Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-08-06, 10:49 PM   #1
nvnunkb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8
Default Question for RAM Gurus

I asked this in another thread, but it was buried deep and no one answered it:
CPU-Z reports slightly slower latency figures with my new ram than with my old (they are both being used). Do I need to do something to make them match? If so, how (no option in BIOS)? I presume if I have to, and if I find out how, I need to slow down the old ram rather than speed up the new (to avoid damaging the new). Is this correct?
Thanks in advance for the help.
nvnunkb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-06, 10:50 PM   #2
nV`andrew
Akrynym
 
nV`andrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 2,351
Send a message via AIM to nV`andrew Send a message via MSN to nV`andrew Send a message via Skype™ to nV`andrew
Default Re: Question for RAM Gurus

if they are different speeds or looser timings the new ram will run at the slowest ram install by default
__________________
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P || Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 w/ Zalman CNPS9500 HSF || Kingston HyperX SLi Certified [4x1GB] DDR2-1066 ||
eVGA GeForce GTX460 SuperClocked Edition || 2x Seagate 120GB[240GB] Barracuda SATA || 1x Seagate 1000GB Storage
OCZ GameXStream 700W || X-Fi XtremeMusic || Sennheiser HD555's || Antec 900 || Logitech MX518 || Saitek Eclipse II Samsung 24" HDTV/LCD 1920x1200 ||
nV`andrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-06, 01:49 PM   #3
Son Goku
Registered User
 
Son Goku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: 439 East District, Mount Paozu
Posts: 1,714
Default Re: Question for RAM Gurus

What he said... The RAM's capability is what it is... The system will detect the lowest settings, and run with that. If 1 stick can run CAS 3 and another CAS 2, it will run them booth CAS 3, and if one is 266 MHz DDR and 1 is 400 MHz DDR, they'll both run at 266 MHz...

Now, for actual settings; if you notice the memory is capable of

400 MHz CAS 2.5
266 MHz CAS 2.0

you have to run at 266 MHz, but can force the issue with 2.0 CAS. Why? Cause the 400 MHz RAM is running at a slower clock, and as such could use a bit more agressive timing setting. It's sorta the reverse, where a person who OCes can end up having to loosen the timing. The inverse, would also hold...
Son Goku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-06, 01:23 AM   #4
nvnunkb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8
Default Re: Question for RAM Gurus

OK, I understand you both. Let me ask this then:
Since I apparently slowed my system down a bit by buying slower ram, in real-world, every-day apps (not games) like Photoshop and Premiere, won't the apps run faster with double the ram even though the ram is now a little slower?
Thanks again for the help.
nvnunkb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-06, 01:54 AM   #5
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Question for RAM Gurus

Yes, more ram is a better bet vs less but low-latency ram.
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mandrake 9.0 and Nvidia 1.0-3123 FINALLY!!!! Now for a question. jthompson7051 NVIDIA Linux 1 10-07-02 03:17 PM
One more question... soundview00 NVIDIA Linux 1 10-02-02 06:31 PM
1st post - XP Restore question Needa916 Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 2 09-12-02 06:24 PM
Newby question about nforce.... superconti NVIDIA Linux 2 09-08-02 12:46 AM
Dual boot question.. Tactics General Hardware 15 09-07-02 11:39 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.