x0
./parse-edid: parse-edid version 1.4.1
        Function supported
        Call successful

        VBE version 300
        VBE string at 0x11110 "NVIDIA"

VBE/DDC service about to be called
        Report DDC capabilities

        Performing real mode VBE call
        Interrupt 0x10 ax=0x4f15 bx=0x0 cx=0x0
        Function supported
        Call successful

        Monitor and video card combination does not support DDC1 transfers
        Monitor and video card combination supports DDC2 transfers
        0 seconds per 128 byte EDID block transfer
        Screen is not blanked during DDC transfer

Reading next EDID block

VBE/DDC service about to be called
        Read EDID

        Performing real mode VBE call
        Interrupt 0x10 ax=0x4f15 bx=0x1 cx=0x0
        Function supported
        Call failed

The EDID data should not be trusted as the VBE call failed
EDID claims 255 more blocks left
EDID blocks left is wrong.
Your EDID is probably invalid.
./parse-edid: EDID checksum failed - data is corrupt. Continuing anyway.
./parse-edid: first bytes don't match EDID version 1 header
./parse-edid: do not trust output (if any).

        # EDID version 255 revision 255
Section "Monitor"
        Identifier "___:ffff"
        VendorName "___"
        ModelName "___:ffff"
        # DPMS capabilities: Active off:yes  Suspend:yes  Standby:yes

        Mode    "4095x4095"     # vfreq 9.770Hz, hfreq 80.018kHz
                DotClock        655.350000
                HTimings        4095 4350 4605 8190
                VTimings        4095 4158 4221 8190
                Flags   "Interlace" "+HSync" "+VSync"
        EndMode
        Mode    "4095x4095"     # vfreq 9.770Hz, hfreq 80.018kHz
                DotClock        655.350000
                HTimings        4095 4350 4605 8190
                VTimings        4095 4158 4221 8190
                Flags   "Interlace" "+HSync" "+VSync"
        EndMode
        Mode    "4095x4095"     # vfreq 9.770Hz, hfreq 80.018kHz
                DotClock        655.350000
                HTimings        4095 4350 4605 8190
                VTimings        4095 4158 4221 8190
                Flags   "Interlace" "+HSync" "+VSync"
        EndMode
        Mode    "4095x4095"     # vfreq 9.770Hz, hfreq 80.018kHz
                DotClock        655.350000
                HTimings        4095 4350 4605 8190
                VTimings        4095 4158 4221 8190
                Flags   "Interlace" "+HSync" "+VSync"
        EndMode
EndSection
make: *** [read-edid] Error 1
turboned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-06, 10:24 AM   #7
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: TwinView problems

The above was generated with just the problematic CRT attached, or both attached?

Does using IgnoreEDID allow you to work around the problem?

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-06, 10:56 AM   #8
turboned
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 11
Default Re: TwinView problems

The above was generated with both monitors attached. I'm about to give it a shot with IgnoreEDID now.

Much thanks for the help,
--TurboNed
turboned is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-15-06, 11:04 AM   #9
turboned
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 11
Default Re: TwinView problems

And once again, you are a genius. Here is where I am now, with everything working.

I had to change the refresh settings like so:

Code:
Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Monitor Vendor"
    ModelName      "Monitor 1600x1200"
    HorizSync       31.5 - 94.0
    VertRefresh     60.0
    Option         "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
	Identifier  "Videocard0"
	Driver      "nvidia"
	VendorName  "Videocard vendor"
	BoardName   "NVIDIA GeForce FX (generic)"
	Option      "IgnoreEDID" "yes"
	Option	    "Twinview" "On"
	Option	    "TwinviewOrientation" "RightOf"
	Option	    "FirstMonitorHorizSync" "31.5 - 94.0"
	Option	    "FirstMonitorVertRefresh" "60.0"
	Option	    "MetaModes" "1600x1200, 1280x1024"
EndSection
Instead of having the vertical refresh rates as a range 50-90 like it was, I forced it to 60. Before I made the change, the monitor came on, but reported "Out of scan range." After the change, it's running in exactly the same mode it was running under Windows XP.

Thanks again for all your help!

--TurboNed
Attached Files
File Type: txt xorg.conf.txt (3.5 KB, 130 views)
turboned is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XF86Config for a Quadro4 without TwinView? Twirlip NVIDIA Linux 1 10-09-02 10:36 AM
TwinView problems k-rulez NVIDIA Linux 1 09-07-02 09:13 AM
Suse Linux 8.0 - Geforce 4 TwinView TA00 NVIDIA Linux 8 08-30-02 03:24 AM
Twinview with TV-out karlaugust NVIDIA Linux 10 08-28-02 04:20 PM
How do I configure TwinView on Dell Inspiron rutgerclaes NVIDIA Linux 6 08-01-02 03:20 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.