Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-23-06, 03:38 PM   #13
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Floppy Drive

I think that I corrected the command, but still got about the same result:

Code:
wallwalker@linux:~> sudo mount /dev/fd0/mnt/floppy
Password:
mount: can't find /dev/fd0/mnt/floppy in /etc/fstab or /etc/mtab
wallwalker@linux:~>
I may not be understanding, but I'm really not used to all of this. Even in Windows, my usage of DOS was minimal.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-06, 03:41 PM   #14
evilghost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,606
Default Re: Floppy Drive

mount[space]/dev/fd0[space]/mnt/floppy where [space] is the spacebar.

Man, you must have some insane font selection or something
evilghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-06, 03:47 PM   #15
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Floppy Drive

Unless I messed up again, there is still something wrong:

Code:
wallwalker@linux:~> sudo mount /dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy
Password:
/dev/fd0: Invalid argument
mount: /dev/fd0: can't read superblock
wallwalker@linux:~>
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-06, 03:48 PM   #16
evilghost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,606
Default Re: Floppy Drive

Got a disk in the drive?
evilghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-06, 03:55 PM   #17
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Floppy Drive

Ehh, I had forgotten to insert a floppy, as you told me to. Now the result is as follows:
Code:
wallwalker@linux:~> sudo mount /dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy
Password:
mount: you must specify the filesystem type
wallwalker@linux:~>
Does this mean ext2, DOS, etc.? Would this mean that it would be limited to this choice?
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-06, 03:58 PM   #18
evilghost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,606
Default Re: Floppy Drive

That floppy formatted? Looks like it's type raw..

If you know how to use IRC or got an MSN Messenger account (ie, GAIM) I guess I could hop on IRC/MSN and walk you through it; probably be more efficent than this.

I have no problem with trying to help you out, everyone has to start somewhere, and you're doing pretty well so far.
evilghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-06, 04:03 PM   #19
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Floppy Drive

I'm not certain. It was a reject from when I tried to make a Smart Boot Manager floppy. I would have assumed that it was formatted, because it did copy one of the two files that I wanted. The other file would not copy though. Should I just do this again with another floppy? I do not believe that I have any good floppys made with SuSe. I don't really want to destroy any of my Windows floppys though.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-06, 04:09 PM   #20
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Floppy Drive

I just checked the mount point for the desktop icon, and it shows /media/floppy. I would have assumed that it should be /mnt/floppy, but there is no option to change it.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-23-06, 04:10 PM   #21
evilghost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,606
Default Re: Floppy Drive

Do a:
Code:
floppy --format /dev/fd0
evilghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-06, 04:11 PM   #22
evilghost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,606
Default Re: Floppy Drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by seeker
I just checked the mount point for the desktop icon, and it shows /media/floppy. I would have assumed that it should be /mnt/floppy, but there is no option to change it.
Code:
sudo umount /dev/fd0
sudo rm /mnt
sudo mount /dev/fd0 /media/floppy
evilghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-06, 04:14 PM   #23
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Floppy Drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by evilghost
If you know how to use IRC or got an MSN Messenger account (ie, GAIM) I guess I could hop on IRC/MSN and walk you through it; probably be more efficent than this.
I have a bad habit of skip reading, and missed this. I wouldn't mind using a messenger to get help, but at the moment, I have none installed. I rarely ever use them.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-06, 04:20 PM   #24
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Floppy Drive

I didn't get the result that I expected from any of this:

Code:
wallwalker@linux:~> sudo umount /dev/fdo
Password:
umount: /dev/fdo: not found
wallwalker@linux:~> sudo rm /mnt
rm: cannot remove `/mnt': Is a directory
wallwalker@linux:~> sudo mount /dev/fd0 /media/floppy
mount: you must specify the filesystem type
wallwalker@linux:~> floppy --format /dev/fdo
bash: floppy: command not found
wallwalker@linux:~>
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Floppy disk drives. LORD-eX-Bu General Hardware 10 10-03-02 10:58 AM
CDRW Drive Doesn't Populate FrozenFlame Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 4 09-17-02 09:32 PM
New Western Digital drive performance Nemesis General Hardware 6 08-15-02 08:29 AM
cdrw drive died cricket General Hardware 2 08-13-02 10:23 PM
UDMA5 Drive, But Can't Enable Past UDMA2 Phyre NVIDIA Linux 1 08-11-02 05:49 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.