Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Old 02-20-06, 04:53 PM   #1
sasanf

Exclamation How do I load driver from cmd line

Hi,

I am a newb wanting to learn Fedora Linux because I believe in the philosophy of the open source community. I have a Nvidia Geforce 4 SLI motherboard and an Nvidia Geforce 6600 LE SLI graphics card. I have installed Fedora Linux 64 via the command line installation (Could not install it using the gui installation). Every time I attempt to boot into Linux, I make it to the loading screen but not past. The computer graphic doesn't show up. The load bar doesn't move. The activity circle to the right doesn't move. My computer is completely froze. If I interrupt the booth loader and press P and then type in my password and then press C, I get into the command line. How do I install the Nvidia driver from the command line? I have the driver burned on a CD that is in my DVD RW drive. What commands do I put in to navigate into my DVD RW drive and what commands do I put in to install the .run file I got from Nvidia? Please be very detailed with your instructions. I am new. Never worked with Linux in my life. I need step by step and detailed instructions. Any help would be created appreciated. One final note, I have the NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-1.0-8178-pkg2.run driver. I got it from the Nvidia website I also have the instructions that were on the Nvidia website (sh command does not work).
sasanf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-06, 05:26 PM   #2
chunkey
#!/?*

Default Re: How do I load driver from cmd line

Woooah... you must have some serious problems...
(This _shell_ you see isn't linux, it's just a bootloader...)

now, try this: (in the bootloader)
press _p_ and enter your PW. then press _e_ and look for a line
which begins with kernel and add (at the end) noacpi noapic nosmp irqpoll vga=normal . now press _b_... does it boot?
chunkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-06, 08:14 AM   #3
sasanf