Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-22-06, 06:52 PM   #49
agentkay
Registered User
 
agentkay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 3,866
Default Re: Oblivion Tweaking

You see the part that is elevated? That is the one that is basically missing in the reflection. There has to be a way to fix the reflection or is there a way to replace the low res texture?
__________________

Intel I7-920 aircooled by Prolimatech Megahalems @ 3.8Ghz (200x19) | Gigabyte GA-X58-UD3R | OCZ Platinum 3x2GB DDR3-1600 RAM (7-7-7-24) @ 1600 | Gainward GTX 480 | WD Raptor 74GB + 150GB + Samsung 1TB | Soundblaster X-Fi Platinum | Corsair AX850 Gold | Coolermaster Stacker 830 silver | Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 | Logitech G15 keyboard | Logitech G25 Racing Wheel | Sharp LC-46 XL1E (gaming and work)
F CliffyB.
agentkay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-06, 06:56 PM   #50
KingElessar20
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: Oblivion Tweaking

Hi, I'm brand new to this forum but have been reading these tweaks to Oblivion. I've implemented the following changes:

Set uGridsToLoad = 10 (5 by default)
uNumDepthGrids = 1 (it's 3 by default).

bUseWaterReflectionsMisc=1
bUseWaterReflectionsStatics=1
bUseWaterReflectionsTrees=1
bUseWaterReflectionsActors=1

These changes do work as it does for everyone else except when I walk around, after about 1 minute my character gets stuck on the terrain and jumps in the same spot. He can't move. It's like he freezes. Has anyone else experienced this problem after making the changes? Have any ideas how to fix it? Thank you so much.
KingElessar20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-06, 07:00 PM   #51
killahsin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,496
Default Re: Oblivion Tweaking

That is the first time i heard of a char getting stuck from those tweaks. Did you change them back to default settings and see if you still get stuck? or try turning them on one by one to see whcih one is getting you stuck?
__________________
Quote:
MSI 780i diamond sli.
8400 core 2 duo.
2 x msi 9600 gt oc's @ 760x1950.
4 gigs ram.
R.I.P. Ritual
killahsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-06, 07:02 PM   #52
KingElessar20
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: Oblivion Tweaking

I am trying to do it with the original right now. If this works, I will try it one by one. Thanks
KingElessar20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-06, 07:05 PM   #53
killahsin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,496
Default Re: Oblivion Tweaking

did you back up the original ini?

astro im sorry i dont really know the answer to the depth grid question, as when i saw owa take a screenshot with that tweak he had totally missing water, rather then water with wacky reflections like your screenshot shows. If you leave that setting off do you get the hole in the water?
__________________
Quote:
MSI 780i diamond sli.
8400 core 2 duo.
2 x msi 9600 gt oc's @ 760x1950.
4 gigs ram.
R.I.P. Ritual
killahsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-06, 07:08 PM   #54
Clay
Registered User
 
Clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,993
Default Re: Current Oblivion *.ini Twinking. Update thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by OWA
Clay found that the ~ key makes the HUD disappear. I didn't realize it initially but it's the console. I missed the prompt in the lower left part of the screen. Typing help will show a bunch of commands it supports. As I mentioned in the other thread, I'm hoping the INI tweaks can be done through the console to save time but I haven't tried that yet.
Nice find! Command line...mmmmm
Clay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-06, 07:15 PM   #55
KingElessar20
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: Oblivion Tweaking

It happens when I do this tweak:

Set uGridsToLoad = 10 (5 by default)

When I do this, my character gets stuck. Does anyone have any idea why this would be? Yes, I did back up the original file.
KingElessar20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-06, 07:15 PM   #56
AstroCat
Registered User
 
AstroCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 190
Default Re: Oblivion Tweaking

Quote:
Originally Posted by killahsin
did you back up the original ini?

astro im sorry i dont really know the answer to the depth grid question, as when i saw owa take a screenshot with that tweak he had totally missing water, rather then water with wacky reflections like your screenshot shows. If you leave that setting off do you get the hole in the water?
No hole in the water. I can walk around and have it be totally ok with =7, but you eventually come to an area where the reflections are out of whack.
AstroCat is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-22-06, 07:17 PM   #57
Clay
Registered User
 
Clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,993
Default Re: Oblivion Tweaking

Is this the hole in the water some of you are talking about? I think it's the enemy's "detection" radius.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...781#post844781
Clay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-06, 07:19 PM   #58
KingElessar20
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: Oblivion Tweaking

Does it make a difference what I name the Configuration Setting file in the Oblivion folder?
KingElessar20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-06, 07:20 PM   #59
AstroCat
Registered User
 
AstroCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 190
Default Re: Oblivion Tweaking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clay
Is this the hole in the water some of you are talking about? I think it's the enemy's "detection" radius.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...781#post844781
Oh yes, I did see this with tweaks as well. I guess uGridsToLoad= really isn't ready for "prime time". Oh well, so close...
AstroCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-06, 07:28 PM   #60
killahsin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,496
Default Re: Oblivion Tweaking

um why would you want to change the name of the ini file? are you even editing the proper file? the one in your 'mygames' folder? not programs folder etc?

I'm really curious as to why gridstoload would even create bad reflections? When its just making the cache larger? I mean your slider already uses gridstoload lol.
__________________
Quote:
MSI 780i diamond sli.
8400 core 2 duo.
2 x msi 9600 gt oc's @ 760x1950.
4 gigs ram.
R.I.P. Ritual
killahsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How Skyrim and Oblivion influenced The Elder Scrolls Online News Archived News Items 0 05-25-12 12:20 PM
Custom Refresh Rates, DPI, and Other Display Tweaking Phyre NVIDIA Linux 3 08-02-02 03:32 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.