Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-24-03, 07:47 AM   #13
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

1280x1024, 24-bit color.

UT2k3 (the full game, not the demo) averages around 60fps or so. It gets down to 10-20 at times, but only if there are a ton of bots in a large room.

The only thing I can think of to increase performance would be enabling SBA and/or fast writes (but these options may decrease reliability -- they worked for me, but they don't work for everyone, which is why they're disabled by default ).

First of all, look in /proc/driver/nvidia/agp/host-bridge and /proc/driver/nvidia/agp/card to see which of SBA and FW your AGP bus and card are reporting that they support. If both files report something as supported, you can add an options line to /etc/modules.conf (options nvidia NVreg_EnableAGPFW=1 or options nvidia NVreg_EnableAGPSBA=1 or options nvidia NVreg_EnableAGPSBA=1 NVreg_EnableAGPFW=1 if they both support both), then either reboot, or exit X and rmmod the module, then restart X.

If you have a Via chipset motherboard, you're probably running at 2x AGP, as well (there have been reports of very wrong AGP drive strengths or something with AGP 4x on some old Via mainboards). I'm pretty sure you can pass NVreg_EnableVia4x=1 to get the drivers to enable 4xAGP. You probably won't notice a difference there, though, at least not in glxgears. Maybe in UT2k3, but only if it uses more texture memory than your card has onboard.

As for stuff to add to the config file, I don't know of anything.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-03, 08:23 AM   #14
keks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 9
Default

I really dont know if the laptop uses AGP it probably does
its m50 dell precision
keks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-03, 11:30 AM   #15
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

The aforementioned host-bridge file under /proc will tell you what AGP controller you have. If it's a Via, then you may be using 2xAGP.

You can also cat the /proc/driver/nvidia/agp/status file to see the current, running value of each of these options (AGP speed, SBA, FW, plus driver and whether AGP is enabled or not).
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Precision 690 with a nVidia Quadro 3450 Cr0t NVIDIA Linux 9 08-16-12 02:53 PM
Corrupted display - 302.17 - Dell Precision T3500 (G98 [Quadro NVS 295]) gbailey NVIDIA Linux 1 06-27-12 10:24 AM
Corrupted display - 302.11 - Dell Precision T3500 (G98 [Quadro NVS 295]) gbailey NVIDIA Linux 0 06-15-12 04:38 PM
Corrupted display - 295.59 - Dell Precision T3500 (G98 [Quadro NVS 295]) gbailey NVIDIA Linux 1 06-14-12 06:49 PM
Corrupted display - 295.53 - Dell Precision T3500 (G98 [Quadro NVS 295]) gbailey NVIDIA Linux 9 06-12-12 03:34 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.