Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-25-06, 05:34 AM   #157
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Oblivion Tweaking

That guy needs to make a new "FPS Optimizer" for Oblivion. The one for Morrowind is an amazing piece of software. Real time (even automatic based on FPS) adjustments to draw distance and LOD settings. Plenty of enhancements to make the game look better too.

I really really really hope that guy makes a new one for Oblivion. Or at least that someone picks up the source code and adapts it for Oblivion.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-06, 06:05 AM   #158
pingu2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 229
Default Re: Oblivion Tweaking

yes I was thinking of something similar (but simpler!) - I don't have time to go trawling through memory looking for values to change though!
pingu2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-06, 10:25 AM   #159
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Oblivion Tweaking

What is the best grass draw distance? I don't like seeing the grass being drawn directly infront of me... very annoying to just see it pop in...

Current Settings:

[Grass]
iMinGrassSize=125
fGrassEndDistance=4000.0000
fGrassStartFadeDistance=3000.0000
bGrassPointLighting=0
bDrawShaderGrass=1
iGrassDensityEvalSize=2
iMaxGrassTypesPerTexure=4
fWaveOffsetRange=1.7500
fGrassWindMagnitudeMax=125.0000
fGrassWindMagnitudeMin=5.0000
fTexturePctThreshold=0.3000
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-06, 10:38 AM   #160
BioHazZarD
USCM Marine
 
BioHazZarD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,369
Send a message via MSN to BioHazZarD
Default Re: Oblivion Tweaking

Magus That depends go higher if you want better FPS go lower if you want more grass but lower fps but 120 is ok at least for me.
__________________
Chieftec Miditower /w 5 case fans | Corsair 620W HX PSU | Asus M4N98TD EVO SLI | AMD Athlon2 X2 260 3,2GHz | Corsair 3GB PC3-10666 | eVGA Geforce GTX 460 1GB (336shader) | Samsung Spinpoint x2 250GB HD +SATA 320GB | SB Audigy 4 @ 2.1 | Samsung Syncmaster BX2331 TFT 23" running 1920x1080@60hz | Windows XP PRO SP2 | |
BioHazZarD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-06, 11:33 AM   #161
smallSHEEP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 82
Default Re: Oblivion Tweaking

Does anyone know how to alter the distance before a new grid is loaded? I have my ugrids set to 15 but have to walk quite close before the new one loads.
__________________
Custom Watercooling, Polarflo TT CPU + GPU blocks, 2x heatercore
X2 3800+ @ 2.61 GHz 290x9 / ASUS A8N32 Deluxe
nVidia 8800 GTS 640 / G Skill HZ 2GB @ 237 3-4-4-8
Semsung 250GB / Enermax Noisetaker 600W / Logitech MX1000
21" Dell-Sony Trinitron CRT / X-fi Music / Sennheiser 555 Headphones
smallSHEEP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-06, 11:33 AM   #162
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Oblivion Tweaking

I found my issue, Seems like my display settings reset whenever I reload the game... BTW I think some of these tweaks (the Dual-Core one) might cause the game to become unstable, I used them and have begun locking up and CTD often now...
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-06, 11:50 AM   #163
Clay
Registered User
 
Clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,993
Default Re: Oblivion Tweaking

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS|
BTW I think some of these tweaks (the Dual-Core one) might cause the game to become unstable, I used them and have begun locking up and CTD often now...
I'll second that observation.
Clay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-06, 11:54 AM   #164
pingu2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 229
Default Re: Oblivion Tweaking

unfortunately me too

game runs a lot better but I have locked up 3 times in course of 6 hours play since i added them to the ini
pingu2 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-25-06, 11:58 AM   #165
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Oblivion Tweaking

Ok, I was stupid and didnt comment out the default settings, anyone got the default settings for the dual core tweak?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-06, 12:42 PM   #166
Clay
Registered User
 
Clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,993
Default Re: Oblivion Tweaking

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS|
Ok, I was stupid and didnt comment out the default settings, anyone got the default settings for the dual core tweak?
[OPENMP]
iThreads=3
iOpenMPLevel=10
Clay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-06, 01:41 PM   #167
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Oblivion Tweaking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clay
[OPENMP]
iThreads=3
iOpenMPLevel=10
Thanks Clay!

Oh and I left "iPreloadSizeLimit" set to 1GB of Ram (in Bytes) and it seems to have the same performance I had with the "DualCore Tweak" just without any crashing (That I have experianced yet).

This is my settings for the value.
iPreloadSizeLimit=1073741824

BTW Anyone else having some of the settings under the video options reseting? Grass, Trees and the shadows sliders keep reset on me upon the game reboot.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-06, 02:12 PM   #168
Clay
Registered User
 
Clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,993
Default Re: Oblivion Tweaking

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS|
Thanks Clay!

Oh and I left "iPreloadSizeLimit" set to 1GB of Ram (in Bytes) and it seems to have the same performance I had with the "DualCore Tweak" just without any crashing (That I have experianced yet).

This is my settings for the value.
iPreloadSizeLimit=1073741824

BTW Anyone else having some of the settings under the video options reseting? Grass, Trees and the shadows sliders keep reset on me upon the game reboot.
NP, and yes, the video options do reset if the game crashes.
Clay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How Skyrim and Oblivion influenced The Elder Scrolls Online News Archived News Items 0 05-25-12 01:20 PM
Custom Refresh Rates, DPI, and Other Display Tweaking Phyre NVIDIA Linux 3 08-02-02 04:32 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.