Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-18-06, 10:24 AM   #13
a12ctic
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 2,371
Default Re: Take the plunge and get 6600GT?

I love my 6600GT, its a great overclocker as well , btw in doom 3 i benchmark at 89 fps on 1024x768 (with a timedemo) and 83 in quake 4, so i think you might want to update those drivers or soemthing.... My specs are in my sig, slightly beter than yours but if your 20fps behind me, and the doom 3 linux port isnt quite as efficient or so ive heard... maby you have vsync on?
__________________
AMD X2 5050 AMD Radeon HD 4830 AMD 780G 4GB OCZ DDR2 Antec 300 Fedora 11
a12ctic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-06, 11:23 AM   #14
Darkfalz
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 195
Default Re: Take the plunge and get 6600GT?

Mine maxed out at 1.04 memory, but I just set it at 1.00. Not going to bother overclocking the core.

I got a nice improvement with 81.98 but I didn't try Doom 3 again yet.
Darkfalz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-06, 02:37 PM   #15
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Take the plunge and get 6600GT?

Quote:
So what kind of board are you running that runs the 6800GS/GT good? i hear it has problems with nforce3 boards?
The 6800GS is in my bro's rig which is using some "Biostar" board- and yes it IS using the nForce3 MCP. And it runs FANTASTIC. I even unlocked the "masked units" and it still runs great.

My 6800GT is running in my K8V SE Dlx which using the VIA K8T800 chipset. No compatibility problems there either. I'm betting that whole thing about the nForce3 and the GF6 cards not working was some sort of a driver bug. Infact, I asked about it a while ago and somebody pointed me to a thread where they had resolved the issue. Not sure if that was at this forum though. Anyways, it works, and that is what matters so far as I'm concerned.

The 6600GT is a sweet card, but to meet the constant 85fps you probably would have been better off with the 6800GS. Then again, the frames you're getting aren't even half bad. I wouldn't be complaining at all. Anything above 60fps and your eyes (more than likely) wont detect the increase in fps. A friend of mine is running nothing but 6600GTs for his gaming rigs and he loves 'em. Slap an NV Silencer on that thing and it'd probably oc like crazy as well. You should enjoy that card, and I doubt that you'll be dissappointed once you really start messing with it.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-06, 11:11 PM   #16
Ka0s
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 18
Default Re: Take the plunge and get 6600GT?

Redeemed i would VERY much appreciate if you could find that article...i have been having major problems deciding which card to get since of the problems i have heard with the 6800's...although it relieves me a little to think that SOMONE's 6800GS worked in a nforce3 board...could you give me a little more detail to what your brother is running overall? psu, etc? driver version?


I have also heard problems with the 6600GT with the nforce3 boards so the risk seems to be the same, although the 6600GT has *less* problems. I am sure it is a driver issue as from what i have read from the hundreds of pages, some driver versions worked better than others. I have already upgraded my BIOS to the latest on my gigabyte board as well as the drivers. I am just going to hope for the best when i get my new antec PSU and this GS.

Only other card ive considered looking at was the ATI X800GTO But it is from sapphire, and the sapphire card i had for the X1600 had major bugs..and that is why i sent it back to get a different card. I am having trouble choosing a card in the 150-200$ range that is AGP and isnt going to make me RMA it :X. So far the GS is what i have decided even though there are hundreds of pages of problems (although i see little mention of the GS in general, mostly 6800 standard and the GT's)
Ka0s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-06, 01:43 PM   #17
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Take the plunge and get 6600GT?

Okay, here is my bro's mobo:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813138240

Here is his ram, he has two of these sticks:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820220045

Here is his PSU:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153031

Here is his 6800GS:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130264

I tried downloading the latest Forceware drivers and they said they couldn't detect any nVidia video card. So, I used the drivers on the CD and it worked fine. My brother is also using the latest Biostar BIOS for his MOBO, and has a 200GB Maxtor SATA150 hard drive. That eVGA is the only 6800GS Newegg currently has it seems, so that might be the one you want. Just want to warn you though- it heats up pretty quickly so be sure to have ample air flow through your case. Also, download RivaTuner and make sure to have the card's fan spinning at full speed under 3D load- all of this IS if you get that eVGA card. As for the article, I'll see what I can find.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-06, 03:17 PM   #18
Ka0s
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 18
Default Re: Take the plunge and get 6600GT?

hmm im gonna get the PNY version.

i should have ample airflow . 2 fans in front, 1 on side , 1 in back, 1 on cpu. Im also getting a Antec PSU that was shipped today (500w)

I will see if i have any issues when i get the card...I already updated my mobo BIOS and drivers as well just to be prepared for any problems
Ka0s is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.