Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-10-03, 02:44 PM   #25
bimbo00
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11
Default

yeah i have 1280x1024 screen with the VESA driver but yet i can't play the gamess......
and btw it's kind of slower then the accelerated driver not switching to console SUCK
bimbo00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-03, 08:51 PM   #26
uuklanger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 8
Cool I got it to work... well pretty much

So, I tried to use the previous version of the drivers which is something like 1.0-3123.

I am able to swtich graphics modes and the preformance is as expected.

For those of you who need 3D, give this a shot. I am not sure what features are missing between the old and new versions but at least they are accelerated.

Let me know if you have any luck or not.
__________________
uuklanger
uuklanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-03, 07:58 AM   #27
bimbo00
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11
Default

now who is the man ha????
he is the man

I'll try that soon and see if it works
bimbo00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-03, 10:14 AM   #28
uuklanger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bimbo00
now who is the man ha????
he is the man

I'll try that soon and see if it works
thanks. I hope it works for you as it did for me. I just had to rpmbuild the src rpm for the NVIDIA_kernel and I used used the i386 version of the NVIDIA_GLX file.

If you run across problems, please let me know.
__________________
uuklanger
uuklanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-03, 01:50 PM   #29
styxx78
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4
Smile A workable solution

Well, after searching this forum for many hours I've found some kind of a solution

I needed to configure Twinview for my card, while I only have one monitor connected. By specifying two twinview meta-modes, one with the connected monitor turned on and the 'virtual' one off, one with the connected monitor turned off and the virtual one turned on. Now I can first switch to the meta-mode where my only monitor is turned off and blanks with <ctrl><kp+/-> and then switch to a console using <ctrl><F1..6>. When logging out of KDE I also need to remember to first switch the monitor off before the final logout, to return to my text mode logon.

I still think this has not solved the problem, but is is a workaround I can live with.

For others with this problem, this is the device section of my XF86Config file
with Twinview configured:
###
Section "Device"
Identifier "NV AGP TwinView"
VendorName "nvidia"
Driver "nvidia"
# update this with the PCI id of your card. Consult the output
# of the 'lspci' command.
# BusID "PCI:1:0:0"

# sample twinview setup
Option "TwinView"
# be sure to replace the HorizSync and VertRefresh with correct values
# for your monitor!
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30-71"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "50-160"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "Clone"
Option "MetaModes" "1280x1024,null;null,1280x1024"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "crt,crt"
EndSection
###
styxx78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-03, 03:53 PM   #30
styxx78
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4
Angry Not Amused

Perhaps it's better to disregard my last post about configuring twinview.

It does work as described but now when I start say Tuxracer, I'm switched to the second metamode and get a blank screen again. With tuxracer this can be fixed in the options file, but most games do not include such specific options.

If I can't solve this soon I'll be in the market for a decent graphics card. Anyone know of one wich will work without problems on a Linux machine?
styxx78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-03, 06:34 PM   #31
bimbo00
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11
Default

ha ha
why not on kazaa looking for a new OS?
until nVidia fixes it i'm using win98se( old but it works ) and linux with vesa.

Last edited by bimbo00; 03-14-03 at 09:56 PM.
bimbo00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-03, 09:55 PM   #32
bimbo00
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11
Default Question to uuklanger

uuklanger, I have a question?
What is your Linux distro cause my distro is Mandrake 9.0 and the older driver doesn't quite work the way it is supposed to.
I guess I would have to compile it to work on my Mandrake 9.0. Ahh that's gonna take I while cause I don't have a lot of free time right now

thanks btw
bimbo00 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-15-03, 12:23 AM   #33
replicnt6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mirror176
sounds like im in the same boat as u guys for the nost part. my unique variation is that i cannot see my console view at all becusse my nec multisync fe771sb monitor reports the frequency as out of range. ...
I'm having the same problem with the 1.0-4191 drivers under Debian. My monitor has the ability to report the vertical and horizontal refresh rates. When I Alt-F1 after starting X, I get exactly the same vertical and horizontal refresh as I had in the original 24x80 console. I just don't see any text. Not sure if it's really in the right mode, but it is probably a mode that has the right pixel dimensions.

Are people having the same problem who are not using 24x80 for the console ? Maybe that's a workaround.
replicnt6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-03, 11:40 AM   #34
bimbo00
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11
Question older driver on Mandrake 9.0

did anybody try to use the older driver provided by nVidia on Mandrake 9.0 ?
There is a VERY long thread on how to compile it for Mandrake 9.0
bimbo00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-03, 12:37 PM   #35
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

I am using 3123 (not on Mandrake 9, though; on LFS), and I do not have any console issues. I'm using a high-res VESA VGA framebuffer console, in "vga=794" mode (which I believe is 1280x1024, but I'm not positive).
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-03, 05:26 AM   #36
spart
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2
Unhappy

Same problem here with an nForce2 IGP (GeForce 4)/XFree 4.2.1 on a linux kernel 2.4.20 (Debian testing) with nvidia driver release 4191.

I sent a BR too...
Guess we just have to wait :-(
spart is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.