Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > General Software

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-19-06, 02:42 AM   #1
Digital_Trans
 
Digital_Trans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sin City
Posts: 2,796
Default Diskeeper v10 Build 593 problems!

I'm trying to defrag my hard drives in Windows XP Pro. In the past I've used
a great software program called Diskeeper Professional. I'm currently using the newest release which is v10 Build 593. Below is an attacment of the error message I get when trying to defrag my C drive or any hard drive for that matter.

Last edited by Digital_Trans; 11-15-08 at 02:47 AM.
Digital_Trans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-06, 02:56 AM   #2
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default Re: Diskeeper v10 Build 593 problems!

Hmmm that odd, I have the same version but never had any errors. Try uninstall and reinstall it that should resolve it.
__________________
Intel Core i7 3770K, Corsair H80 liquid cooler with Noctua S12-1200 fan, ASUS P8Z77V with UEFI 2104, 16GB Samsung Green 30nm DDR3-RAM, Pioneer BDR-S09XLT 16x Blu-ray writer, Corsair AX850 PSU, Western Digital 2TB SATA3 hard drive, CanonScan LiDE 210 scanner, Microsoft Internet Keyboard, Microsoft Touch Explorer mouse, 32inch Sharp LC32LE600 LED TV, EVGA Geforce GTX 670 SC 4GB with Geforce 370.50 driver, 50Mb broadband Virgin Media VMDG480 Super Hub, Aspire Xplorer Midi Tower, Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-06, 05:00 AM   #3
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Diskeeper v10 Build 593 problems!

Is this better then O&O? Im looking for a replacement for MS Defrag.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-06, 10:03 AM   #4
Digital_Trans
 
Digital_Trans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sin City
Posts: 2,796
Default Re: Diskeeper v10 Build 593 problems!

Quote:
Originally Posted by AthlonXP1800
Hmmm that odd, I have the same version but never had any errors. Try uninstall and reinstall it that should resolve it.

I've already tryed that before, I even uninstalled it and went back to Diskeeper v9 and then it did the samething. After that I went back to Diskeeper v10 and it's still doing doing the same thing when I go to try and defrag I get that error message. So, as of now and for a few months ago I've been unable to defrag all 3 of my SATA hard drives.
Digital_Trans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-06, 10:25 AM   #5
Digital_Trans
 
Digital_Trans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sin City
Posts: 2,796
Default Re: Diskeeper v10 Build 593 problems!

Quote:
Originally Posted by AthlonXP1800
Hmmm that odd, I have the same version but never had any errors. Try uninstall and reinstall it that should resolve it.
Maybe I'm not configuring something correctly? I normally just click the defrag button and everything is set. Am I missing something?
Digital_Trans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-06, 07:55 AM   #6
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: Diskeeper v10 Build 593 problems!

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS|
Is this better then O&O? Im looking for a replacement for MS Defrag.
I've used them all, and I've found Perfect Disk works the best. It's a bit more resource intensive (not much, though) but it's fast and thorough.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-06, 12:44 AM   #7
Digital_Trans
 
Digital_Trans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sin City
Posts: 2,796
Default Re: Diskeeper v10 Build 593 problems!

Quote:
Originally Posted by saturnotaku
I've used them all, and I've found Perfect Disk works the best. It's a bit more resource intensive (not much, though) but it's fast and thorough.

Right, that's what I just purchased was Pefect Disk 7 Build 46
Digital_Trans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-06, 01:31 AM   #8
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default Re: Diskeeper v10 Build 593 problems!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digital_Trans
Maybe I'm not configuring something correctly? I normally just click the defrag button and everything is set. Am I missing something?
Maybe you congigured Diskeeper settings? I never configured Diskeeper, I just installed it then clicked Defrag button and forget it, worked perfect. If it still not worked, I got an idea, you probably didnt installed motherboard SATA driver, if so download latest driver.
__________________
Intel Core i7 3770K, Corsair H80 liquid cooler with Noctua S12-1200 fan, ASUS P8Z77V with UEFI 2104, 16GB Samsung Green 30nm DDR3-RAM, Pioneer BDR-S09XLT 16x Blu-ray writer, Corsair AX850 PSU, Western Digital 2TB SATA3 hard drive, CanonScan LiDE 210 scanner, Microsoft Internet Keyboard, Microsoft Touch Explorer mouse, 32inch Sharp LC32LE600 LED TV, EVGA Geforce GTX 670 SC 4GB with Geforce 370.50 driver, 50Mb broadband Virgin Media VMDG480 Super Hub, Aspire Xplorer Midi Tower, Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-22-06, 01:53 AM   #9
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default Re: Diskeeper v10 Build 593 problems!

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS|
Is this better then O&O? Im looking for a replacement for MS Defrag.
I been tried all defrag programs O&O, PerfectDisk and Defrag Manager last year and found Diskeeper the best defrag program. Reviews of Diskeeper 9 defrag benchmarks showed that Diskeeper are the fastest to defrag files than both O&O and PerfectDisk. Diskeeper had the shortest time to completed defrag the hard disks, O&O and PerfectDisk took longer time to completed defrag the hard disks.

Actually the MS Defrag you refered to wasnt made by Microsoft themself, in fact it was very basic Diskeeper defrag program without all the advanced features Microsoft licensed it to included Diskeeper in Windows OS and pay Diskeeper Corporation the royality fees for every copies of Windows.

Diskeeper is Microsoft gold certified partner.
__________________
Intel Core i7 3770K, Corsair H80 liquid cooler with Noctua S12-1200 fan, ASUS P8Z77V with UEFI 2104, 16GB Samsung Green 30nm DDR3-RAM, Pioneer BDR-S09XLT 16x Blu-ray writer, Corsair AX850 PSU, Western Digital 2TB SATA3 hard drive, CanonScan LiDE 210 scanner, Microsoft Internet Keyboard, Microsoft Touch Explorer mouse, 32inch Sharp LC32LE600 LED TV, EVGA Geforce GTX 670 SC 4GB with Geforce 370.50 driver, 50Mb broadband Virgin Media VMDG480 Super Hub, Aspire Xplorer Midi Tower, Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-06, 04:10 AM   #10
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: Diskeeper v10 Build 593 problems!

Quote:
Originally Posted by AthlonXP1800
Actually the MS Defrag you refered to wasnt made by Microsoft themself, in fact it was very basic Diskeeper defrag program without all the advanced features Microsoft licensed it to included Diskeeper in Windows OS and pay Diskeeper Corporation the royality fees for every copies of Windows.

Diskeeper is Microsoft gold certified partner.
Not surprising considering that DK consistently crashes my management console.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-06, 05:48 AM   #11
Son Goku
Registered User
 
Son Goku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: 439 East District, Mount Paozu
Posts: 1,714
Default Re: Diskeeper v10 Build 593 problems!

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS|
Is this better then O&O? Im looking for a replacement for MS Defrag.
Microsoft's bundled defragmenter was based off a stripped down version of Diskeeper sometime back, when win2k was being released. I think they stuck with the same code base...

Anyhow, a bit surprised about that error, though don't know. Haven't used Diskeeper 9 or 10... One recent thing I found strange was that Executive Software was boasting the software optomization as one of their new features in something I saw on their website for the "great new feature"... However, many years in the past, they wrote lengthy essays online about why they considered this very same optomization to be a waiste of time and not worth it (when competitors had the feature but they didn't)...

Got a chuckle out of the comparison myself, but kinda tired now to go searching em links down again. I made a post about it elsewhere, where I provided some links, if someone's really curious about that... Not really his problem with the software though...
Son Goku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-06, 06:17 AM   #12
j0j081
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,789
Default Re: Diskeeper v10 Build 593 problems!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digital_Trans
Right, that's what I just purchased was Pefect Disk 7 Build 46
yep it's great. I am using the 64 bit version, much better than O&O and from what I've read Diskeeper to.
j0j081 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Diablo 3 Wizard build guide News Archived News Items 0 05-30-12 02:40 PM
Any problems with this build? Zeta CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 8 05-15-12 10:52 PM
Diablo 3 build guide: Barbarian, Demon Hunter, Monk, Witch Doctor and Wizard News Archived News Items 0 05-12-12 12:00 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.