Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-07-07, 09:15 AM   #145
Linuxhippy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 585
Default Re: Slow AA text rendering in KDE

Quote:
Originally Posted by zbiggy
I saw Java rgb aa text. The technology is not ready I think. Black characters with colour random pixels around. Returned to ordinary 2d.
Well of course then your drivers are broken. It works fine on my FX5200 on Linux - however performance benefits only show with GF6 and higher.
The is not distinguishable from Linux or Windows rgb-aa.

lg Clemens
Linuxhippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-07, 10:35 AM   #146
zbiggy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 623
Default Re: Slow AA text rendering in KDE

Quote:
Originally Posted by Linuxhippy
Well of course then your drivers are broken. It works fine on my FX5200 on Linux - however performance benefits only show with GF6 and higher.
The is not distinguishable from Linux or Windows rgb-aa.

lg Clemens
You can check that text aa does not work via OpenGL:
http://java.sun.com/applets/jdk/1.4/index.html
I use:
-Dsun.java2d.opengl=True -Dsun.java2d.opengl.lcdshader=True
java 1.6.0-b105
"Nervous text" shows the jaggies the best.

And after clicking few applets java or driver hangs with errors:
konqueror 3.5.6:
Code:
bash-3.1$ konqueror
kjas: ERROR: could not parse length out of: [i] GLXG
kjas: ERROR: could not parse length out of: C_FindBe
kjas: ERROR: could not parse length out of: stVisual
kjas: ERROR: could not parse length out of: : scn=0
kjas:
kjas: ERROR: could not parse length out of: [i] GLXG
kjas: ERROR: could not parse length out of: C_InitGL
kjas: ERROR: could not parse length out of: X
kjas:
kjas: ERROR: could not parse length out of: [i] OGLF
kjas: ERROR: could not parse length out of: uncs_Ope
kjas: ERROR: could not parse length out of: nLibrary
kjas: ERROR: could not parse length out of:
kjas:
kjas: ERROR: could not parse length out of: [i] OGLF
kjas: ERROR: could not parse length out of: uncs_Ini
kjas: ERROR: could not parse length out of: tPlatfor
kjas: ERROR: could not parse length out of: mFuncs
kjas:
kjas: ERROR: could not parse length out of: [i] OGLF
kjas: ERROR: could not parse length out of: uncs_Ini
kjas: ERROR: could not parse length out of: tBaseFun
kjas: ERROR: could not parse length out of: cs
kjas:
kjas: ERROR: could not parse length out of: [i] OGLF
kjas: ERROR: could not parse length out of: uncs_Ini
kjas: ERROR: could not parse length out of: tExtFunc
kjas: ERROR: could not parse length out of: s
kjas:
kjas: ERROR: could not parse length out of: [i] GLXG
kjas: ERROR: could not parse length out of: C_InitGL
kjas: ERROR: could not parse length out of: X: clien
kjas: ERROR: could not parse length out of: t GLX ve
kjas: ERROR: could not parse length out of: rsion=1.
QGArray::at: Absolute index 4 out of range
kjas: ERROR: could not parse length out of: GLXGC_In
kjas: ERROR: could not parse length out of: itFBConf
kjas: ERROR: could not parse length out of: ig: scn=
kjas: ERROR: could not parse length out of: 0 vis=0x
QGArray::at: Absolute index 0 out of range
KCrash: Application 'konqueror' crashing...
firefox 2.0.0.2:
Code:
bash-3.1$ firefox
[i] GLXGC_FindBestVisual: scn=0
[i] GLXGC_InitGLX
[i] OGLFuncs_OpenLibrary
[i] OGLFuncs_InitPlatformFuncs
[i] OGLFuncs_InitBaseFuncs
[i] OGLFuncs_InitExtFuncs
[i] GLXGC_InitGLX: client GLX version=1.4
[i] GLXGC_InitFBConfig: scn=0 vis=0x0
[V]   candidate fbconfigs:
[V]     id=0x21 db=1 alpha=0 depth=24 stencil=8 valid=true
[V]     id=0x22 db=1 alpha=0 depth=24 stencil=8 valid=false (large depth)
[V]     id=0x23 db=1 alpha=8 depth=24 stencil=8 valid=false (large depth)
[V]     id=0x4a db=1 alpha=8 depth=24 stencil=8 valid=false (large depth)
[V]     id=0x24 db=0 alpha=0 depth=24 stencil=8 valid=false (large depth)
[V]     id=0x4b db=0 alpha=0 depth=24 stencil=8 valid=false (large depth)
[V]     id=0x25 db=0 alpha=8 depth=24 stencil=8 valid=false (large depth)
[V]     id=0x4c db=0 alpha=8 depth=24 stencil=8 valid=false (large depth)
[V]     id=0x26 db=1 alpha=0 depth=24 stencil=0 valid=true
[V]     id=0x4d db=1 alpha=0 depth=24 stencil=0 valid=false (large depth)
[V]     id=0x27 db=1 alpha=8 depth=24 stencil=0 valid=false (large depth)
[V]     id=0x4e db=1 alpha=8 depth=24 stencil=0 valid=false (large depth)
[V]     id=0x28 db=0 alpha=0 depth=24 stencil=0 valid=false (large depth)
[V]     id=0x4f db=0 alpha=0 depth=24 stencil=0 valid=false (large depth)
[V]     id=0x29 db=0 alpha=8 depth=24 stencil=0 valid=false (large depth)
[V]     id=0x50 db=0 alpha=8 depth=24 stencil=0 valid=false (large depth)
[V]     id=0x2a db=1 alpha=0 depth=16 stencil=0 valid=true
[V]     id=0x51 db=1 alpha=0 depth=16 stencil=0 valid=false (large depth)
[V]     id=0x2b db=1 alpha=8 depth=16 stencil=0 valid=false (large depth)
[V]     id=0x52 db=1 alpha=8 depth=16 stencil=0 valid=false (large depth)
[V]     id=0x2c db=0 alpha=0 depth=16 stencil=0 valid=false (large depth)
[V]     id=0x53 db=0 alpha=0 depth=16 stencil=0 valid=false (large depth)
[V]     id=0x2d db=0 alpha=8 depth=16 stencil=0 valid=false (large depth)
[V]     id=0x54 db=0 alpha=8 depth=16 stencil=0 valid=false (large depth)
[i] GLXGC_FindBestVisual: chose 0x2a as the best visual for screen 0
[i] GLXGraphicsConfig_getGLXConfigInfo
[i] GLXGC_InitFBConfig: scn=0 vis=0x2a
[V]   candidate fbconfigs:
[V]     id=0x2a db=1 alpha=0 depth=16 stencil=0 valid=true
[i] OGLContext_IsExtensionAvailable: GL_ARB_multitexture=true
[i] OGLContext_IsExtensionAvailable: GL_ARB_texture_non_power_of_two=true
[i] OGLContext_IsExtensionAvailable: GL_ARB_texture_rectangle=true
[i] OGLContext_IsExtensionAvailable: GL_EXT_framebuffer_object=true
[i] OGLContext_IsFBObjectExtensionAvailable: fbobject supported
[i] OGLContext_IsExtensionAvailable: GL_ARB_fragment_shader=true
[i] OGLContext_IsLCDShaderSupportAvailable: disabled via flag
[i] GLXGraphicsConfig_getGLXConfigInfo: OpenGL version=2.1.0 NVIDIA 97.51
OpenGL pipeline enabled for default config on screen 0
[E] OGLSD_MakeOGLContextCurrent: could not make current
[E] OGLContext_SetSurfaces: could not make context current
[E] OGLSD_MakeOGLContextCurrent: could not make current
[E] OGLContext_SetSurfaces: could not make context current
[E] OGLSD_MakeOGLContextCurrent: could not make current
[E] OGLContext_SetSurfaces: could not make context current
[E] OGLSD_MakeOGLContextCurrent: could not make current
[E] OGLContext_SetSurfaces: could not make context current
[E] OGLSD_MakeOGLContextCurrent: could not make current
[E] OGLContext_SetSurfaces: could not make context current
[E] OGLSD_MakeOGLContextCurrent: could not make current
[E] OGLContext_SetSurfaces: could not make context current
[E] OGLSD_MakeOGLContextCurrent: could not make current
[E] OGLContext_SetSurfaces: could not make context current
[E] GLXSD_MakeCurrentToScratch: could not make current
[E] GLXSD_MakeCurrentToScratch: could not make current
[E] GLXSD_MakeCurrentToScratch: could not make current
[E] GLXSD_MakeCurrentToScratch: could not make current
[E] GLXSD_MakeCurrentToScratch: could not make current
[E] GLXSD_MakeCurrentToScratch: could not make current
[E] GLXSD_MakeCurrentToScratch: could not make current
[E] GLXSD_MakeCurrentToScratch: could not make current
OpenGL Java acceleration is very fast. But only for few first applets. Then hangs and nothing is visible in java window till browser restart.
zbiggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-07, 01:40 PM   #147
PrakashP
gentoo ~x86_64 user
 
PrakashP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Germania
Posts: 213
Default Re: Slow AA text rendering in KDE

Quote:
Originally Posted by zbiggy
You can check that text aa does not work via OpenGL:
http://java.sun.com/applets/jdk/1.4/index.html
I use:
-Dsun.java2d.opengl=True -Dsun.java2d.opengl.lcdshader=True
java 1.6.0-b105
"Nervous text" shows the jaggies the best.
Uhm, where would I put those options to make the java runtime pick them up?
PrakashP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-07, 02:39 PM   #148
zbiggy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 623
Default Re: Slow AA text rendering in KDE

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrakashP
Uhm, where would I put those options to make the java runtime pick them up?
Do you mean standalone java apps or web browser?
If web browser, which one?
zbiggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-07, 10:36 AM   #149
PrakashP
gentoo ~x86_64 user
 
PrakashP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Germania
Posts: 213
Default Re: Slow AA text rendering in KDE

Sorry, yes, I should have been more precise. In the webbrowser. I am using Konqueror and Firefox as fallback
PrakashP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-07, 01:29 PM   #150
energyman76b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Clausthal/Germany
Posts: 1,104
Default Re: Slow AA text rendering in KDE

Quote:
Originally Posted by naenyc
To recap, is there anything that can be done to enhance performance?

Regretfully, I'm building a MythTV system, they recommend KDE, and foolishly thought that a PciE 7600 would provide adaquate performance. My old Sun Ultra1 was a more enjoyable experience.

Tried to locate exact quote by "netllama" in regards xorg.conf settings. Thanks

naenyc
and why does a mythtv box needs 'anti alised fonts'?

Btw - I am grabbing in KDE, with XDTV and I have NO performance problems. Is there ANY good reason to use something overblown as mythtv?
energyman76b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-07, 04:56 PM   #151
zbiggy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 623
Default Re: Slow AA text rendering in KDE

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrakashP
Sorry, yes, I should have been more precise. In the webbrowser. I am using Konqueror and Firefox as fallback
Konqueror 3.5.6
Settings->Configuration: Konqueror->Java & JavaScript->Java tab:
additional arguments for Java:
-Dsun.java2d.opengl=True -Dsun.java2d.opengl.lcdshader=True

firefox 2.0.0.2 (using K menu from KDE Desktop)
K->Settings->Java->Java tab->Java applet runtime settings: ->View
Double click on empty cell in "Java Runtime Para..." and type in the same values I described in konqueror configuration.

Remember to restart web browser.
zbiggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-08, 02:12 AM   #152
evanlec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: Slow AA text rendering in KDE

Experiencing slow font rendering using sub-pixel rendering here using:

8800GTS 320MB
Nvidia drivers 169.09
Kernel 2.6.24
xorg 1.4.0.90-6

has any progress or news been made for this problem?
evanlec is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-06-08, 03:57 AM   #153
capthookb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 22
Default Re: Slow AA text rendering in KDE

I also have rgb sub pixel hinting slow performance.
GeForce Ti4600 (legacy drivers 96.43.05)
kernel 2.6.24
resolution 1280x1024 (does it make any difference? )
Even with grayscale AA i see some sloweness in text rendering.
I found a website that was doing some benchmark in font rendering with a text file: http://www.ietf.org/rfc/rfc3261.txt
Code:
time cat rfc3261.txt
I get the following results:
0m14.539s with RGB sub pixel hinting
0m1.209s with gray scale AA
0m1.176s without AA

RGB sub pixel hinting looks awsome, but it isn't usable.
Is there any way to disable the text acceleration of nvidia, in order to see if i'm gaining anything when it's on?
capthookb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-08, 08:23 AM   #154
hyfans
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 75
Default Re: Slow AA text rendering in KDE

i'm sure it is a driver issue rather a kernel/hardware one.

i test my 8500GT on three OS, XP SP2/Leopard 10.5.2/Linux --Ubuntu/Slackware+169.12(17x.xx also) driver, same pc.

only on Linux, i got the laggy drawing stuff.

both OSX and XP can give me good text aa performance.
and the most important is they all have "Cleartype" turned on.

so even Apple can write a good nvidia driver?
hyfans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-08, 08:31 AM   #155
tier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 118
Default Re: Slow AA text rendering in KDE

The Mac driver is written by nvidia, too
tier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-08, 09:15 AM   #156
zbiggy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 623
Default Re: Slow AA text rendering in KDE

Quote:
Originally Posted by hyfans
i'm sure it is a driver issue rather a kernel/hardware one.

i test my 8500GT on three OS, XP SP2/Leopard 10.5.2/Linux --Ubuntu/Slackware+169.12(17x.xx also) driver, same pc.

only on Linux, i got the laggy drawing stuff.

both OSX and XP can give me good text aa performance.
and the most important is they all have "Cleartype" turned on.

so even Apple can write a good nvidia driver?
Cleartype is 100% rendered in software on CPU. Nvidia tries to accelerate as much as possible in Linux. Setting up acceleration engine for small things like rendering text characters is like using big gun to kill the fly.

Use vesa X driver and check what is the text performance difference. Vesa is 100% software rendered so it should show software/hardware speed difference. Do not expect vesa will be faster than nvidia driver. Some operations like blits and fills are still faster on GPU. However with fast multicore CPUs the multiCPU vs GPU speed difference may be small.
zbiggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora KDE 16 Geforce GTX260 and slow gtk applications Rendering NVIDIA Linux 10 07-11-13 07:02 AM
[GeForce 8800 GTS] 2D rendering regression (extreme slowdown) introduced with 295.49 Seb L. NVIDIA Linux 0 06-22-12 06:48 AM
Very slow X startup Jeremy NVIDIA Linux 96 05-23-03 10:11 AM
NVidia Display Drivers screw up KDE Webgraph NVIDIA Linux 11 10-08-02 08:57 PM
poor kde X windows performance after restart HeadStrong NVIDIA Linux 5 08-19-02 07:17 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.